We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nd chance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“2 nd chance”
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

After a bad review last time , I have to say that this time it was as I would expect. . Staff friendly and always willing to assist . Room was clean .comfartable. And I have to say if you visit try get a room on street side . Quieter and nice view at night. . One downside no MUSHROOMS with breakfast and hash browns should be replaced with tattle scones .... ( my choice) but would give it a 8/10. .. Thanks for a enjoyable night

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    1,445
    880
    357
    186
See reviews for
897
1,313
179
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

OK for what it is but there are better places to stay in Edinburgh. Good location for travel from station. Friendly welcome. Large room, reasonably comfortable. Wi Fi extortionate. Could not get TV to work. Lifts involved frequent waits. Bar was crowded and noisy but food seemed reasonably priced. Breakfast in morning a bit of a scrum and although reasonable quality was quite ordinary. I thought the price was expensive for what it was and have had much better value at other Jury's

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Campbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I am glad to see that you found our reception team helpful and friendly. I apologies for the issues you had during your stay, we check our rooms daily and the broken TV should have been spotted and fixed before someone checks in. I also apologies that you had long waits for our lifts, we don't normally have issues with our lifts so again I will investigate why there was an issue when you stayed.
If you could contact me on the details below with your booking details I can carry out these investigations.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

All staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms clean and tidy for the price of a budget hotel. Food reasonable and well priced although would recommend getting in early for breakfast as tour groups from the US seem to take over.Free wifi down stairs only although can be accessed for a fee, reasonable compared to other hotels. Easy to book online but would recommend having a credit card imprint at Checkin if you want to charge to the room, even if paid for accommodation already. Really easy trip up to the Royal Mile through to back of building and up the stairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lean E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comments about Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments about our staff & cleanliness of the hotel. I am sorry you had issues with a busy breakfast, we do have tour groups in the summer as most hotels do. However you should have been informed of the busy breakfast times when you were checking in.

Thank you again for your comments and please contact me directly if you are planning another trip to Edinburgh.
Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havelock, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

this hotel was clean and the front desk service was fine (booked a cab, etc.) The breakfast was a bit of a crush of people and noisy - we missed the little B&Bs we had been staying in. The room was smallish - as expected in a budget hotel. The room, however, was quite hot (despite heat off and window open) and the only bedcover was a comforter, which I ended taking out of its sheet bag and just using the sheet.
The location was excellent.
The only internet in the room was wired (no good for my iPad) and had a cost, however, the bar had wireless for free (get the code from the bartender which lasts 24 hours).

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent response on Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I am happy to see that you found our reception team helpful. I am sorry you felt breakfast was a bit crushed. There are peak times at breakfast which tend to be 8.30-9.30, this should have been explained to you at check in so please accept my apologies that this was not the case.

I understand your comments about WIFI we are scheduled to have WIFI installed in all bedrooms by next year.

Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Fantastic location - within walking distance to Weaverly Train Station and the Royal Mile.

Check-in and check-out was very efficient and we were able to leave our luggage in storage as we were travelling to Skye for a couple of days then coming back for another night.
Our room was clean and comfortable.

We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel but found a little cafe up the street which was fine. We had drinks and a snack in the bar which was great and the staff were very friendly and helpfull.
I loved our stay in Jurys Inn Edinburgh and would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I am really glad you had an enjoyable stay.

I am glad you will return to us and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Please contact me directly when you return and I will make the necessary arrangements for you.

Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We checked in for hen night and they asked us to cut down number of rooms we had booked, this was no problem for us and they gave us £100 bar credit and 4 bottles of fizz in our room. Graet location and spotless hotel. Would stay again if looking for a central hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed here recently, Taxi drivers didn't know where Jeffery Street was! When we found it, it had a good enough location, near Royal Mile and quite near Princes Street. Stayed 1 night so it was good for short visit. If you are looking for just a basic bed to stay in and no extras, this ticks the box. This was one of the few hotels where we could book 3 into a room so our choice was limited. Price was also within budget, beds and bathroom were clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambandchops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 5 October 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent comment about your stay in Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I am glad you found our hotel & rooms to be clean we have a fantastic Housekeeping team. Sorry you had issues with the taxi driver I have never known a taxi driver not to know where Jeffrey Street is before.

Please contact me directly on the information below should you return to us again and I will take care of the arrangements for you.


Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#103 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing