We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

stayed hear as part of an it's on deal was well worth the money service was great rooms were spacious and stylish, beds were so comfy .dinner and breakfast was delicious we stayed in room 402 the view was great will defo be returning

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

841 - 847 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had an overnight stay for a night out with friends. We were given room 402 which has excellent views over Edinburgh and the River Forth. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were all very helpful. Breakfast was also excellent.

I was eating in the resturant with friends and we had an excellent meal. The menu had good choices and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I got a great WINTER break here for 4 nights in a superior double room. The room was outstanding in all aspects. Seating is important to us. There was a sofa and 3 chairs for the 2 of us. Decor was chic and comfortable. Ensuite had lots of room to move around in. Tv was large and lighting was atmospheric. The room was 308, this had a panoramic view North over the city and the hills in the distance. Excellent. Breakfast had some interesting cooked options like Orkney kipper as well as the Scottish full monty. We had dinner here at 6.30 to get an early bird special deal. Could not fault this meal. The only thing I do not understand is why it is not in the Michelin guide. The location is great for the city. We walked into the city each day to site see. The streets are a pleasure and full of architectural gems. One really great aspect of our stay is FREE CAR PARKING. I just drove there. Parked at the back and walked. Other hotels can charge a fortune so this is a great deal and very east to get to without a sat nav. (I am old school map and brain nav). I can advise anyone to stay here . The hotel is full of great art. Love the tube light on the stairs. Sit on the red velvet spiral seat in reception, enjoy huge photos and original art on canvas. It would be good for them to have a room with changing art. Everything was clean to perfection, all staff a delight and we were made to feel special.

Room Tip: 308 superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gimamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We arrived here two days ago and are very impressed. Check in staff friendly and helpful, parking was all sorted. It is a beautiful old building with stunning wood paneled staircase. Our room was a little small, was hard to fit two suitcases, but was a quirky design with bathroom down a couple of steps, so that was cute. We had wonderful views over Edinburgh out to the sea. Breakfast was great, service there excellent, and so nice to see waiters and all staff dressed in wonderful professional uniforms. We retired for drinks to the bar and had lots of fun with our waiters. Dinner next evening, again could not fault the service or food. Great location too, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

This was our second stay at this wonderful hotel and we again had a super faultless visit. Room was great, very peaceful and bed so comfy. Breakfast was yummy and checkout time at midday on a Sunday was just heavenly . We will definately be back. Great location and even greater hotel. Many thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynntodd25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

From the moment of contact with Alice(Events Manager)we were well looked after.We attended a surprise Birthday Dinner which was held in the Function room.We started the evening in the Library with drinks and delicious canapes.There were 10 of us,Then through to the function room the table was beautifully set small posy of roses on the table with lots of candles.we had a 3 course meal which was excellent.From the moment we entered Lewis was in charge efficient,courteous and with a sense of humour.A big thank you Lewis.
Would I return yes I am going to book a boozy snoozy lunch.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PLAYHOUSE068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I stayed here on Sunday night with my girlfriend for her Birthday and it was amazing. In fact probably the nicest room I've ever stayed in, with beautiful views over the city. She actually said the very same as soon as we got to our room. The hotel staff left chocolates and a message for her also which was a lovely touch. The room rate was very good and well worth it, and we also went for lunch in the restaurant which was also top class. The staff were excellent and the location is ideal. All in all a great experience and I'd rate it up there with the best stays I have enjoyed anywhere, in any city.

So there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBearGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,135 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £95 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing