We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #49 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We have been staying a few times a year on and off for a few years now, when we go to Edinburgh for the rugby. Great location, being central but away from the noise. Staff always friendly and helpful. Had a few problems in Nov that were addressed in a manner that exceeded what was necessary. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    689
    423
    158
    70
    15
See reviews for
102
796
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel is lovely. The hotel is beautifully presented and the rooms are really nicely decorated. The bathroom was massive. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful too.

Breakfast in bed was a lovely option too along with the 2pm late check out!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night at this lovely place but we will definitely be returning again in the near future. All the staff were very friendly and it was nice to see so many smiling faces. Lovely comfortable, spacious room (102). We dined in the restaurant for dinner which I would highly recommend and the breakfast was amazing too. We have stayed in numerous hotels in Edinburgh but this has been the best so far. Location was good too, only a short walk from Princes Street and the chic shopping on George Street.

Room Tip: Room 102 was spacious and sunny, with large bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreensideGodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013 via mobile

stayed hear as part of an it's on deal was well worth the money service was great rooms were spacious and stylish, beds were so comfy .dinner and breakfast was delicious we stayed in room 402 the view was great will defo be returning

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had an overnight stay for a night out with friends. We were given room 402 which has excellent views over Edinburgh and the River Forth. The room was spacious and clean. The staff were all very helpful. Breakfast was also excellent.

I was eating in the resturant with friends and we had an excellent meal. The menu had good choices and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandy1072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I got a great WINTER break here for 4 nights in a superior double room. The room was outstanding in all aspects. Seating is important to us. There was a sofa and 3 chairs for the 2 of us. Decor was chic and comfortable. Ensuite had lots of room to move around in. Tv was large and lighting was atmospheric. The room was 308, this had a panoramic view North over the city and the hills in the distance. Excellent. Breakfast had some interesting cooked options like Orkney kipper as well as the Scottish full monty. We had dinner here at 6.30 to get an early bird special deal. Could not fault this meal. The only thing I do not understand is why it is not in the Michelin guide. The location is great for the city. We walked into the city each day to site see. The streets are a pleasure and full of architectural gems. One really great aspect of our stay is FREE CAR PARKING. I just drove there. Parked at the back and walked. Other hotels can charge a fortune so this is a great deal and very east to get to without a sat nav. (I am old school map and brain nav). I can advise anyone to stay here . The hotel is full of great art. Love the tube light on the stairs. Sit on the red velvet spiral seat in reception, enjoy huge photos and original art on canvas. It would be good for them to have a room with changing art. Everything was clean to perfection, all staff a delight and we were made to feel special.

Room Tip: 308 superb view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gimamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

We arrived here two days ago and are very impressed. Check in staff friendly and helpful, parking was all sorted. It is a beautiful old building with stunning wood paneled staircase. Our room was a little small, was hard to fit two suitcases, but was a quirky design with bathroom down a couple of steps, so that was cute. We had wonderful views over Edinburgh out to the sea. Breakfast was great, service there excellent, and so nice to see waiters and all staff dressed in wonderful professional uniforms. We retired for drinks to the bar and had lots of fun with our waiters. Dinner next evening, again could not fault the service or food. Great location too, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,086 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#61 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,116 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing