We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“incredible view and perfect location”
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Maribor, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“incredible view and perfect location”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed in the hostel in October with a friend; because we wanted to stay at the cheapest hostel and we found that one to be the cheapest on the dates we were there. We stayed in the 6 dorm mixed room in the first floor. It was turn to the side that we could see the catle from the window, it was amazing. The lockers in the room surprised me because I didn't expect them to be for free, but they were! That was a nice addition to the nice and well organised room so it didn't seem crowded.
The location is pretty convenient because is basically in the middle of everything you have to see and everything else is in the short distance so you can go on foot.
The kitcken is big so even if there are a lot of people in there cooking you can still find a place for you to prepare your meal. You can also use the refrigerators; however, there were almost full so you had to use some imagination to put your things in.
The staff was nice and helped us with every question we had about the city; sightseeing and places to go out at night.
The common rooms are big and spacios, the decorations interesting and the atmosphere international. Although there are more common rooms, if you want to you can easily meet other travellers and share experience or just talk about something.
It was the great hostel and if I ever go back I'd love to stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasaa_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    902
    484
    91
    17
    24
See reviews for
54
201
498
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Plainview, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Very interesting place. Definitely a place for 20 something's, but suitable for this 40 something. Very convenient location easy walk to anything and everything! Staff was very helpful. Appreciated the many common areas and the quite hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Annette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We could not have picked a better hostel! It was among the cheapest we stayed in, had complementary lockers (and locks!) next to every bed, and was in the perfect location. There was a cheap, but filling breakfast in the morning (cereal options, along with jelly, butter, nutella, and peanut butter for rolls), cheap towel hire, and the option to have your laundry washed, dried, folded, and ironed by the staff. The rooms each had Scottish themes, so instead of having bed numbers in our room, each bed was an item that one might find in a restaurant in Scotland. Although the hostel accommodates 300 people and we were staying in a room with many other travelers, the room was amazingly spacious (vaulted ceilings, lots of light), and we slept soundly because instead of having the typical hostel-style bunk beds, the beds are attached to the walls...Not to mention the hostel looks like Hogwarts inside! We loved the posh lounge and music lounge, and were impressed by the large, clean kitchen.

The only thing I wasn't crazy about was the parking--It was very close, but expensive, because it was just pay-by-the-hour.

Room Tip: Even the 10-person rooms are spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thursday Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This hostel had a very relaxed friendly vibe and at the same time was 100% secure and safe. The common rooms were great and catered for all sorts of travellers. Staff were so helpful & happy. Facilities were all you could need (in my opinion) - clean hostel, access to computers, steady wifi, laundering at a cost & I quickly adjusted to shared bathrooms. If one downfall I would say mattresses/pillows are over due for an upgrade! P.S. Pretty much at the top of the mile so great to walk down the mile to explore every day.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustralianClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada!
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was an excellent hostel for visiting the historical sites of Edinburgh. You cannot beat the view of the Edinburgh castle from the front door! The staff are helpful and nice, there is 24 hour entry but only with your access card which they are very diligent about checking. There are free lockers in your room with a lock box inside. Each room has a couple of USB ports for phone chargers but do bring your own UK adapters otherwise. Clean showers and toilets and I was very comfortable in my bed, which had sheets and pillows. Towels are 20 pence to rent. The wifi only extends into the internet rooms and not very well into the common room but no big deal, just walk over 20 feet! Free tea and hot chocolate all day. It's a bit of a walk to cheap places to eat, which is the trade off for the amazing location but you can purchase an all day bus ticket for 3 or 4 pounds and head 5 min down the street for some cheap food. Good value for cost.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yang P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I traveled Edinburgh with my friends and stay in 6 mix-bed room. The cabinet in the room is not such large so that the bigger suitcase is not allowed to lock inside. But there is box with lock inside the cabinet, similar to security box, so you still can store the valuable item, ex: money, passport, etc.
The social hall is large and fulled with sofe, chairs and desks. My friends and I enjoy the midnight there very much. The big kitchen allows many people cook at the same time, do not worry have to cue..
We encountered the situation that British airline had a problem of luggage delay when taking the flight from London and some of us had no luggage when arriving Edinburg, so we requested hostel to collect our luggage in case of the daynight we would be absent in the hostel due to our planned trip. The staff was helpful and comforted us that ''it often happens.''
The next day, in the afternoon, the hostel told us the news that the luggage arrived and we felt relieved.
We stay in second floor ..when we walking out from our room and down to the stair, we would pass by a chair, which looks dirty and the nearby the smells is strange.

Beside this, everything is perfect and worthy.

Room Tip: The view is nice to see the castle, but at that time there is a construction work near castle,so the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hui_Ping_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Been to Edinburgh twice, and have stayed here both times. Clean rooms+shower facilities. Spacious kitchen for cooking. Great atmosphere with lots of travellers about. Stones throw from Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. Staff helpful as well

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ampia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
938 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,488 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 204 in Edinburgh
1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Property: Castle Rock Hostel
Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing