We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hostel Experience!!”
Review of Castle Rock Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Rock Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Just the vibe this place gives as soon as you enter is mind blowing! Staff is friendly, walked us through our stay. The hostel has a number of lounge rooms, where guests can hang out and interact. For a budget traveler, breakfast was minimal and unlimited at a nominal charge.
The kitchen was a great place if you wanted to cook yourself. They played a movie everyday in what seemed like the theatre room. We shared a room with 5 other travellers, and bathrooms were shared. Located bang opposite the castle!
I would recommend it to anyone on a budget trip!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PMathur1890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,606)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,606 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Castle Rock is huge! It is literally right outside the castle entrance. Although it is about a 15min trek from the bus stop, and 10 mins or so from the train station it is still in a good location in regards to places to eat and many things to see. The dorm rooms were really spacious with lockers for each bed and reading lights. The bathrooms are unisex and aren't exactly always clean which is why I give this place 4 out of 5 stars.
The breakfast is cheap and handy, not great but it's better than nothing and the service is really friendly and helpful. The kitchen that you can store food and cook proper meals in is a great asset to the place.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank shilohmilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the 6 bed mixed room and it was slightly congested when everyone was there but otherwise I enjoyed my stay. It's easy to get to royal mile or the castle from here. Wifi is good and it's clean. Things to know about this city - have exact change for the bus as they don't give change back; if u have heavy bags it's better to take a cab or bus; do the wailing tour and timber bush highland tour

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shalini Natraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hostel has a great location situated just off the royal mile near the castle and a great decor and atmosphere. The rooms are also very reasonably priced although are a little small. This hostel just missed out on a five star rating because of some of the facilities like the bathrooms. It also has very nice kitchen and living areas and the free tea and coffee is a very nice feature. The staff are very helpful and friendly, which makes this a highly recommended destination and I will be likely to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oisin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Very good location! Easy to get to. Clean beds in large rooms. Not many sockets :/ front desk will charge phones but not a quick solution. Lots of socialising space but the kitchen is basic and not really set up for guest use. Only negative there is a mouse in the 'posh lounge'

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kell885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We checked into this hostel in may of 2014. The location is great, right next to the castle, shops and dining. My girlfriend and I stayed in a 10 bedroom dorm, but the room was plenty spacious.

We met lots of new people and the staff here was incredible. They were extremley helpful and friendly.

Only downside, the wifi was pretty slow.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed at this hostel twice for one night with friends and each time, I was a bit sad to leave.
The reception staff is very friendly and welcoming at all time, day or night. The beds are really comfy and provided me with a good night's sleep both times I stayed. Each bed is provided with lockers where we can keep our valuables.
The common areas are well kept and very cozy. The breakfast is very simple and affordable (2.50) and very satisfactory. The security in place is very reassuring, as one cannot get in without the proof of having a room there. the bathroom and toilets are kept clean as well. I'd come back to Edinburgh just to stay at that hostel again ! I hope next time I can stay for a few nights, I would definitely recommend !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,006 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,890 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#49 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Rock Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Rock Hostel

Address: 15 Johnston Terrace, Edinburgh EH1 2PW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Grassmarket
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £9 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle Rock Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Castle Rock Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Rock Hotel Edinburgh
Castle Rock Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing