We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a Four Star Hotel!!”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #48 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a Four Star Hotel!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We travel a lot and have stayed in many hotels. The Bonham is not a Four Star hotel, it's a Two Star hotel. Think Motel 6.
My husband and I had wanted to stay at the Bonham since our last trip to Edinburgh in 2008, we were then staying at the Edinburgh Residence and had breakfast at The Bonham daily. We were so impressed from what we saw of the hotel, which appeared to be elegant, low key and lovely, we knew the next time Edinburgh was in our travel plans we would stay there.
We completed a 6 day hike from Buckie to Aviemore (The Speyside walk) and our 7 nights in Edinburgh was to be our luxury treat. We checked in and were given the key to room #301. My heart sank when I opened the door to a tiny, hot-one small window, small bath/no window, shabby room. I went back to the front desk and said it would be impossible for us to live in that room at all, never mind for a week. Another room, #204 looked better at first, unfortunately after two nights of living out of our suitcases, the main problem being no chest of drawers, precious few hangers and generally rundown. We were very unhappy.
After complaining a second time we were told that the manager would get back to us but he never did.

Room Tip: Definitely look at your room before moving in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wannabeinnature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    420
    149
    69
    15
See reviews for
97
784
47
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baldock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have just returned from our second stay at The Bonham. We were attending events at The Commonwealth Games, and although expensive, this hotel was a cheaper option and far superior than anything on offer in Glasgow. The hotel is only appoximately 5 minutes walk from Haymarket station so easy for our journeys into Glasgow. Our bijou room (209) was indeed small but perfectly adequate for our needs with amazing views. It was quiet, even though the hotel was busy, and the beds are amazingly comfortable, in fact I slept better here than at home! Sadly, because of our timetable at The Games we were unable to eat dinner in the restaurant, having had on our first visit a wonderful meal. Breakfast was great, with plenty of choice and the staff attentive and helpful. The hotel is well positioned for some great bars and restaurants and an easy and attractive walk into central Edinburgh. Overall, a wonderful stay and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda21101958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Had a wonderful 1 night's stay at this beautiful hotel. The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. The room was amazing and the food was delicious. Could not fault this hotel. So Close to Edinburgh but in such a quiet location. Would not hesitate to return there and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I celebrated our 40th birthday here in May with 50 of or friends and family. The hotel were so helpful throughout and the food for dinner was exceptional. No one in out party had a negative thing to say. Very much exceeded our expectations and helped make a great weekend for us. Room excellent too. Brill.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alistbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed at the Bonham Hotel at the start and at the end of a Rick Steves 10-day tour of Scotland. Both the rooms we had were large. The hotel identifies itself as a "Luxury Boutique Hotel". I might classify it as a very nice business hotel. All of the hotel's staff are very polished. The hotel is located near Charlotte Square and the magnificent Georgian House. Good WiFi service in the room. Washcloths in the bathroom. Bath tub and shower in the bathroom. Restaurant included in the hotel. The hotel is actually three combines townhouses,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe-SVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have just returned from Edinburgh for a fabulous weekend, watching the BBC concert and Tom Jones, as always the Scottish hospitality was second to none. We had read so many good reviews about this hotel so it was all the more disappointing when we checked in, the hotel itself is obviously every "foodies" paradise, they have concentrated heavily on the food and restaurant offer and it shows, the hotel itself is a little off the beaten track and is a little isolated for walking back late at night, my biggest disappointment was the room we stayed on the second floor room 209 and I was very surprised by how small it was, the window was locked down so we could only open it about 5 inches, the room was very warm and the room had no air conditioning, 2 very uncomfortable nights sleep, what was obvious was that the hotel suffers from heat issues as when the staff where cleaning the rooms a number of fans and air coolers where being used. Again the breakfast came with glowing references but I found them to be just average.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful quiet hotel close to Princes Street but tucked enough away. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and from around the world. They had excellent restaurant recommendations. The breakfasts are amazing and very hearty.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,042 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#66 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,076 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,806 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#16 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,118 reviews
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing