We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
83 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. It's a partial review as I did not dine or have breakfast.

The hotel is very spacious and traditional. From the small single lift it can be a trail to find your way to your room.

The staff are very welcoming. The bar area is small which means conversations are too easy to over-heard.

The rooms are spacious and a good standard.

The WIFI is free, but needs a long-winded registration to get access. Mildly frustrating.

However this is one of the best places I have stayed in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCooperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    407
    143
    69
    15
See reviews for
90
752
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

The check-in was quick and the staff very friendly. The hotel is literally just of Princess street (5 min walk) The breakfast is great, the rooms really nice (good bath) so we will most definately stay here anytime we're in Edinburgh! Only downside is there is no gym/spa at the hotel, there is one in another hotel but spa-treatments there were all booked when we arrived.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vonna84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed for a weekend here for a second time. The staff are friendly and the hotel is in a beautiful building. The rooms are spacious and clean with great views and the food is very good. The hotel is in walking distance from the main attractions of George street shopping, Princes Street and the Castle. Its in a quiet area with parking. Would highly recommend and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alizz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunblane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

One night stay with dinner and breakfast on shopping expedition to Edinburgh. Pristine room with stunning view over the Forth. Food was exceptional and of Michelin quality. The jewel in rhe crown was friendly staff service. On check out receptionist suggested we leave our car in their car park until we finish our shopping...at no charge. In a keague of its own.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allanrennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We spent a lovely evening at this small boutique hotel and found it very good value. Our room was very spacious and attractively furnished with a large ŵell appointed bathroom. The bed was comfortable with plump pillows which added to a good nights sleep. The bar is small and therefore could not accommodate many residents. On a negative note, the barman did not stay on duty behind the bar and indeed disappeared which meant we were unable to order another drink prior to dinner. Dinner was very good and the staff were attentive and helpful. Breakfast was first class and cooked freshly to order. A huge plus for this hotel is the fact that it has a small car park to the rear which is a great bonus when visiting Edinburgh. This is our second visit to this hotel and we will certainly return.

Room Tip: Request a room to the rear of the hotel as there are beautiful views of the New Town and the Forth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of traveling to Edinburgh Scotland and staying at the Bonham hotel November 14th to 16th 2013. It is a beautiful old building that was in a great location on a quiet street within walking distance of Princess street. The staff were very friendly and professional. The room(308) was huge and so beautiful I can not say enough good things about it, the view was amazing I could have spent the entire day just in that room. The bathroom was large with a 2 person tub.

The breakfast was great with a really great selection of hot and cold items. If you are going to Scotland I would highly highly recommend this hotel. I have stayed in quite a few hotels in my travels and this one is now at the top of my list!! Would absolutely return and plan to in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yukongirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Beautiful old building in a very nice part of Edinburgh just 10 minutes walk from Princes Street.

The rooms are of a good size but not far from being in need of a general refurbishment with a few cracks beginning to show here and there and the bedding (although very clean) not being of the quality one would expect for the price.

Having said that the staff and service are of the highest quality as is the breakfast and, although we didn't try the restaurant this time, the room service sandwiches and chips were superb.

The bar is quirky and comfortable and overall I couldn't really find fault. I would recommend unreservedly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bysmariann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#64 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing