We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #52 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I stayed at the Bonham this weekend for 3 nights as I was attending a conference for work. I had not been to Edinburgh for many years and I wanted to ensure I had a nice hotel. The hotel definitely did not disappoint. I had a fantastic room with a view that looked right out to the edges of Edinburgh and the water beyond. Staff were attentive and just after one ordering would remember what my tastes were. Even on the Saturday night when I left it last minute to book a taxi to go out to a dinner dance - I had intended to walk but it was raining - staff sorted me a taxi out asap. Nothing was too much trouble.

Even though I was staying at the Bonham as a sole female - I felt safe and part of the hotel. I was always warmly greeted. The atmosphere in the bar at night was great and I felt part of everything. I never felt in the way. I ate there one night and the food was great - no fault at all.

I will be returning with my family as we all fancy a trip to see the Pandas and other delights of Edinburgh - we will definitely stay again at the Bonham.

Room Tip: Great room on the 3rd floor - there is a lift - but the views are worth the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therapydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    420
    156
    70
    15
See reviews for
99
788
48
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Superb hotel in West End of Edinburgh and within walking distance of some of the best parts of the city. Well furnished, boutique hotel with excellent, efficient and friendly staff. Bedroom had super views with plenty storage space and large bathroom. Super food (breakfast was excellent and freshly prepared). Free parking around back of hotel - extremely important as public car park in front costs 50p for ELEVEN minutes with maximum stay of 4 hours and parking wardens very diligent! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: higher floors tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandsmorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Superb stay in the West End of Edinburgh. Peaceful location but within walking distance to some of the best parts of the City… Beautiful building with extremely friendly staff. Breakfast superb and served in a lovely oak panelled room. Great wee late bar that was nicely set up for a nightcap (or two). The cheapest rooms are not the largest but they are extremely comfortable and the value is incredible! Cannot recommend more highly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPMcNulty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa Heads
Level 6 Contributor
764 reviews
265 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk to Princess Street and a huge selection of bars and restaurants. It is on one of Edinburgh's gorgeous terraces and is furnished very well throughout.

Service is very good and breakfast was lovely.

The room was very spacious with a huge bathroom and walk in robe. We loved the bed! !!

Nothing at all to complain about.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Hotel booked for their Sunday night offer of B&B and Dinner. Parking good and reception staff very welcoming although we found out that breakfast was continental and not 'full' but our fault for not reading the terms properly. Room was ok and clean - starting to show a few signs of wear here and there and the lack of air-conditioning was an issue due to the hot day. Staff in the bar and restaurant were really friendly but the menu was very restrictive although the food was very good.
Downside came in the morning when despite the do not disturb notice the cleaning staff made enough racket with moving equipment and talking that a lie in was impossible. Due to the heat in the corridors a number of fans were on the go and fire doors wedged open to allow air circulation - not the safest idea when you still have guests in their beds/rooms.
Small gesture would have been nice when checking out but apart from apology and a smile we left.
Overall it could have been a whole lot better for a well respected hotel in Edinburgh and now unsure if we would return there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trevannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is tucked away in a quiet crescent just off the West End. The staff are efficient and pleasant. We only had afternoon tea in the small bar area, so can't comment on the rest of the hotel. The bar was tightly packed with small tables and no outlook and the afternoon tea quite ordinary and not very memorable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 25traveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gartcosh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Love this hotel, it is so individual and has a lovely Scottish feel to it. Breakfast is lovely and it has a lovely atmosphere to sit and relax and enjoy a glass of wine. The hotel is off Princess Street so you do not have the hustle and bustle of that but is only a 5 minute walk away.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sareilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,080 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,128 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing