We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely NYE stay”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #47 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely NYE stay”
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

Very good.

Te taster menu was excellent...

Service was above the call
Great place and great staff.

Room
Was a tad small but didnt bother us... Drinks and celebrations were modest when we go back from the street party.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    420
    149
    69
    15
See reviews for
97
784
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Our afternoon tea was adequate, but certainly had a generous supply of sandwiches and cakes, and the Japanese green tea was most fragrant and refreshing (although no glass of Kir came, as seemed to be suggested by the entry on your website). And everything was served courteously and impeccably, by a friendly waitress. And a nice touch was her offer of a doggy-bag afterwards. The main disappointment was being in a small dark room (nothing like so attractive as the one on the website) looking out on the dull car-park, and blocks of flats, at the back – while on leaving we passed a large llounge at the front, bathed in sunshine and with an outlook to the gardens.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank stewartc496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in a lower ground twin room. The whole hotel is tastefully decorated and the bedrooms were no exception. Very comfy beds, spacious rooms and the shower was amazing!

The location is less than 10 minutes walk from the castle yet is in a quiet residential area which is lovely. There is also a free car park that we used... Brilliant for almost central Edinburgh!

The breakfast (which was included) was fantastic. One of the best I've had for quality. The continental buffet and fruit juices were great, a good selection of clearly high quality foods were available including fresh fruit salad, croissants, cheeses and salmon. The cooked breakfasts were just as nice and were beautifully presented.

The staff here were very friendly and helpful... No complaints at all. We had to wait 30 minutes for our room on arrival but the receptionist made sure we had drinks and cookies... All on the house which was very nice!

We also had a drink on an evening in the cosy bar... Complete with open fireplace which was perfect.

I would definitely stay here again and would also recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cRuZ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, Scotland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Not the first time we've stayed in the Bonham and won't be the last. Always a pleasure to stay there and use it as a base for doing the touristy things in Edinburgh. Quiet and comfortable, good food and always pleasant staff on hand to help out.

Room Tip: Try and get a suite or the larger "double" rooms, but by and large all of them are quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nandh_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Three nights for £315 excl breakfast. Had the continental breakfast on the first morning, it was okay but not worth £8. Room was very nice, good size, lovely shower. Located a 10min walk from Princes St. Didn't try the bar or the restaurant in the evening. Not quite sure it being a 'Boutique' hotel as described but reception staff nice and helpful and overall very good. Just be aware of the £2.50 'room tray' fee on top of the meal cost if you have room service which we didn't see on the room service menu. Fridge in the room was also not overly cold

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gus785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
272 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I wish I could say more, but I can't. The staff Re really nice and everything is fine. It is not great, it is perfectly fine. The room is clean and the neighborhood is residential. It is close to everything and I'd stay again unless I could find something better. I chose it on a combination of price and review and I'm not disappointed since the price wasn't high.

2 things have really annoyed me, the TV doesn't shut off so I unplugged it at night. More importantly don't advertise you have Molton Brown products if you are only going to provide 2 bottles of shower gel and 1 soap. No cream, conditioner or shampoo AT ALL.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebonham, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your experience at The Bonham.
I am so sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.
I will be in contact to you personally to discuss all aspects of your stay and will be addressing the areas you have highlighted with my team.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed at the Bonham for one night with my wife on their Best of Bonham deal which we heard about as we are regular guests at the Bonham’s sister hotel - the Blythswood in Glasgow, perhaps it is because of our experience at the latter that we were quite under whelmed by our experience. Whilst there is nothing terribly wrong with the hotel it just lacks a certain something.

The room we stayed in was right next to the elevator ensuring we were made fully aware of everyone who wished to travel to the third floor during our stay, not only with the rumbling of the machinery but the series of beeps that announced its arrival. As if this wasn't bad enough, despite not asking for a wake up call we received one at 0830 hours when a member of staff deemed it appropriate to star vacuuming the corridor and knock the machine off the bedroom door repeatedly. The loud whack of items being thrown onto the ground beside the elevator (I presume from a staff member at the cleaning cupboard next to the lift) was also very relaxing.

That aside, the room was large enough but seemed rather drab and uninspired in terms of décor. The furniture seemed tired and the hotel information book was falling apart and was in fact rather dirty. The shelving in the wardrobes were very dusty. The movies are not free. However, the view over Edinburgh was exceptional and we were lucky enough to have a clear day to enjoy it.

We had dinner in the main restaurant and found the food to be of a good standard and the service was also good. We had breakfast in bed as part of our deal and again found the food and service to be good.

The car park (not signposted at all) is a very tight squeeze at the rear of the building.

Overall, had we not had such a noisy room then this would have rated as a better stay, but there is certainly nothing boutique about this hotel, particularly when compared with the Blythswood which has that in spades.

Room Tip: Ensure you are far, far, far away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lanarkshire78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebonham, General Manager at The Bonham, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your experience at The Bonham.
I am so sorry that we did not meet with your expectations on this occasion.
I will be in contact to you personally to discuss all aspects of your stay and will be addressing the areas you have highlighted with my team.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Johanne Falconer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,038 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#66 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,076 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing