We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, great locatiom” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bonham

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Bonham
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Noosa Heads
Level Contributor
698 reviews
246 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great locatiom”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk to Princess Street and a huge selection of bars and restaurants. It is on one of Edinburgh's gorgeous terraces and is furnished very well throughout.

Service is very good and breakfast was lovely.

The room was very spacious with a huge bathroom and walk in robe. We loved the bed! !!

Nothing at all to complain about.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    650
    407
    143
    69
    15
See reviews for
91
753
45
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel booked for their Sunday night offer of B&B and Dinner. Parking good and reception staff very welcoming although we found out that breakfast was continental and not 'full' but our fault for not reading the terms properly. Room was ok and clean - starting to show a few signs of wear here and there and the lack of air-conditioning was an issue due to the hot day. Staff in the bar and restaurant were really friendly but the menu was very restrictive although the food was very good.
Downside came in the morning when despite the do not disturb notice the cleaning staff made enough racket with moving equipment and talking that a lie in was impossible. Due to the heat in the corridors a number of fans were on the go and fire doors wedged open to allow air circulation - not the safest idea when you still have guests in their beds/rooms.
Small gesture would have been nice when checking out but apart from apology and a smile we left.
Overall it could have been a whole lot better for a well respected hotel in Edinburgh and now unsure if we would return there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet crescent just off the West End. The staff are efficient and pleasant. We only had afternoon tea in the small bar area, so can't comment on the rest of the hotel. The bar was tightly packed with small tables and no outlook and the afternoon tea quite ordinary and not very memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 25traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartcosh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Love this hotel, it is so individual and has a lovely Scottish feel to it. Breakfast is lovely and it has a lovely atmosphere to sit and relax and enjoy a glass of wine. The hotel is off Princess Street so you do not have the hustle and bustle of that but is only a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sareilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is situated in a very nice and quiet street and close to everything.
The rooms are very nice, some are better than others so if you don't like yours, do not hesitate to ask for another one.
The staff is very helpful, they chat with you and try to make you feel very comfortable and they succeeded in doing that.

Room Tip: Rooms 306 and 308 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

I recently celebrated my 50th birthday at 'The Bonham' with my husband and three other couples. From start to finish our stay was a delight. Staff are very friendly and helpful and we even stayed an extra night as one couple I had paid up front for as a 'best of the Bonham' deal couldn't make it on the Sunday and it was no trouble to let us stay an extra night so that I didn't lose my money. Food on both nights was top class and the room and bed extremely comfortable. I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful hotel .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phatjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Service, service and service were the highlights of our stay in Edinburgh as guests of this nice boutique hotel The Bonham. Our room was number 308 with a perfect view of the city skyline. There is a lift in the building, so you feel yourself in a traditional Scottish house with amenities of 21th century: wi-fi, excellent shower and space, much space. But there is more : a new bar with a great variety of single malt whiskies. If you are in doubt, taste Mccallan or Bowmore. And the hotel team makes the difference! Very kind and helpful people with whom I could practice some Hungarian (Suzane), Italian (forgot her name) and Portuguese (works at the bar).

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Assis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing