We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but frustrating”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #47 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good, but frustrating”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

This is my second stay hear within a year, and it is frustrating to see such a stylish and essentially good hotel let down by a series of little points.

I like the hotels as it is close to the centre of Edinburgh, yet quiet. It is a beautiful townhouse which is decorated in a contemporary but very sympathetic way, both in the public areas and the bedrooms.

However, the attention to detail is lacking. We had only one toilet role in our room, and despite asking reception for more, none appeared. The lighting in the room is limited, but one of the lights was not working, making it impossible to read when sitting in the chair. The television controller stopped working so we could not turn the TV off without unplugging it. Some of the waiting staff in the restaurant were excellent, but some were brusque to the point of rudeness.

As on previous visits, the good still outweighs the bad, and the food is excellent, so I am sure I will return. I just wish the management would tighten up on the little points that turn an enjoyable stay into a slightly frustrating one.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlantheTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebonham, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your experience at The Bonham.
I am so sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.
I will be in contact to you personally to discuss all aspects of your stay and will be addressing the areas you have highlighted with my team.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    420
    149
    69
    15
See reviews for
97
784
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The plus: rooms are very comfortable, well decorated and spacious, considering that we were in a double petite ( our was 309 and when sky is clear we saw the sea); the staff is very helpful and gives very good advices; the breakfast is also very good and you can order several things, all included
The minus: you will take 10 min walking to Princes Street; and due to the fact we were not used to the very early Scottish schedules we could not enjoy afternoon tea at 6pm!

Room Tip: Room 309 is double petite but very spacious and sea view (far away but you can see all the way to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulacns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We spent 6 nights here in October of 2011 and loved it. The room was large and well kept, the reception desk was attentive, very helpful and quite pleasant to talk to. We ate at the restaurant twice during our stay and the food was fabulous.

The hotel is in a quiet location just a few blocks off of a main, bustling street full of restaurants and other things to do. We prefer not to rent a car (ugly incident in Paris a few years ago), so we try to find a hotel near enough to the sights or transportation. The Bonham is a 10 to 15 minute walk to the castle, which worked well for us. About 10 minutes walk to the New Town area - full of restaurants and night life. And about 15 minutes to the Royal Botanic Garden.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jrm1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Myself and 3 friends went to the Bonham for Afternoon Tea Wednesday. We arrived at 2pm and were greeted by very friendly staff. Taken through to the bar area and then upstairs to a little room of our own (which may have been because they were pre-empting noise from the group and rightly so!). A delicious Afternoon Tea to follow. Prosecco was nice. Sandwiches were soft and the filling plentiful (I made the mistake of not informing them that one of the party was vegitarian - not to matter there were egg mayo on the plate which my friend enjoyed). 5 delicious cakes (the Rhubarb and cream macaroons are just simply delightful) and various kinds of tea to choose from.

The staff were all extremely pleasant and there was no pressure for us to leave which was good really given that we stayed on for 2 further bottles of Prosecco and didn't leave untill 7pm!

A lovely experience that I would diffinately reccommend.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Hatestoberippedoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013 via mobile

We have been staying a few times a year on and off for a few years now, when we go to Edinburgh for the rugby. Great location, being central but away from the noise. Staff always friendly and helpful. Had a few problems in Nov that were addressed in a manner that exceeded what was necessary. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen
Level Contributor
264 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

This hotel is lovely. The hotel is beautifully presented and the rooms are really nicely decorated. The bathroom was massive. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful too.

Breakfast in bed was a lovely option too along with the 2pm late check out!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed for 1 night at this lovely place but we will definitely be returning again in the near future. All the staff were very friendly and it was nice to see so many smiling faces. Lovely comfortable, spacious room (102). We dined in the restaurant for dinner which I would highly recommend and the breakfast was amazing too. We have stayed in numerous hotels in Edinburgh but this has been the best so far. Location was good too, only a short walk from Princes Street and the chic shopping on George Street.

Room Tip: Room 102 was spacious and sunny, with large bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreensideGodess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#68 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,076 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,805 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing