We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and sympathetic hostel”
Review of High Street Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
High Street Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Simple and sympathetic hostel”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Its a simple, clean and mixed hostel. In a central street in Edinburgh, we can visit all the city and come back late. A nice staff can help you giving advices and informations about the city.

You need to pay for the breakfast, but is cheap!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AminaBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    179
    55
    26
    17
See reviews for
17
50
124
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

The overall atmosphere is OK. Very central location. Unique room decorations.

But it was dirty almost everywhere. A very bad smell also spread aroud the whole hostel during my stay. The shared toilets are small and dirty.

There are several hostels around that place and I have stayed in three different ones. This one is definitely the worst, and also the most expensive on. Try to look for some other hostels if you want to have the very basic clean condition

房间装饰独特,员工还算友善,地理位置很好。

整个青旅卫生状况比较糟糕,有一股难闻的味道弥漫整个青旅,几乎每一处地方都不干净,公用卫生间状况尤其糟糕,很多时候令人搞到很恶心。

住过附近三个青旅,这个是最不干净的,而且价格不比其它便宜。最基本的卫生条件这个都没达到,不建议喜欢干净的人入住

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iceygarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elmhurst, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

I stayed at this hostel for five days and I must say it was fantastic. The location on high street is just spectacular. You are literally a five minute walk from the castle and a ten minute walk to the other end of the royal mile. The staff were awesome, very attentive and knowledgeable, and totally fun. Lots of really neat people stayed there and everyone was very open and friendly. The whole place made me feel very safe. The only downside was that the beds were really, really hard. However, the rooms were quiet, clean, and there was enough space for everyone. I was staying a ten bed all girls room. 10/10 would stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with StudentUniverse

Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Friendly helpful service; nothing was too much trouble. A clean,safe and interesting place to stay. Liked having my own locker and being able to borrow a hairdryer. Showers good and hot. Very good value. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This was my first time staying in High Street Hostel. Once we entered the hostel, we smelled a very ridiculous smell in the lobby, I thought this was because the 2nd hand sofas, but it was still there when we were in our room. I can't see anything through the window because it was full of dust! I would say this is a very dirty hostel.
The wifi was only available in lobby but it didn't work or very slow....anyway, don't recommend to you although it is located in central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The location and staff were FABULOUS, it was the 1st time i had stayed in a hostel, and i was enjoying the Fringe festival ( which was literally 200m from our front door ! ), and had a Macbackpackers tour , so stayed at the HSH before and after the tour. I was very impressed , for 20 pound a night, it was terrific, clean, tidy, homely, free tea/ coffee/ hot choc, a computer to use in reception ( for those of us who dont have I-phones or wifi ! HUGE age range, I was really surprised, every traveler from 18 to 80 ! Has totally changed my mind about Hostels ! Would highly recommend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pemb1est
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Ideal central location and really friendly staff. Unfortunately our room smelt like someone had soiled themselves on one of the mattresses and twice we had strangers given a bed in our room in spite of the fact we had rented out the whole room for our group- and were paying for it. The staff were very apologetic about these extra guests and did refund us though and as we were staying during Edinburgh Fringe I am sure that things were more hectic than usual. Good facilities with hot showers every day.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 204 in Edinburgh
1,517 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#43 of 204 in Edinburgh
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 204 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#17 of 204 in Edinburgh
400 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#18 of 204 in Edinburgh
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Hostel

Property: High Street Hostel
Address: 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 204 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — High Street Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh. Relax, as a result of recent refurbishments we can assure guests of FREE HOSTEL WIDE WIFI and personal POWER POINTS next to EVERY bed. Thrive in the backpackers atmosphere and meet people from across the globe. 24/7 Hot showers, FREE tea, coffee, hot chocolate and unrivaled ambiance are just a few factors combining to make your stay here at High Street Hostel a unique experience. High Street Hostel operates inside a historical 470 year old building formally known as Morton House. The resident, Earl of Morton, was beheaded in 1581, a consequence of his involvement in the murder of Mary Queen of Scots' husband. These days, we operate with less beheadings and more beddings.. Hah.. However don't be mislead. Though the hostel may be 470 years old we possess state-of-the-art facilities that will make you immediately question the present century. Welcome to the future, it comes with wifi. In conjunction with our next-generation building-wide wifi we have included personal power points next to each bed. With this combination you can maximise your time spent in bed watching films on your device instead of exploring this seemingly pre-historic city. NOTE: Do not panic. If you do not have your own device to waste time, on you may rent a tablet, or use the PC in the reception area. In regards to location, High Street Hostel is one of the most ideally situated hostels enabling travellers to step out of the door right into the heart of the city. As time goes by it seems we are becoming flanked by restaurants, pubs, and live music venues from all directions, explore the likes of which during our weekly pub crawls, trivia nights and other various events. For the night owls, we boast a 24 hour reception and lounge area to hang out before you embark on or after you wake from the sleep befit for a King of Scotland. High Street Hostel boasts the most relaxing and reverie packed atmosphere in all of Blackfriars Street, winning the Blackfriars Street hostel of the decade award 3 weeks in a row! Enjoy a daydream in the lounge with the landscape mural or question your sanity in the reception with whatever dubious music choice the receptionist at the time entertains. Whatever your fancy, the team at HSH is here to ensure a fulfilling experience of UK's favourite city. For the frugal travellers, rest easy knowing our prices are the most competitive in the city. Not only this, but discounts are offered throughout the city to our guests for pubs to cafes to entertainment venues. If you don't like to eat out, we maintain a fully equipped kitchen that would cause Jamie Oliver himself to quiver in fear at the thought of the storm he could cook up in it. We have tables and chairs acquired from what was the local church so you may be inspired while impressing your friends or any new friends you might make during your stay with that one elaborately delicious and spiritually enlightening meal you know how to make. Sleep well knowing you may continue your lucid mental state come morning time by avoiding the hassle of embarking into the nightmarish cold weather and taking advantage of our £1.90 Buffet styled breakfast available until 10:30am. Important things to note for more scrupulous readers; -The rumours are true, we do have a pool table. -Showers and bathrooms are located on each floor and shared between the lads and ladies. -We do not accept guests under the youthful age of 18 due to our fears of irreversible corruption as a result of interactions with our staff team. Also for legal reasons. -We do not host stag or hen parties. We ask you to contact us directly before booking if; -You wish to stay for a prolonged period of time or any more than 14 days. -Your party/group/fellowship/bouquet of flowery friends is larger than 6 members. If you plan to have a busy day and don't want to spend hours drying naturally, we offer towel rentals for only £0.20 And why not take advantage of our laundry service costing £3.50 And clean a whole bag of socks. For our high rolling guests, enter the world of luxury as you step into the mahogany filled reception area where you can listen to or endeavour to play the smooth sounds of the piano while smoking your pipe on the antiquated rich leather couches we acquired from private sales across the globe. Disclaimer; we do not allow smoking inside the hostel under any circumstances. We do however invite you to pursue future diseases and lung problems by taking advantage of our smoking area conveniently placed outside, and accessible from, the lounge. We also have a fish tank Come have fun High Street Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your High Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Edinburgh
High Street Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing