We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel
Reviewed 23 December 2006

This is one of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. To start with the positives: the location is spot on, right in the middle of the city. That's about all I can say about the positives. On the negative side: room was the size of a shoe box (we could only stand in the room with the bags on the beds), the linen and towels in the room had stains on them (brown stains - we had to go out and buy new ones), and the bathroom had a carpet floor (which was damp and smelled really bad). Just to cap off our stay we were given a room outside of the main building (in the dirty ally next door), which after midnight became a haven for drunks who continued drinking, spitting, fighting, and yelling into the wee hours. Booked through the VisitScotland hotline, but they didn't respond when I made a formal complaint. My tip - stay away from both.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Sumpman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 403 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2006

The only positive aspect of our stay here was that the hostel was in a good location - there are better hostels, which have a great location.

Everything else about this accommodation was disappointing and quiet frankly, terrible. My boyfriend and I stayed in a room with a private bathroom. The room smelt of rotten eggs, or something worse, and it was infested by insects, including flies and bees. The room itself was in need of a clean and the carpet had stains, particularly around the toilet. There are allot of stairs in this building.

The staff were also incredibly rude and unhelpful.

Apparently there are good hostels in Edinburgh, but this isn’t one of them. Budget backpackers has been recommended to me by one of my friends since we got back.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Jo265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2006

Stayed Aug. 27-Sept. 2. Three traveler family - 20 yr. old male, 15 yr. old female, & 48 mother. Had a great time. Fantastic city. Lots to do. Some festival activities still going on. Reasonably priced for the location at that time of year. Location was wonderful, A +++. Near sightseeing, transportation, shops, dining, nightlife. Easily accessible by bus from the airport.

Stayed in 8 person bunk room on 2nd floor near kitchen & TV room. Active area. Some people could have been more considerate when closing doors (softly vs. letting them slam). Has refrigerators to store groceries and stove/microwave to cook. Some people could have been neater but overall kitchen was good. Beds A, C, E, G are uppers & B, D, F, H are lower bunks. Pack light as suitcase/belonging storage is under beds unless you check them. We left in room but with no valuables in them & no one bothered them. Hook on end of bed for jacket. Bedframe used to hang towels to dry. One large window that could be opened but view was over a "Close". Clean & comfortable beds, although pillows could have been more substantial. Female bathroom was up on 3rd floor. Mens showers on 4th. Hot water was good but did run out if you were at the end of the time everyone used them. Recommend facility itself but your level of contentment will depend on quality & consideration of others during the time you are staying. Many could have been neater in the restrooms (didn't deposit in waster bins) but showers, sinks, & toilets were usually clean.

Met interesting travelers & staff from many countries. Made for nice cosmopolitan atmosphere. Always someone around to talk with. TV room has tables for eating or playing cards and sofa/chairs for reading/TV viewing. Pool table in 2nd room. Main lobby door had coded lock ing system & staffer always on duty in 1st floor lobby. Felt very safe except for last night when only had a strange, lone male traveler in our room. Outside street noise on weekend nights (actually early a.m. hours) was often suddenly very loud but bearable.

Would definitely do the same trip over again. Also make sure to get out of the city to see the Highlands. This location is a great base to use for checking out the city as you are on the go so much. Hope this helps you make a decision.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suze227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2006

Apparently this hostel fits around 150 people but i found for such a big place it was cozy and had a good character. I stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm with shared bathroom. Room just had 4 bunk beds and a window which led to main street. I stayed during the week so it wasnt too noisey at night but i dont know what it would be like at the weekend.
Kitchen and common room are quiet small,it can get squashy but all in all i liked them, got bit messy when people didnt clear their stuff though.
Toilets and showers were fine too, basic really. only thing i noticed was the overflowing sanitary bins, but all the regular bins were always emptied.
sheets were fresh and cozy. staff really friendly. telly has sky digital and internet is £1 per 30mins.
cafe next door gives you 15% off if you show ur room card and food is delicious!!
only thing is no personal lockers but the staff will gladly put your valuables in the safe.
location perfect, you really couldnt get any better, on the old town close to everything you need and the airport bus and tour buses start at the bottom of the street and is beside the train station, great for a day trip to Glasgow.

all in all i loved this place and if i go back to the beautiful city that is Edinburgh i will definitly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bananatree86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2005

This was a really central location for everything. I stayed with my boyfriend in a twin room sharing a bathroom with another private room. It was across the road and down the street a little from the main hostel accommodation. I wasn't overly impressed with the appearance of the place and I wouldn't be raving about the hygiene. The bathroom was cleaned regularly but it's just that it's old and in need of a bit of a makeover. The shower curtain was not a pretty sight! The room was very basic and small. I know it's a hostel but you'd probably get a cushier B&B for the same money. You're paying mostly for the location.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LKMeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2005

Loved this hostel! stayed in one of their private ensuite rooms & i will definitely stay there next time i visit edinburgh! the private rooms are in a different building to the dorms but you don't have far to go once you've checked in as they're next to each other. You have your own key to the building so it's just like having your own apartment in a way and the room gets cleaned everyday (fresh towels etc.). The area can be a bit noisy at night but it's a small price to pay when you're in such a good location. (The hostel is situated just off the Royal Mile which leads up to edinburgh castle)
Another bonus is the restaurant/bar that's just next door to the hostel, it's run by the same people so you get a discount on everything when you show you're key. Its a great place to go for breakfast (they make a great vegetarian fry up) and also a nice place to go for a drink at night!
All in all, the rooms are clean, the staff are friendly and this hostel is a great base for exploring this lovely city!

  • Stayed: August 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dowlins4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2005

This was the first hostel I ever stayed at, but it was a great experience. The rooms, beds, and bathrooms were very clean; the staff was friendly; and the location is excellent. Just a block from both the train station and the Royal Mile.

2  Thank jcath07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 217 in Edinburgh
484 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#26 of 217 in Edinburgh
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haystack Hostels
Haystack Hostels
#22 of 217 in Edinburgh
420 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,109 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#17 of 217 in Edinburgh
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel

Address: 65 Cockburn Street, Edinburgh EH1 1BU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £19 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel has one of the best locations in the city. We have 4 seperate buildings and cater for a wide variety of travellers. We have single, double, twin and quad private rooms (standard & en-suite). We also have 11 dormitories ranging in size from 6-14 beds. Our main building has free WIFI, games room (with pool table), TV Lounge (Sky TV), dinning room and fully equipped kitchen. Each guest is given their own entry key and all dormitories have free lockers (deposit required).All our staff are Backpackers, so we have in depth knowledge on the best and cheapest things to see and do in this amazing city. Our reception is operated 24hrs a day, so someone is always on hand to help with any questions. If you want great value for money and a friendly welcome, Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel is the place to stay! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Backpackers Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing