We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical hostel I think”
Review of High Street Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
High Street Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Not a great experience for my first hostel(and last). The people who worked there were very friendly an helpful. The common room downstairs was warm and had good wifi. The rooms upstairs however did not have wifi. I was alone in a ten person room and the next night they put one boy in the bed next to me. The night after they put another 3 boys in the room with me and I was alone. I didn't feel unsafe but you never know. The bathrooms were down the hall and separate for a shower and toilet. I didn't shower but they seemed pretty basic.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jordanleigh26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (451)
There are newer reviews for High Street Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

My friend and I stayed here in a 6 bed dorm during the New Year/Hogmany period. And what a great decision that was! Incredibly friendly staff, perfect location right off the Royal Mile, spacious kitchen and common area, hostel can arrange tours for you etc. A great atmosphere in general! Beds were mighty uncomfortable though, very thin mattresses etc.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed at HIgh Street Hostel for about 6 nights and enjoyed every minute there. The staff were amazing and very kind and friendly. Made you feel at home. Its right off the Royal Mile, so you don't have to go far for anything. You can book tours through them and they will also let you know of some amazing places to check out.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicbeyette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed 5 days at this hostel and it couldn't have been a better experience. The staff was the kindest most down to earth people who answered each and everyone of my crazy and abundant amount of questions. We were able to book some pretty cool tours through them and they take care of everything for you, the staff really cares about you and your experience with them and in Scotland.

The breakfast is only 1.90 pounds. It is a cheap place to stay and the rooms are big and the beds are comfy. I slept well and the showers had amazing water pressure. Internet doesn't work in the rooms but the lobby is nice and I met some pretty cool people there.

The location is on point!! It's right off the royal mile and we had access to everything in walking distance. The train/bus station is really close too, so you won't have to worry about getting to places further away if you need to. The best hostel I've ever stayed at. Please stay here, you won't regret it! :)

Room Tip: Rooms Closest to the lobby has internet access
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sasha77711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights in this hostel earlier this month. Its location is ideal, very central and at the same time, not too noisy. The staff was wonderful and the building itself has a lot of character and a great atmosphere. The beds and bathroom were a bit basic, but everything was very clean.
I only had one problem: no plugs in the dorms and very bad wifi outside of the common room. On a holiday trip, I would not have minded the wifi, but I was in Edinburgh for a conference and had to work online in the evenings so this was a bit annoying. And the lack of plugs in the dorms is just very impractical as everyone is crowded in the common room to charge cameras and phones.

Overall, I'd give this hotel a 7/10 and I would definitely go back there as it was good value for what it offers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_J0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I loved staying at High Street Hostel!
First of all, the location is fantastic - right in the heart of the Old Town, just next to the Royal Mile (the central street in Edinburgh). Then the hostel itself - it was clean and really, really nice. You can hang out and meet other guests in the lobby and in the lovely and colorful kitchen/dinner area, where you can also have breakfast or free hot drinks. You really get good value for money and there are many facilities available (eg. free hairdryer).
BUT above all, the best thing in this hostel is the staff. They were amazingly nice, welcoming, undestanding and helpful.
If I get the chance to go back to Edinburgh I will definitely go back to this hostel.
In short- a great accomodation. I do really recommend it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 760Nicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We were a group of four friends and family our room was the teenage mutant ninja turtle room. The 2 bunk beds suited us but may not be to everyones taste. THIS review is based on it being a hostel, the room and common areas were clean, and just of the royal mile could not be better located.
One small dissapointing thing was we were on the seventh floor with no lift

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,574 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#34 of 217 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Street Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Street Hostel

Address: 8 Blackfriars Street, Edinburgh EH1 1NE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £11 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Street Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the heart of Edinburgh. Relax, as a result of recent refurbishments we can assure guests of FREE HOSTEL WIDE WIFI and personal POWER POINTS next to EVERY bed. Thrive in the backpackers atmosphere and meet people from across the globe. 24/7 Hot showers, FREE tea, coffee, hot chocolate and unrivaled ambiance are just a few factors combining to make your stay here at High Street Hostel a unique experience. High Street Hostel operates inside a historical 470 year old building formally known as Morton House. The resident, Earl of Morton, was beheaded in 1581, a consequence of his involvement in the murder of Mary Queen of Scots' husband. These days, we operate with less beheadings and more beddings.. Hah.. However don't be mislead. Though the hostel may be 470 years old we possess state-of-the-art facilities that will make you immediately question the present century. Welcome to the future, it comes with wifi. In conjunction with our next-generation building-wide wifi we have included personal power points next to each bed. With this combination you can maximise your time spent in bed watching films on your device instead of exploring this seemingly pre-historic city. NOTE: Do not panic. If you do not have your own device to waste time, on you may rent a tablet, or use the PC in the reception area. In regards to location, High Street Hostel is one of the most ideally situated hostels enabling travellers to step out of the door right into the heart of the city. As time goes by it seems we are becoming flanked by restaurants, pubs, and live music venues from all directions, explore the likes of which during our weekly pub crawls, trivia nights and other various events. For the night owls, we boast a 24 hour reception and lounge area to hang out before you embark on or after you wake from the sleep befit for a King of Scotland. High Street Hostel boasts the most relaxing and reverie packed atmosphere in all of Blackfriars Street, winning the Blackfriars Street hostel of the decade award 3 weeks in a row! Enjoy a daydream in the lounge with the landscape mural or question your sanity in the reception with whatever dubious music choice the receptionist at the time entertains. Whatever your fancy, the team at HSH is here to ensure a fulfilling experience of UK's favourite city. For the frugal travellers, rest easy knowing our prices are the most competitive in the city. Not only this, but discounts are offered throughout the city to our guests for pubs to cafes to entertainment venues. If you don't like to eat out, we maintain a fully equipped kitchen that would cause Jamie Oliver himself to quiver in fear at the thought of the storm he could cook up in it. We have tables and chairs acquired from what was the local church so you may be inspired while impressing your friends or any new friends you might make during your stay with that one elaborately delicious and spiritually enlightening meal you know how to make. Sleep well knowing you may continue your lucid mental state come morning time by avoiding the hassle of embarking into the nightmarish cold weather and taking advantage of our £1.90 Buffet styled breakfast available until 10:30am. Important things to note for more scrupulous readers; -The rumours are true, we do have a pool table. -Showers and bathrooms are located on each floor and shared between the lads and ladies. -We do not accept guests under the youthful age of 18 due to our fears of irreversible corruption as a result of interactions with our staff team. Also for legal reasons. -We do not host stag or hen parties. We ask you to contact us directly before booking if; -You wish to stay for a prolonged period of time or any more than 14 days. -Your party/group/fellowship/bouquet of flowery friends is larger than 6 members. If you plan to have a busy day and don't want to spend hours drying naturally, we offer towel rentals for only £0.20 And why not take advantage of our laundry service costing £3.50 And clean a whole bag of socks. For our high rolling guests, enter the world of luxury as you step into the mahogany filled reception area where you can listen to or endeavour to play the smooth sounds of the piano while smoking your pipe on the antiquated rich leather couches we acquired from private sales across the globe. Disclaimer; we do not allow smoking inside the hostel under any circumstances. We do however invite you to pursue future diseases and lung problems by taking advantage of our smoking area conveniently placed outside, and accessible from, the lounge. We also have a fish tank Come have fun High Street Hostel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your High Street Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Street Hotel Edinburgh
High Street Hostel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing