We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but needs attention before they lose status”
Review of The Bonham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Bonham
Ranked #50 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Lovely, but needs attention before they lose status”
Reviewed 14 March 2010

Went for our 25th wedding, which they were very aware of, but was not acknowledged. We had upgraded, and expected nothing more than "Happy Anniversary". Checked in promptly to room 1 (copper bath). Very nice, but tired around the edges. Peeling wallpaper. toothpaste splattered around the sink area. Lovely fireplace, but it wasn't connected to the gas. Marks on the curtains and pillows on the bed. TV remore required a degree in technology!! Had we paid the full price we would have felt rather peeved. We paid £127 per night with breakfast, and felt we had quite good value, but have paid less for more, in many places in uk.

The breakfast was nice, but slow and lukewarm. Room service was good. The staff did not really interact with us enough to make comment.
The bed, bath, room, was quite remarkable. The location was quiet, but 10 minutes walking distance to Princess St

This hotel has so much potential, needs tweeking here and there to bring it up to standard.

Review appears pretty negative. We did enjoy it, and would certainly return, but to mantain credibility,I think management should pay attention to detail. and decor, and work a little harder liasing with their customers

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B8747501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    424
    159
    70
    15
See reviews for
103
798
48
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England
Level 6 Contributor
417 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2010

I stayed here on a recent business trip to Scotland. The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms tastefully and stylishly decorated. All the services you could wish for including free in room internet. The location is excellent with views towards the Forth from my room; about 5-10 mins walk from Princes Street and the Castle. Very good breakfast included with the package that I had through Yeego, good rate as well. Comfortable lounge area and parking included at the rear of the hotel which is a bonus. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whadders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

Great service, great view from Room 210 across North Edinburgh. Great decor, one of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foolander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I stayed for one night and had breakfast and an evening meal. The room on the top floor was very nice. Comfortable and spotless. Recently well decorated with free Internet. The reception was very friendly and helpful. The evening meal (£18 for a 3 course menu) was good and service was friendly if a little slow.

I really felt at home and would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnomis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My husband took me to the Bonham Hotel for a romantic Valentine Trip.
The hotel is great, the location is perfect and a short walk away from the shops, castle etc. The Livingroom and TigerLilly's is only round the corner if you dont want to eat in the hotel.
My husband had a bottle of red wine waiting for us in the room on arrival - it was very nice and did not cost the earth. Many hotels would have used this as an opportunity to hike the prices.
We ate in the hotel on Friday night and the food and service was excellent - and we are both foodies!!
The rooms are well decorated and the beds are really comfortable - Molton Brown products in the toilets.
The breakfast is a must - the freshly squeezed orange machine is great.

On check out the hotel duty manager presented me with a small box of Molton Brown products - nice touch and nice end to a lovely weekend - Well done the Bonham - I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadaboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2010

This is a very good hotel, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the decor befits the image the hotel is trying to attain.
We were given Room 1, very large, huge height, staircase to the bathroom with the copper bath,all very nice.
The room could do with a chest of drawers to store your bits in, there is a cupboard under the stairs (to the bathroom) with hanging space and 3 shelves, but it would be better to put something in there for storage which is more suitable.

Bed very comfy, my partner and I are fussy sleepers but managed to sleep fine here. Just a bit more comfy pillows would be a suggestion.

The bathroom is a bit dark by the mirror making shaving and grooming not so easy.

Breakfast was great, all very nice, hot, prompt and tasty.

Parking is an issue, the car park is small, at the end of single lane and some people appeared to blocking others in, 2 days we parked in the car park and the other 2 we were on the street opp hotel, which was fine as there was no charge after we arrived back on Sat eve, no charge Sunday and we left before the charges started monday.

So worth a visit.

Edinburgh though!!! litter all over the castle areas and the roads are a nightmare, they appear to have blocked off virtually every route through and you are left going round and round to get places, even the sat nav sounded frustrated. There is no logic to what they are doing, they just close a road off, with no proper signs and u-turns are everywhere.

If you are driving goodluck and beware the car park charges in the city, they statrt at £3.20 for 2 hrs minimum, so a 30 min stay or even an hour costs the same.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Stick with bed and breakfast. Don't eat dinner in the hotel - the city has countless eateries with better food to offer and far superior service.

Booked a weekend break with a 'superior room' to celebrate our 25th together in September 2009. £320 for 2 nights bed and breakfast. I know Edinburgh well and chose the Bonham on the basis of its excellent location and positive reviews.

Efficient check-in and first impresssions of our room (No 1 with a copper bath) were broadly favourable although it was slightly tired around the edges and one or two cobwebs on show. Luckily I have a good memory for faces as shaving was diificult with the dim bathroom light.

Breakfasts were very good in the airy dinning room with attractive views of the city from both the front and rear windows.

We ate out on the Friday evening but made the mistake of staing in the hotel for dinner on the Saturday. Having arrivied on time (8.00) we saw a large table had been set for approx 16 people and decided to go for a simple meal from the 'market menu' to stay ahead of any delay this large group might have on other diners.

Best laid plans. After twice noting a delay to our waiter our starters arrived at 9.05. Having outlined my concerns to both the waiter and the duty manager we only had to wait until 9.50 for the main course! I lost count of the number of apologies and was slightly amused by the varying explanations for the delay. Even for a set menu the food was not great. Had I not been staying in a hotel I would have had a fish supper on the way home. In fairness when the duty manager realied we were residents he waived the £30 drinks bill.

At check out the next morning the same duty manager was in reception . He again apologised, and I again pointed out that for a 4 star hotel hotel the service the previous evening had been very poor. When the receptionist gave me my bill I noticed the meal had not been included and the duty manager outlined that the food costs (£60) had also been waived. I thanked him for this further gesture.

For several weeks I praised the hotel to everyone who would listen. This was a place which appeared to set high standards and recognise when these had slipped. We had been having a meal on an 'off' night.

Problem is my credit card debit did not include the £60 reduction. When I included this in my feedback to the hotel another manager offered more apologies and promised by email the refund that would mean that the debit to my credit card matched the bill I had received. This remains outstanding. Perhaps its 'in the post' and the chef who cooked for us has moved to accounts.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rev15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,361 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,124 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#9 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,089 reviews
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#60 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,120 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#17 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bonham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bonham

Property: The Bonham
Address: 35 Drumsheugh Gardens, Edinburgh EH3 7RN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bonham 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh is a boutique hotel in Scotland with a very contemporary spirit. It occupies a series of Victorian buildings in the West End of Edinburgh, whose soaring natural proportions have allowed us to create a truly dynamic set of rooms and public spaces. At The Bonham Hotel, Edinburgh, we have used bold colour, rich texture and contemporary art and photography to build an environment that is fun, upbeat, welcoming and with the unmistakable buzz of being part of a great Scottish city.There are 49 boutique rooms and suites at The Bonham, each individually styled so that, among them, you will almost certainly find the one you have been waiting for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Bonham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
Bonham Hotel Edinburgh
The Bonham Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing