We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and very good atmosphere”
Review of High Street Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
High Street Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The High Street Hostel is perfectly located right of the Royal Mile and only a short walk from Waverly Station.

The hostel itself is a 500 year old building and that is used as an excuse for not having power outlets in the dorms. It is quite an annoyance to have to sit in the common room and wait while you electrical items charge (if its only your phone you can have it charged in the reception).

The showers were a bit small but clean and I didn't experience any queues for them.

All in all we had some nice days here especially due to the nice staff in the receptions that made us feel welcome every day.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karinotzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2011

Towels and blankets smelled bad, they were dirty.
Showers were tiny as well as beds. Windows were opened the whole day so we just were frozen there! However, staff was very friendly and there are good facilities. The kicthen and lougne were very good and location too but there is a lot of noise from outside while you are sleeping.
I found it expensive for what you get.
I would stay in another hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleree_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Great location, right on the Royal mile/high street. Free WiFi! Bed is clean / comfy. Nice & chill place. Most staffs are friendly. clean showers/toilets.

I stayed there for 4 nights, loved it. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oh_Vorapak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The high street hostel staff is very good, and the kitchen is very complete. This is a no nonsense hsotel, with a perfect location. The beds are simple but clean.

This hostel can be recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterlybeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Only stayed here for a night. All staff were friendly. Everyone walking into the hostel must show the little pink paper confirming they are guests of the hostel. Quite strict about it, which is good for the safety. Room was OK, very basic, wiith old beds, but maintained OK. No plugs in the room, so had to go downn to the common area to charge my phone. Wifi only avaiable at the common area. A lot of people hanging around the common area, either surfing the net, charging the handphones, playing the piano or reading the many books available there. Really a backpacker's place experience. Great!!!! And not to forget, be prepared to take the fight of stairs.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsMal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

stayed one night at high street. location wise it is absolutely perfect. the vibrant hostel has an huge dining area and kitchen for self catering and mingle around. the staff are friendly.

the funny thing is that there's no power point in my room made me must hang out at the lobby to charge my phone and camera (but it might be their intention to get everybody in common area and mingle around) the room wall are thin and you can clearly hear people walking in the corridor. appreciate the thin bed against a hard surface-better than a soft sinking bed. though they looks kinda shabby, i didn't suffer any bug bed bite, so it must be cleaner than its look.

i get a bottom bed so there's no problem. but the upper bed seems awkward without any safety side partition...

perhaps one thing that is hardest for me to accept is the unisex shower room and bathroom....wish they had female bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggyanagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The service was polite but not VERY friendly or helpful so much. They answered questions if you asked but nothing more.

The room was clean and the bathroom too the common room was homely and comfortable.

Its an easy walk to the bus/train station at waverley and its easy to find! close to food and drink,and tourist attraction.

I was so glad that was clean having been my first time at a back packers

the lockers were pretty thin though. I had to really SQUISH push and shove to get my bag in.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TKYoko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#13 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,639 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#21 of 218 in Edinburgh
182 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 218 in Edinburgh
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Hostel

Address: 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £12 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Street Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh. Relax, as a result of recent refurbishments we can assure guests of FREE HOSTEL WIDE WIFI and personal POWER POINTS next to EVERY bed. Thrive in the backpackers atmosphere and meet people from across the globe. 24/7 Hot showers, FREE tea, coffee, hot chocolate and unrivaled ambiance are just a few factors combining to make your stay here at High Street Hostel a unique experience. High Street Hostel operates inside a historical 470 year old building formally known as Morton House. The resident, Earl of Morton, was beheaded in 1581, a consequence of his involvement in the murder of Mary Queen of Scots' husband. These days, we operate with less beheadings and more beddings.. Hah.. However don't be mislead. Though the hostel may be 470 years old we possess state-of-the-art facilities that will make you immediately question the present century. Welcome to the future, it comes with wifi. In conjunction with our next-generation building-wide wifi we have included personal power points next to each bed. With this combination you can maximise your time spent in bed watching films on your device instead of exploring this seemingly pre-historic city. NOTE: Do not panic. If you do not have your own device to waste time, on you may rent a tablet, or use the PC in the reception area. In regards to location, High Street Hostel is one of the most ideally situated hostels enabling travellers to step out of the door right into the heart of the city. As time goes by it seems we are becoming flanked by restaurants, pubs, and live music venues from all directions, explore the likes of which during our weekly pub crawls, trivia nights and other various events. For the night owls, we boast a 24 hour reception and lounge area to hang out before you embark on or after you wake from the sleep befit for a King of Scotland. High Street Hostel boasts the most relaxing and reverie packed atmosphere in all of Blackfriars Street, winning the Blackfriars Street hostel of the decade award 3 weeks in a row! Enjoy a daydream in the lounge with the landscape mural or question your sanity in the reception with whatever dubious music choice the receptionist at the time entertains. Whatever your fancy, the team at HSH is here to ensure a fulfilling experience of UK's favourite city. For the frugal travellers, rest easy knowing our prices are the most competitive in the city. Not only this, but discounts are offered throughout the city to our guests for pubs to cafes to entertainment venues. If you don't like to eat out, we maintain a fully equipped kitchen that would cause Jamie Oliver himself to quiver in fear at the thought of the storm he could cook up in it. We have tables and chairs acquired from what was the local church so you may be inspired while impressing your friends or any new friends you might make during your stay with that one elaborately delicious and spiritually enlightening meal you know how to make. Sleep well knowing you may continue your lucid mental state come morning time by avoiding the hassle of embarking into the nightmarish cold weather and taking advantage of our £1.90 Buffet styled breakfast available until 10:30am. Important things to note for more scrupulous readers; -The rumours are true, we do have a pool table. -Showers and bathrooms are located on each floor and shared between the lads and ladies. -We do not accept guests under the youthful age of 18 due to our fears of irreversible corruption as a result of interactions with our staff team. Also for legal reasons. -We do not host stag or hen parties. We ask you to contact us directly before booking if; -You wish to stay for a prolonged period of time or any more than 14 days. -Your party/group/fellowship/bouquet of flowery friends is larger than 6 members. If you plan to have a busy day and don't want to spend hours drying naturally, we offer towel rentals for only £0.20 And why not take advantage of our laundry service costing £3.50 And clean a whole bag of socks. For our high rolling guests, enter the world of luxury as you step into the mahogany filled reception area where you can listen to or endeavour to play the smooth sounds of the piano while smoking your pipe on the antiquated rich leather couches we acquired from private sales across the globe. Disclaimer; we do not allow smoking inside the hostel under any circumstances. We do however invite you to pursue future diseases and lung problems by taking advantage of our smoking area conveniently placed outside, and accessible from, the lounge. We also have a fish tank Come have fun High Street Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your High Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Edinburgh
High Street Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing