We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel in Edinburgh”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #54 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
dunblane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best boutique hotel in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

One night stay with dinner and breakfast on shopping expedition to Edinburgh. Pristine room with stunning view over the Forth. Food was exceptional and of Michelin quality. The jewel in rhe crown was friendly staff service. On check out receptionist suggested we leave our car in their car park until we finish our shopping...at no charge. In a keague of its own.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allanrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    421
    157
    70
    15
See reviews for
99
789
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a lovely evening at this small boutique hotel and found it very good value. Our room was very spacious and attractively furnished with a large ŵell appointed bathroom. The bed was comfortable with plump pillows which added to a good nights sleep. The bar is small and therefore could not accommodate many residents. On a negative note, the barman did not stay on duty behind the bar and indeed disappeared which meant we were unable to order another drink prior to dinner. Dinner was very good and the staff were attentive and helpful. Breakfast was first class and cooked freshly to order. A huge plus for this hotel is the fact that it has a small car park to the rear which is a great bonus when visiting Edinburgh. This is our second visit to this hotel and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Request a room to the rear of the hotel as there are beautiful views of the New Town and the Forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of traveling to Edinburgh Scotland and staying at the Bonham hotel November 14th to 16th 2013. It is a beautiful old building that was in a great location on a quiet street within walking distance of Princess street. The staff were very friendly and professional. The room(308) was huge and so beautiful I can not say enough good things about it, the view was amazing I could have spent the entire day just in that room. The bathroom was large with a 2 person tub.

The breakfast was great with a really great selection of hot and cold items. If you are going to Scotland I would highly highly recommend this hotel. I have stayed in quite a few hotels in my travels and this one is now at the top of my list!! Would absolutely return and plan to in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukongirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautiful old building in a very nice part of Edinburgh just 10 minutes walk from Princes Street.

The rooms are of a good size but not far from being in need of a general refurbishment with a few cracks beginning to show here and there and the bedding (although very clean) not being of the quality one would expect for the price.

Having said that the staff and service are of the highest quality as is the breakfast and, although we didn't try the restaurant this time, the room service sandwiches and chips were superb.

The bar is quirky and comfortable and overall I couldn't really find fault. I would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bysmariann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I have just got back from a 3 night stay at the Bomham and what a perfect stay it was! A great location... Just round the corner from the main, bustling streets of Edinburgh... Near by some great bars, ('Angels Share' whisky bar) and restaurants (Quattro zero - Italian).
The hotel has a very warm and friendly feel to it and a lot of character and quirkiness.
The duty manager who welcomed us (Lewis) was exceptionally helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay a special one! His smiley, positive attitude was really refreshing.
Access to the car park was simple and convenient. The hotel bar was also a big winner with us... It felt very cosy sitting by the fire sampling Scottish whisky.
Bathroom was spotless and the bed was extremely comfy!!
We really can't fault this hotel and the happy-to-help staff (particularly the lovely Lewis!) I highly recommend a stay here... Value for money and a really welcoming place to return to after a long, cold day exploring the historic sights of Edinburgh.
Thanks for such a special stay at the Bonham!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Night00wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for three nights and had an excellent time. The room was clean and well appointed. The staff were attentive, helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make certain our stay was as enjoyable as possible. Great food at the restaurant, though the servings were a bit small for an American - though my European wife thought the serving sizes were ample. Also in a great location, a 10 minute walk to the old city and shopping.

Room Tip: No tips, sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foothork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

In June, I stayed in standard room which was fine, clean, large. and had a very comfortable bed.
In October I stayed in a superior room which was larger and had fabulous views.
The breakfasting experience was better second time around too. There was certainly plenty of everything in the buffet when we arrived for breakfast, and our cooked dish was excellent.
The reception staff also informed me before arrival about the car parking arrangements.
All of the staff were very friendly.
The stay was not completely perfect though, there was a minor error but it was rectified quickly.
I would stay here again as it is in a very good and quiet location.

Room Tip: superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,090 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,335 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#67 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,823 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,074 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing