We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, friendly admosphere!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
IJ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, friendly admosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed a weekend at the Castle Rock hostel with my mother and sister and enjoyed it very much! The rooms are small but hey, it's a hostel! The showers and toilets are clean and the place is very nicely decorated. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are free in the lounge and breakfast is £ 1.50. We rented towels for 20 pence so that saves packing. Excellent location in Edinburgh, very friendly staff who gave us a different room after we mentioned a loudly ticking pipe from the heating. It was absolutely no problem. Lovely relaxed admosphere, we can definitly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    806
    468
    89
    16
    22
See reviews for
51
173
459
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here during an impromptu trip to Edinburgh. I believe I only paid 12 or 13 quid a night for a decent 2 night stay. The hostel is right next to the castle and a short walk from the Royal Mile. The hostel is clean, has cheap breakfast and is bustling with life. The only major setback was the poor quality of the Wi-Fi. The place is massive and eclectically appointed. It's a good bargain.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdeaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

I had a good experience at Castle Rock. Stayed for two nights. The price was very good and its in a convenient location. Breakfast was not stellar but not bad either. The dorm I stayed in was pretty quiet, and was an easy night's sleep. Friendly staff at the desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank __Kirk_G__001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Definite low point of my trip to Scotland... I'm having some trouble understanding all of the high reviews and the "best in Scotland" labeling. This was the *worst* hostel I stayed in while visiting Scotland, by far. It is even the worst hostel I've stayed at in my life (although I've never had a "bad" hostel experience up until this one).

Still has it's ups and downs...

PROS:
(1) HUGE public space.
(2) Plenty of space for storage.
(3) Friendly front desk staff (although not ultimately helpful at times).
(4) Relatively inexpensive.
(5) Good location.

CONS:
(1) My 12 bunk room changed over nearly every night (due to tours), makes it difficult as a solo traveler.
(2) A few personal belongings "disappeared" with the one bed change that occurred after my first night (papers, ~20 quid headlamp hidden in pillowcase, earplugs).
(3) Their direct booking site is garbage, sent me two emails, one stating I paid 13 pounds and the other 58 pounds. In the end, I paid 103 pounds for a 58 pound-priced 4 night stay (although this will likely get sorted out now that I've caught it).
(4) Rats/mice run around the common space when it gets empty at night (saw two).
(5) Management doesn't do anything about unruly guests at night. (A couple alternating eating in the bunk and screwing at 2am woke at least a half dozen of us up. We were pissed, told them so, they continued regardless, a few of us complained to the front desk, who did *nothing*. I ended up giving up on sleeping that night.)
(6) WiFi bandwidth is limited during the day, and long term guests sometimes use apps like WiFiKill to keep people they don't know from using it.
(7) Dish drying towels are disgustingly filthy (would be a health code violation in my home city).

OVERALL: This place had the worst vibe of *any* place I've ever stayed at. Still might work for people traveling in large groups, or people who plan to stay for an extended length.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are saddened that our hostel did not give you the good experience we hope to give all of our guests. Each issue you have raised will be investigated (your payment issue has since been sorted out). Best wishes for the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here and had a horrible night. The rooms were cold the beds rock hard, the bathrooms not clean. I like hostels that you can meet some people and have a rest there at night. All night the building felt like it was shaking as other hostellers were partying in the building, sirens were going on outside the hostel all night. People were crashing in noisily until 6 am in the morning.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel8can
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neal B, Manager at Castle Rock Hostel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We try to help all of our guests have a great stay, so we are very sad to hear that you did not have a good experience at Castle Rock. We wish you well for the rest of your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

would recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a nice, budget accomodation right in the center of Edinburgh. Staff was friendly and helpful and the hostel had a great atmosphere. Rooms were clean and the beds even had funny names

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xoxoUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

Pros: This is a great hostel!! The staff is friendly and always willing to help. There's cool deco all over the hostel. The rooms are very large and the beds are made out of solid wood and are very comfortable they are not the usual squeaky metal frames. Everyone has a free locker space under their beds and assigned bedding. I believe this place is well organized and well suited for one night stops as well as longer stays. It's in a safe neighborhood and great location. I would stay there again.

Cons: wifi does not work in every room (a very common problem amongst hostels) however it works great it common areas like the lounge.
Bring flip flops for the shower (not atrocious by any means just precautionary)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylarose1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 841 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,579 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Property: Castle Rock Hostel
Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing