We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bonham Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$373
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$334
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$210
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$329
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$305
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$335
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$245
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,431)
Filter reviews
1,431 results
Traveller rating
730
442
168
74
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
730
442
168
74
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrumsheugh gardenswest end of edinburghbay windowbreakfast in bedprinces streetlovely hotelsuperior roomdean villageeggs benedictthird floorquiet locationfull scottish breakfastwithin easy walking distancemini barbeautiful roomhigh ceilingsbreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
694 - 699 of 1,431 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We have visited Edinburgh several times, usually staying on Princes Street or Waterloo Place. This time we decide to try a different area to see what it had to offer and we weren't disappointed. We stayed here for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The hotel is not in the centre of the city, but is very close and only took minutes to walk to Princes Street. We are in our 50's with average health and it didn't trouble us. (Unless you have a serious mobility issue this shouldn't be a problem.) In it's favour it is in a quiet area, and you have to pass a delicious ice cream shop on your way into town. Well worth a visit!
Our room was one of the hotels Petite rooms, which was big enough. Nice bathroom with body wash, shampoo and soap from the White Company. Very nice. (Extra things like sewing kit, conditioner, etc, were available from housekeeping if needed.)
The bed was VERY comfortable. We both slept very well.
During our stay we had a slight problem with our room which needed maintenance to attend late in the evening. All dealt with very quickly, confidently and in a professional way by a very helpful & polite young man.
Unfortunately we were unable to have the Afternoon Tea here as it was fully booked up. We were disappointed but Susanna, who was on reception, went above and beyond, calling hotels and looking on the internet to try to find somewhere for us, at the time we needed. Many thanks.
The breakfast was very nice with lots of choice. Fruit cocktail, yoghurt, cold meats and salmon, fresh fruit, cereals, and the cooked menu selection. I enjoyed the eggs benedict and the vegetarian selection during our stay. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the full Scottish breakfast on both mornings! Very tasty.
All things considered this hotel has a lot to offer. Great staff, a quiet location and good value for money if you get a good price with breakfast included.
(Oops! I clicked on the fitness rating by accident!)

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if you're a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed here in march - we booked this hotel as a special treat as we dont usually pay this much. The room was adequate however the bathroom was a little dated.Not much in the line of freebies such as biscuits, water etc. The staff were very attentive and no complaints there. The restaurant was nice and the food lovely however the £18.50 each turned into £25 plus when the supplements were added on. The wine list was expensive and the wine we ordered was to be frank awful - I have had much better from Tesco at a fraction of the £25 ish that we paid. As for the hotel bar, we had to go for a drink at the pub up the road (not a long walk) as the bar prices were ludicrous. Will not be returning until prices a little more realistic

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank albert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie A, Marketing Manager at The Bonham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thanks for your review. So sorry to hear you did not enjoy your wine selection at dinner.
We are always listening to our guests feedback and as a result of some recent comments about our bar prices we have now reduced the price of our bottled beer.
We do hope to see you at The Bonham again.
Kind regards
Natalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I have stayed at the Bonham twice for trips to view flats in Edinburgh for our upcoming move. We stumbled across the Bonham while walking around The West End and found the staff welcoming, warm, and incredibly friendly. This small boutique hotel has the perfect balance of style and substance with service of a 5* hotel. The property is well designed with thoughtful touches, small intimate spaces for drinks, and comfortably stylish common areas. The staff is what really sets this boutique hotel apart, everyone takes the time to make each guest feel special. Thank you for making an intense weekend, relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square are super bright & sunny in the morning -- however rooms on the opposite side have stunning views down to Leith!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank egenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I travelled up with my granddaughter (aged 7) on the sleeper, so we arrived at the hotel at 8.15am. We had been expecting just to leave our cases, but the Receptionist managed - as our room had been vacant the previous night - to let us put our cases in our room. I've stayed here twice before so knew already that it had a good position, and funnily enough we'd been allocated the same room as I'd had on my stay last year. It is a spacious superior room at the back of the hotel, so with splendid views. Everything as you would hope it would be, I couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, and have the better views.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Just back yesterday after a 2 night stay at the Bonham, it is well within walking distance of Pricess Street and all the shops. W e walked from Waverley station in about 25 minutes, it was a little hard to find as no big sign outside, but once we had found it wow. A nice friendly greeting at reception, checking in was so easy. We booked a superior room with breakfast as it was our wedding anniversary. Lift up to the third floor, we were at the back of the hotel with a great view. The room, very large with a great king size bed, settee and table and chairs, very mordern but very very nice. Tea, coffee biscuits, mini bar, hair drier and iron [ for the wife]. The bathroom, king size bath, seperate shower, lots of hot water, great towels and even face cloths. All spottlessly clean. We could not of asked for a nicer room, just fantastic. We had afternoon tea the first evening, again a true treat, with fresh sandwiches and cakes and scones, served with fresh tea and coffee. The breakfast your chioce from the buffet cereals fruit meats cheese, a good selection. Then the cooked breakfast qualitty produce well cooked and well served by friendly helpfull staff. The wife had kippers with poached egg also very good. I had eggs benadict the next morning to die for cannot wait to go back i highly reccommend this hotel. A big thanks and well done to all the staff at The Bonham. And to the management your staff are a credit to you from the maintainace man and the cleaners to the waiting staff all so kind and helpfull. JOHN T

Room Tip: Keep out of the mini bar
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews