We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Edinburgh location - book in advance for restaurant”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #45 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Bonham was something of a revelation. The 19th century building is unassuming and austere from the outside but the interiors are subtle but stunning and it ticks all the boxes of a boutique hotel. The room was of a good size, service attentive and friendly and good place to unwind after a long working day. Will use again for business but also when I go up with my girlfriend in the summer.

The one regret was missing out on a meal in the restaurant: a impressive three course menu including a half bottle of wine at £22.95 seemed a good deal. Id already planned to have the salmon, roast hake and treacle tart with vanilla ice cream but hopes were cruelly dashed on being told at 3pm it was fully booked. Not bad for a Wednesday and out of the city centre.

As a result I whiled away an hour in the bar with a whiskey before wandering the town and settling for an all you can eat Chinese buffet at Jimmy Chungs for a tenner. Not quite the hake et al I;d had in mind, but at least I left full and returned happy to a great hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NormanMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

We had a one night stay here on a Saturday night recently. The reception staff were really nice and helpful. Our room was really nice, we had upgraded to an executive room I think so there was lots of room and the views were beautiful. It was a nice touch to get a hand written note in our room welcoming us and also some lovely shortbread. The room was very clean and the bathroom was fab, with a seperate bath and shower which I love. It was a bit of a trek to get to our room, so someone who has mobility problems this would not be suitable for them. The only problem we had at the hotel was the breakfast! That was included in our package, so we both ordered the full scottish breakfasts and were both very unhappy with them! You got one of everything and I could not eat mine at all, everything was hard and cold. Also our waiter was not very understanding when we explained that my boyfriend had a severe seafood allergy and to please take note of this to the kitchen, he sort of smiled and explained it was a scottish breakfast. We were both really annoyed at this, as on the menu and out at the buffet style section there was smoked salmon etc...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed in the Bonham for one night recently, and were pleasantly surprised by the calibre of the hotel and its accommodation. We had a superior room on the second floor, with spectacular views across the Edinburgh skyline, and our huge apartment had a bay window and high Victorian ceilings, which made it feel effortlessly airy. The furniture was simple and stylish, with a comfortable six-foot bed and a table and chairs. The en-suite was very impressive, with a corner shower cabinet and double-ended bath, and like the main bedroom, it was immaculately clean. It was also specified with Molton Brown toiletries, which are always a pleasure to use.

There were issues during our stay, however. When we arrived, we were initially given a key for someone else's room (because our surnames were similar and the receptionist didn't notice) and it was very fortunate that the other occupants were out when we walked into their suite, which had their personal effects lying around. We also had issues with our room-service breakfast order - a tiny sliver of butter was provided for three slices of toast, and the tea we'd ordered was missing. Like most hotel suites these days, our room had a Philips TV, which have notoriously awful remote controls, and getting our TV to do anything (including switching it off) was a real chore. It's also worth noting that the car park has around a dozen spaces but regularly accommodates twice as many cars, so if your vehicle is at the back, you'll have to ask the staff to bring out their bucket of car keys and shuffle vehicles around until there's space for you to leave.

Attributes of the Bonham include attentive service from friendly staff, smartly presented rooms, and a lovely location in a refined district to the west of Edinburgh city centre, within easy walking distance of Princes Street. Overall, we were very impressed with this hotel, and would happily return at a later date.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilandLauraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

Do not miss the itison Bonham deals as they are such good value! This was our second visit and once again we enjoyed a lovely stay in a beautiful room with a superb dinner and breakfast included.
The wine and petals were a nice touch but not as memorable as the in house pistachio macaroons. I am still dreaming about them!
On both occasions we were joined by family for dinner but not charged the next day until we pointed it out. I don't like to think of you being out of pocket.
Parking is available which is a real plus in the centre of Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 7quinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We were recommended The Bonham Hotel and were not disappointed. It is perfectly located in a quiet street, ensuring a peaceful nights sleep, but within easy walking distance to explore the city. We ate in the restaurant, the food was excellent and the set menu was very good value for money and obviously popular as it was full.
My only minor criticism is that on a Thursday night only the set menu is available. This does limit the choice of food and although we were not disappointed, we thought that the hotel should have mentioned it when we booked.
We would certainly go back next time we are in Edinburgh and would recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevie783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

The Bonham sits on a quiet square in the heart of Edinburgh's New Town, a world heritage site. The panelled reception, bar and restaurant are well proportioned with a solid elegance. Our room, although classed "petite" did not feel cramped. It was stylishly furnished with outstanding views over the New Town, and just a few minutes' walk from the Castle and Princes Street. A bonus was free parking on site, a rarity in central Edinburgh. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BTJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Very friendly welcome and we were able to drop our bags off before check in so we could explore the city without being weighed down. The room was lovely, with great views across to the Forth and the breakfast was delicious.
The hotel was only a 10 minute walk from Princes street in a lovely area of the city very near the river.

Would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,399 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £93 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing