We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a private double room at 34a which is located over the road from the main hostel. Our room was at the top of 3 flights of stairs, which maybe some people should consider.
Reception staff, and other staff, are friendly and able to recommend things to do. The hostel also offer a discounted breakfast at the adjoined cafe.
The room was clean and comfortable. Towels were provided. There was also a small TV and large space to hang clothes. Shared kitchen was clean and had lots of equipment. Toilets and showers were clean and suitable. We saw staff cleaning common areas daily.
Our main gripes were that there were few mirrors- only small mirrors in the bathrooms. We would have appreciated a full length mirror in one of the common areas or else a small mirror in our room. Guests should also be aware of the thin walls, a common feature in lots of hostels, unless you're into your neighbours late night going-ons.
The location is absolutely fantastic and convinient for the Royal Mile, waverley station and beyond. Most of the city is within walking distance.
We hope to one day return to Ed, and wouldn't hesitate booking here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Dalealicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was my first trip to Edinburgh and I am sure it will not be the last. Coming from London to see the Pandas at the zoo. The hostel is easy to locate and friendly staff to call on, should you get lost and need directions. I arrived very earlier on my check in day but was allowed to leave my bags in order to go into town. Was met with a warm and welcoming smile. Knowledge of the bus routes and costing's, which helped.
Lovely showers, the best I have seen in a hostel, in quite a long time. Never ran out of hot water and water pressure was great. Thank you.!!
Great facilities, Kitchen, Lounge, sofas to watch the big TV, pool table.
I was based on the second flood and was never disturbed by noise or disruptions.
The beds are solid wood, comfortable and long, clean bedding and got a good nights rest.
I met some wonderful people and was wonderful to sit in a full lounge with people from all walk of life.
On the day I was to check out, I was able to leave my bag, at a cost of £3, for the day and still spend some time in the lounge prior to my departure at 10pm that night. On the Sunday night the whole lounge was full of all different nationalities watching the Final Football match and fun was had by all.
All in all, The Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is a great place to stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed four days with two kids (4.5 years & 1.5 years) in a four bed private and got exactly what we expected — cheap basic accommodation in a good location (Royal mile & Waverley just two minutes of walk away). Our room was in the uppermost floor so it was quite an exercise to get all the stuff up without an elevator but it was worth it. The room was big enough for us, generally clean and tidy and with a nice view. Staff is friendly and helpful. Shared toilets and showers OK.
Would come back if visiting Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatratank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed for a week. Centrally located to many attractions with in walking distance. The staff was very friendly and had lots of information to share with tourist about deals we may not have necessarily known about w/out their tips. Even though I was booked in room with 12, the way it's laid out allowed me a tad bit of privacy - one bunk bed was separated with a curtain. Cheap prices, not luxury but will provide you with a place to lay your head.

Room Tip: My room was quiet but location was horrible. It backed up to another building that housed massive a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The accommodation itself is very basic, but fine. Cheap, but you don't get anything special for your money! Staff were predominantly friendly and helpful. Building is older and a bit outdated and in disrepair in some areas. Feels very low budget, though of course, it is! My bed was broken which was a bit annoying. Main complaint would be the bathrooms - they are only on certain levels and very basic/outdated/ill-equipped and at times unclean and unpleasant. Can't beat the location though. Within just a few minutes walking distance from Edinburgh Waverley train station and steps away from the Royal Mile, it is a lovely location in Old Town with everything you need in easy walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ksjalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Four of us stayed in an eight bed dorm. The dorm was basic but it was exactly what I was expecting due to the cheap price. What makes this hostel great is the city centre location and the relaxed vibe you get from the hostel. The staff are polite and informative and there is a lounge games room and kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MartinBuist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed in a private double room for 4 nights at Edinburgh Backpackers. The location of the hostel was great, just off the Royal Mile near St Giles Cathedral. The room itself was neither horrible nor great. It was a decent size and the bathroom although small had a decent shower. We had friends staying in the main building and they said the hot water didn't work in their building. The one problem we had with the place was that it was quite loud at night. One of the alleys that led to the train station was right behind our room and was very loud with people heading home after a night out. I would recommend looking around at the hostels but this one was decent and not too expensive, especially if you are there midweek when it is quieter on the streets.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#34 of 217 in Edinburgh
167 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 217 in Edinburgh
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#19 of 217 in Edinburgh
409 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#22 of 217 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 65 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £14 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing