We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had fun...only tanted by a ridiculiously loud snooring beast man”
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Would get five stars, It was such a cool place to stay and who can argue with a castle across the road! Unfortunately the snooring beast in our room made our experience soured. One might say this isn't the hostels fault but I believe that it's an issue Hostels need to address in the fairness of everyone. I have a novel idea if you snore constantly you get put in the same room as other snooring peoples, call it the 'how do you like it' room...At least it's fair game, they can keep each other awake and the peaceful sleepers can reast easy...don't reply with there is earplugs that can be purchased because sir or madam they simply don't cut the mustard.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Davy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,600)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

864 - 870 of 1,601 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Castle Rock is very well located behind Edinburgh Castle and just off Royal Mile - the mais street of Endinburgh Old Town. The rooms have lockers and are big, with plenty of space. Bathrooms are clean and tidy. The also have freebies like toothpaste and shampoo left by others backpackers. It´s quite laidback, so you are a party animal, you´d better look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaioTurbiani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great Great Hostel with a great view of the castle! The rooms are good, with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were very neat as well. The best part had to be the lounges and the common rooms. Good wifi-connectivity in the common lounge. Breakfast was cheap and good. Would recommend to anybody going to Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prerna m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

located right smack in the middle of Old town, only a few minutes of walk away from all the interesting places in Edinburgh(save Roslyn Chapel), this place is the bomb. for 13 pounds, you get a bunk in a clean, 10-bed dorm with high window and ceiling, together with a room key and locker. staff is amazing! very friendly and full of information(thanks Sam for the tip about Highlands Chicken!). free wifi(although unreliable at around 6pm), 1.50 breakfast that includes a bowl of cereals, bread with choices of fruit jams or nutella, and a glass of fruit juice. tea and coffee are free. definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XFreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I stayed here with my son and daughter over New Years. My daughter had stayed here several times before. THE staff were very friendly and helpful. Most of the guest are young people but they made me feel at home and welcome. Well cared for and clean as a whistle. I hope to come back and visit again. Great location next to Castle and the Royal Mile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed at Castle Rock Hostel for 2 nights and I was so pleased with my experience. Comfortable and clean bedrooms as well as sparkling bathrooms. Staff was superb and the location couldn't be better! It was my first time in Edinburgh and I couldn't imagine a better first time experience. Quiet nights (after 10 when the pub crawl departed) meant that I was able to be well rested for site seeing and the proximity to the castle meant I didn't spend much time commuting! All in all a fantastic experience. I love the hostel experience in general but Castle Rock was beyond what I expect from a hostel. If you're not sure about the whole hostel thing this is a great introduction (although it might spoil you) and a phenomenal price compared to hotels and guest houses!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed a weekend at the Castle Rock hostel with my mother and sister and enjoyed it very much! The rooms are small but hey, it's a hostel! The showers and toilets are clean and the place is very nicely decorated. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate are free in the lounge and breakfast is £ 1.50. We rented towels for 20 pence so that saves packing. Excellent location in Edinburgh, very friendly staff who gave us a different room after we mentioned a loudly ticking pipe from the heating. It was absolutely no problem. Lovely relaxed admosphere, we can definitly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,883 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,226 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £9 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing