We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel & Staff”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2009

i booked a superior double room for a two night break for my partners 30th birthday on arrival the staff were lovely and we had been given the black room 308 which I had requested which was large and gorgeous with amazing views over the city, there were a few hicups with some extras I had booked for arrival so the Duty Manager came up to offer us an upgrade to a junior suite 104, whcih we accepted as 104 is stunning! Well worth a visit! We had a meal in the resturant on the first night which was lovely but I will say that the food we had from the light bite menu for room service on the second night was terrible! but we had a wonderful time and the staff especially Isabelle and Mando were wonderful and so keen to please, they made the stay more special!
Keep up the good work guys!
Liza & Emma

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaFreswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,172 - 1,178 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2009

Stayed at this hotel for four nights. Hotel staff friendly & helpful. Our room was on the third floor and was nice & clean. Room was serviced daily with fresh towels. Bed was comfy, only thing wrong was the pillows, they were a little hard for my liking, but really we could not complain. Thought Edinburgh a brilliant place and the hotel measured up to expectations.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sellicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Little disappointed with the Market Menu for dinner- just hope it was head chefs night off!!
easy walking to shops and sites, a few hills were sensilbe shoes.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank me1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

myself and wife stayed on the 3/4 and 5th of October. we found the staff immediately helpful when we arrived, directing us to the car park at the rear, if all the spaces are taken you can double park as they are fully insured to move customers cars about when required...this instantly impressed me. room was great (312) with fantastic views over the city, not the castle as the hotel points a differebt way but i was glad really because the castle is not the only thing to look at, we could see all the way to the sea. staff were really friendly and helpful, great full scottish breakfast, you can tell they hav esourced the ingedients for the best possible breakfast from quality places. nearby can recommend 'bar roma' you need to book as is always full, great atosphere. overall perfect weekend...thanks Bonham staff your doing a really professional job, keep it up...mega!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cantonaisking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2009

We stayed at the Bonhom for 2 ngihts just for a bit of a break. When we arrived we were checked in quickly. However when we asked where the car park was, we were told round the back of the hotel but no directions were forthcoming. I know it's small but it was a little annoying.
The room we were in was a superior double. Lots of space, nicely decorated and the beds were really comfy! The bathroom was big with a corner shower and a seperate bath.
Breakfast was nice, room service was bang on time both mornings.
Staff were courteous and we had a really nice stay.
We will be recommending this hotel to friends and family and will definately stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank houseofashoelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

My partner and I selected the Bonham Hotel based on its reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious and clean. Our room was on the 3rd floor with great view. All staff was very courteous and friendly. However, we had a couple of minor problems with the room (bathroom sink drains very slowly and TV internet access was not setup). This didn't bother us but it might bother some picky guests. Breakfast was a treat. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood and within easy walking distance to Edinburgh Castle. We will stay at the Bonham again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheddarCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Can't praise this hotel enough. The staff were incredibly helpful from start to finish. Someone came to help me search my room (104 which was absolutely stunning) for the internet point and stayed until I found it and checked it worked.

Having not been to Edinburgh before the hotel was easy to find and staff very helpful in giving directions and estimated travel times as I had to leave for Glasgow the following morning.

I stayed on business but would be a fantastic base for exploring the city. I stayed in a junior suite which has plenty of living space for cosy evenings after spending the day seeing the sights of Edinburgh.

All in all, the best hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in. Was upset to have to check out. Visit their website to get suberb last minute deals.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank businessmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#10 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,136 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#15 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £95 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing