We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for price range.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Harlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Very good for price range.”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Well placed for getting around Edinburgh, right by Waverley train station and the public and tourist bus stop. 1 minute walk up to the Royal Mile via the side 'wynd' and about 5 minutes across the bridge to Princess Street. Rooms are a good size but not all have baths so if this is your preference make sure you request it when booking. We had a room overlooking the station and got disturbed by train noise so perhaps requesting a room at the back would be better. We were also disturbed by the noise of the seagulls but there isn't much you can do about that! Breakfast was a bit of a bun-fight, and it appeared under staffed, but all-in-all good value for the price range and we'd stay here again.
One tip, we stayed on the Wednesday and Thursday prior to the Fringe starting on the Friday. Hotel prices double during the Fringe, but we found there was still a lot going on pre-Fringe so would maybe be a way to get a feel for what the Fringe is like without having to pay the extortionate hotel prices.

Room Tip: At the back of the hotel, away from the noise of Waverley Station at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jobenina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,921 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    919
    1,504
    911
    388
    199
See reviews for
960
1,356
182
530
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

As many others have said, this place has an excellent location
For a two night stay, the room was certainly more than adequate. Minor gripes would be that the shower control needed some strength to turn it on - and the kettle had to filled from the bath-tap, since the wash-hand basin was too small to accommodate the kettle under the tap.
The fact that it was August, and Edinburgh, therefore Festivals-a-gogo, was clearly indicated in the price - £145 per night, room only!
On the other hand, the buffet breakfast was only £9.50, so it would be possible to fill yourself up for the day at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants, England
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We stayed here for one night as we were in Edinburgh for the Tattoo.
The hotel is in a very convenient location. We got the airport bus to Waverley Station and the hotel is just a few minutes walk away. It is also within easy walking distance of the castle.
Our room was at the front of the hotel on the 6th floor with a good view. The station is below but the trains didn't really disturb us much.
We had booked a superior family room, because we wanted our 17 year old son to share with us. (Premier Inn only allow children to share up to 16,) We aren't sure what made the room superior, unless superior is Jury's Inn speak for standard.
The room itself was similar to a Premier Inn, but quite a bit smaller. The bed was only a standard double and the space between the double and the single was only about 1ft so a couple of times in the night my son and I actually kicked each other because we both put our feet over the side of the bed. The photographs taken by the hotel certainly make the rooms seem larger than they are. The hanging space for clothes was quite limited and ours contained an ironing board which reduced it still further.(There is an ironing room anyway so it wasn't necessary).
Our package included free wi-fi which didn't work in our room. Staff said it was a bit hit and miss.
The beds were very comfortable and we all slept well.
There is no airconditioning and the windows only open at the top, so I wonder what it would be like if the weather got hot.
The hotel seemed very expensive for what it was, and after I printed out the booking I discovered it didn't include breakfast which is 8.50 per person. The breakfast was very good though with plenty of options, and being self service you could have as much as you liked.
The staff were helpful and the hotel was clean. We would probably stay there again because of the convenience of the location. My only quibble would probably be the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentgibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Terrific location - within walking distance to Weaverly train station and the Royal Mile. Room was clean and quiet. Staff was friendly. Blowdryer that was built into the drawer didn't work but they promptly brought a portable one to our room. No wait for check-in or check-out and we left our luggage in storage since we had an afternoon train. Breakfast was tasty and had more options than other hotels we stayed at. Can't comment on value as our hotel stay was part of a tour package but if it's at a reasonable rate then I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keynotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

hi stayed 4th Aug into 5th , for the tattoo , on arrival the hotel looked like a premier inn , staff were polite , went to our room quick freshen up and out on the town , got back to the hotel bar about twelve and sat and had a night cap , and laugh and joke with staff , went up to room got ready for bed , sat on bed to put off lights etc , and thats when i found the snapped spring or should i say it found me , ,went and told the night reception and was moved to another room at half one in the morning , then to be awakened by the rubbish men dragging the bins down the side of the hotel for emptying at 0813 am on a SUNDAY ,,,,,, SORRY UNACCEPTABLE , breakfast, plenty of food, bacon was cold but that is the only complaint (but i might have been unlucky) NOW my only problem is that with the bed being damaged was it ignored by staff or is the mattress protectors not moved between visitors ????????

Room Tip: try and get the street side of the hotel ????
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

2 night stay while working in edinburgh. Hotel is clean staff friendly and food was spot on. centrally located for all attractions, no on-site parking but train station car park can be used (at a price) Room was clean and tidy cannot fault it although my friends room was not up to scratch but he was promptly moved to another room. Very good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tworods2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We booked this hotel last minute as we normally go for the premier inn at £29. However on this occasion we were unable to get a cheap deal anywhere so we booked to stay here at the jurys inn in edinburgh. We had a smoking room which is virtually unheard of these days in the uk and boy it was a fab room and a fab hotel! the room was very fresh looking and clean and a nice size too! the hotel itself is situated not far from the weaverly train station so it was very central to everywhere especially the royal mile. The staff were amazing very helpful nothing was too much! i will definatley be staying again and would highly recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weasytupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,519 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#88 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,294 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#66 of 149 in Edinburgh
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing