We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A positive vibe and a really good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A positive vibe and a really good hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

awesome location - really cozy and several places to socialise - too bad , I didn't use any of the lounges .

great showers and clean toilets.

I say the best hostel I have stayed at in the UK .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    838
    473
    89
    17
    23
See reviews for
51
180
470
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

After a few years of "hostel break" I am now in the mood to travel, stay in hostels, meet people, and all that again. Time is tight and I only got to spend one night here. But I was absolutely happy about it. The hostel is absolutely huge. But it never felt over crowded, possibly because it has such wonderful and spacious communal areas (the piano room on a rainy afternoon was great). I wished I had been able to stay a bit longer. The breakfast was basic, but fair and the rooms were clean, beds comfy, showers were hot and good. I had absolutely nothing to complain about. Staff was very accomodating, I could leave my luggage for the rest of the day and enter again to change, get a rain coat, etc. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I was a bit worried when I first arrived because it was my first hostel-experience.. and I was actually shocked and being scared by the wax figure in the reception area.. But, beyond my belief, I actually survived and stayed here over the weekend.. The place is really nice.. well maintained and clean.. i really fancy the living room though.. with the actual fireplace..!! Just a step away from Edinburgh castle, Grassmarket, Royal Mile, and Princes Street.. so really was a convenient place to stay, especially if you're on a tight budget.. Here, you can also find a perfect guidance on where to go or what to do during your stay in Edinburgh.. You can also catch a free walking tour every morning (though the walking tour actually run by other company).. Overall, I wouldn't think twice to go back and stay there a bit longer..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I was pleasantly surprised by Castle Rock. I have never stayed in a Hostel before so I expected the worst and it was actually pretty good!

The walk from the train station takes about 10 minutes, very easy. Especially if you pack light, which you should since you are staying in a hostel.

Arrived around 1, was able to check in to keep my spot. I couldn't go to my bed until after 3 so they gave me a recommendations for the Royal Mile Tavern and the tip that I could get a discount with their card.

I went to the Royal Mile Tavern and had an entire meal for under 5 pounds. Quite a deal for anywhere in the UK. I slowly strolled up the Royal Mile back to Castle Rock to check in.

I booked a female room with two friends and we were all put in the same area in the same room. We opted to get a locker which was big enough for our travel bags & toiletries etc.

When we came back we sat in one of the common rooms for a bit to charge our phones etc. Then we were able to easily use the clean bathrooms and get to bed quickly. I personally never heard anyone come in through the night and slept very well.

We woke up too late to have breakfast the next morning but there were tons of cafes around to have breakfast at. It was an easy checkout process and then we were able to head right to the Castle.

Amazing location. If a hotel was here it would easily be 150 pounds per night or more. Clean. Good quality. Good price. Very happy with my stay.

Room Tip: If you are a girl book a female room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Hey glad you enjoyed your stay, and we could give you a nice experience of the world of Hostels :) Thanks for taking the time to review us. Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The room was clean, the bathrooms are cleaned regularly which is nice! it was my first time to stay in a hostel and I am quite happy that I chose this hostel.
the staff were all friendly too.
the lounge is ok- I didn't find it comfortable to stay there though. it might depends on the guests of the hostel. The furniture are a bit ragged but not so bad.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRabbit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

stayed at the castle rock hostel for a weekend while visiting edinburgh. no regrets on choosing this one. the location was really great. just a couple minutes walk to the castle, royal mile, grassmarket; perfect for me since I was in the city for such a short stay (2 nights). the hostel is a 24-7 place, in that there are staff always on duty, which i liked (especially since my flight in was 3 hours late and i didn't arrive until super late).

the hostel itself is really cool. really big. it does in fact have a funky castle vibe to it. lots of fun decorations. lots of different communal places to chill out and lounge around.

i stayed in a mixed dorm; a big room full of bunk beds. but even though there were quite a few people in the room, there was plenty of space for everyone. personal lockers. personal safe boxes. everyone who was in my room was courteous and friendly. the rooms and bathrooms were spotless. showers were hot. and the staff was very helpful and friendly.

what more could you want? i wish i could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbell33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jihlava, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed in 4 bedded dorm, which was really small, but good enough for 1 night. Showers and bathroom clean, no problems with hot water. But the kitchen - absolutelly not organized, seems like many people are permanently residing there, not really clean, but not really messy. Something between. Anyway the location is superb and the price reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,630 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Property: Castle Rock Hostel
Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 215 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing