We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent ”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #52 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent ”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

An amazing hotel, extremely well maintained with friendly & helpful staff. Very close to the city centre so everything is within walking distance. It is quite expensive but you get what you pay for, so well worth the money in my opinion.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TomJ78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    669
    417
    149
    69
    15
See reviews for
95
778
46
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Bonham is located in a quiet area around a 10 minute walk from Haymarket. The hotel is very well looked after with high quality furnishings in the communal areas. The petite double we had had a beautiful view down to the shore. The room was starting to look a little dated, fresh decoration would be needed to bring it inline with the rest of the hotel.

Breakfast was cooked to order and was delicious. All the interaction we had with the reception staff and in the restaurant was great, well trained and attentive.

No air con made sleeping a bit of a challenge! The walking times the website gives into central Edinburgh are a bit optimist too.

I would stay here again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Han230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We throughly enjoyed our visit to the Bonham, the only down side was that we were only there overnight. Breakfast was good and the location was ideal, being so close to the city centre. I must comment on the excellent staff too who were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeejayWBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Have recently returned from Edinburgh, having stayed two nights at The Bonham. It is a lovely and unique hotel, which was smart, quietly situated and offered excellent service. When we arrived, were told that our room had been upgraded which was a lovely surprise. This put the icing on the cake, it was beautifully spacious and elegantly decorated. The staff were also very helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble. We would heartily recommend it, if you want to treat yourself when staying in Edinbugh book a room at The Bonham.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fox N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Bonhom is a wonderful hotel with breathtaking views of the city. They have a a very professional and helpful staff. Management was even kind enough to give us a free 1/2 bottle of wine, because it was our honeymoon. I would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseyjackson13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This Boutique Hotel had wonderful, cosy rooms, in what seemed to be a trendy, chic neighbourhood. The service was wonderful, the restaurant served excellent food for dinner and breakfast at the restaurant in its facilities. I would choose this hotel for a business trip, but also for a romantic get away if you wish to walk to the city centre in 10 min.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Mathilde80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Good location, great staff, v. good food, plentiful breakfast. Only draw back was the room was very hot due to the high temperatures. You do have a fan in the room but it was one of those tall slim ones so to get any benefit you had to put in on a sideboard or the dressing table. Due to H&S you couldn't open the windows much to let a breeze in which is a shame as that would have made the difference. Lovely positioned hotel in a crescent overlooking a small park. The restaurant is excellent, my husbands belly of pork was good and my cod was cooked to perfection. The only thing that let our room down was the shower wasn't very powerful.

Room Tip: Try and get a room where you can open the windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Channings Hotel
#37 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#67 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,782 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing