We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and great location”
Review of High Street Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Street Hostel
malmö,
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy and great location”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This was a great budget hostel for what we paid. We stayed in a 10-room dorm with be already made and a personal locker.

The staff were really helpful and friendly. Great location and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    174
    54
    26
    16
See reviews for
16
49
120
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I thought this was a great hostel for its price. stayed in a 10 bed room, and it was pretty comfortable, with lockers for each person. internet available in the reception area, free wifi, cheap towels if you haven't brought one. staff are really really helpful as well. good for a night or two.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraR89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

fantasic location for a hostel. fine basic facilities, clean and small rooms

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hailz_777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2012

DON'T LET THIS HOSTEL TO RUIN YOUR HOLIDAYS IN EDINBURGH!
HERE ARE 16 TRUE FACTS:
- The building itself is 500 years old. there are no electricity sockets in the rooms!
- The internet wi-fi signal is extremely poor and impossible to get it in the rooms.
- The bed's mattresses are made of very slim pure sponge it kinda feels like sleeping on the floor and it gives muscle pains during the night so you struggle to sleep.
- The rooms are dirty with small insects and smell abit musty.
- The rooms are very cold and the central heating is rarely turned on by the hostel staff.
- The bathrooms and toilets are unisex!
- The showers often fail to provide hot water!
- There are c0ckroaches in the lounge just in front of the kitchen.
- The kitchen gets always locked during the late night so any food and drinks you leave there they won't let you have access to it.
- The television in the lounge is always turned off.
- People struggle to find any electricity sockets available to charge their phones/laptops in the lounge and reception area with the very few ones they have in the building.
- The laundry service will sometimes shrink your clothes and other times your clothes can go missing.
- At night relatively with some frequency there's drunk people coming in and being rude towards the other guests and people on street tend to take a pee just next to the hostel's door.
- The building inside up the stairs and in the lounge it's exaggeratedly coloured in a sick way that it looks like a kindergarden.
- I have seen the staff reading the bad reviews about their hostel on the computer and they even had a laugh at it like reading their bad reviews it's a complete parody for them they didnt care less!
- The staff is very rude and disrespectful they have no manners.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J0hn_Brian600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We have stayed there for one night only. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable (although very small) - you can't expect more for the price. Perfect location close to all major attraction. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable-they will offer you a free advice on where to go, what's worth to see and where to eat.
Free Wii Fi and tea and coffee in the communal area.

This is not a Hotel or Bed and Breakfast but perfect place to stay if you on a budget.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulina1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights on my own. Fabulous hostel!!! Very old building with history and elegance. Its very easy going,all the staff are spot on....great for giving advice on places to visit. I didn't use all the facilities here due to sightseeing for much of my stay. However the hostel has 2 great communal areas which are both great. The rooms are spacious, showers are clean and powerful and hot!!! Being one street off the royal milea and only a 5 minute walk from Waverley station, close to many attractions,I would recommend this hostel highly!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

I was only in Edinburgh for a day and a half, but I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel! I got to the city by bus, and the hostel was fairly easy to walk to from the station. I flew out of Scotland, and it was very easy (and cheap) to get a bus to the airport, even at 4 am. The staff are friendly and helpful. You get 3 keys, one for your room, your locker, and a safe within the locker...in other words, your stuff is super secure here (although the locker didn't fit my entire backpack, I do believe they have storage. Didn't feel I needed it). There is someone at the desk 24/7, and checks your hostel card to make sure no one comes into the building who doesn't belong there. Free hot beverages are great, and the beds are really comfortable! I was in an 8 person room, but it was nice. Clean, and a great atmosphere. There seems to be a lot going on in the city, and the NewEurope free tour starts right down the road!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnappleSpice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 202 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Hostel

Property: High Street Hostel
Address: 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 202 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — High Street Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh. Relax, as a result of recent refurbishments we can assure guests of FREE HOSTEL WIDE WIFI and personal POWER POINTS next to EVERY bed. Thrive in the backpackers atmosphere and meet people from across the globe. 24/7 Hot showers, FREE tea, coffee, hot chocolate and unrivaled ambiance are just a few factors combining to make your stay here at High Street Hostel a unique experience. High Street Hostel operates inside a historical 470 year old building formally known as Morton House. The resident, Earl of Morton, was beheaded in 1581, a consequence of his involvement in the murder of Mary Queen of Scots' husband. These days, we operate with less beheadings and more beddings.. Hah.. However don't be mislead. Though the hostel may be 470 years old we possess state-of-the-art facilities that will make you immediately question the present century. Welcome to the future, it comes with wifi. In conjunction with our next-generation building-wide wifi we have included personal power points next to each bed. With this combination you can maximise your time spent in bed watching films on your device instead of exploring this seemingly pre-historic city. NOTE: Do not panic. If you do not have your own device to waste time, on you may rent a tablet, or use the PC in the reception area. In regards to location, High Street Hostel is one of the most ideally situated hostels enabling travellers to step out of the door right into the heart of the city. As time goes by it seems we are becoming flanked by restaurants, pubs, and live music venues from all directions, explore the likes of which during our weekly pub crawls, trivia nights and other various events. For the night owls, we boast a 24 hour reception and lounge area to hang out before you embark on or after you wake from the sleep befit for a King of Scotland. High Street Hostel boasts the most relaxing and reverie packed atmosphere in all of Blackfriars Street, winning the Blackfriars Street hostel of the decade award 3 weeks in a row! Enjoy a daydream in the lounge with the landscape mural or question your sanity in the reception with whatever dubious music choice the receptionist at the time entertains. Whatever your fancy, the team at HSH is here to ensure a fulfilling experience of UK's favourite city. For the frugal travellers, rest easy knowing our prices are the most competitive in the city. Not only this, but discounts are offered throughout the city to our guests for pubs to cafes to entertainment venues. If you don't like to eat out, we maintain a fully equipped kitchen that would cause Jamie Oliver himself to quiver in fear at the thought of the storm he could cook up in it. We have tables and chairs acquired from what was the local church so you may be inspired while impressing your friends or any new friends you might make during your stay with that one elaborately delicious and spiritually enlightening meal you know how to make. Sleep well knowing you may continue your lucid mental state come morning time by avoiding the hassle of embarking into the nightmarish cold weather and taking advantage of our £1.90 Buffet styled breakfast available until 10:30am. Important things to note for more scrupulous readers; -The rumours are true, we do have a pool table. -Showers and bathrooms are located on each floor and shared between the lads and ladies. -We do not accept guests under the youthful age of 18 due to our fears of irreversible corruption as a result of interactions with our staff team. Also for legal reasons. -We do not host stag or hen parties. We ask you to contact us directly before booking if; -You wish to stay for a prolonged period of time or any more than 14 days. -Your party/group/fellowship/bouquet of flowery friends is larger than 6 members. If you plan to have a busy day and don't want to spend hours drying naturally, we offer towel rentals for only £0.20 And why not take advantage of our laundry service costing £3.50 And clean a whole bag of socks. For our high rolling guests, enter the world of luxury as you step into the mahogany filled reception area where you can listen to or endeavour to play the smooth sounds of the piano while smoking your pipe on the antiquated rich leather couches we acquired from private sales across the globe. Disclaimer; we do not allow smoking inside the hostel under any circumstances. We do however invite you to pursue future diseases and lung problems by taking advantage of our smoking area conveniently placed outside, and accessible from, the lounge. We also have a fish tank Come have fun High Street Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your High Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Edinburgh
High Street Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing