We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two star experience. Only use if you get a bargain rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #114 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 October 2012 via mobile

I'm a child of the 80's, much like the room decor. Furniture chopped, carpets dirty, the rooms are really tired looking, dated and worn.

When they refurbish the hotel it will be a prime stay, the location and staff are great. The breakfast experience is lacking, more akin to a budget bed and breakfast.

The location is great though. When they sort the deficiencies it will be worth a stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent experience in Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I am sorry you felt our rooms were old & tired, we have superior rooms which are all front facing next time you are travelling to Edinburgh please let me know and I will ensure you get one of these rooms.

We are currently looking at our breakfast options and adding more items to our buffet which I hope you will find the next time you stay improve our breakfast experience.

Please contact me on the details below and I will make the necessary arrangements for your next stay in Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Kind Regards

Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,038)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,018 - 3,024 of 4,039 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed in late September 2 rooms, 3 over 55. with a last minute booking. No deals here. No parking, available close by cost 6£ with hotel discount. Rooms cost 135£ pound. Wifi 5£ an Hour!. Very good breakfast an additional 10€. Rooms are very nice Walking distance to all historic city sights

Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed here for one night in August. It was fine. Nothing to write home about. Clean and average. Breakfast is self service which I'm never a big fan of. Accommodates groups / hens etc. Rooms were small but clean. Overpriced but it's obvious you're paying for location here

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Doyle123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review from your stay in August. August is Edinburgh's busiest month of the year and the rates in the city do tend to increase over this time. I am sorry you feel we are overpriced.

We recently changed our buffet to self service, we used to serve the food to our guests but due to guest feedback we changed it to self service. I am sorry you didn’t like this option but I will certainly take your comments on board.

Please contact me the next time you are travelling to Edinburgh and I will ensure you get a very competitive rate.

Kind Regards

Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I stayed at Jury's as part of an Insight tour stopover, we had two nights here, Jurys is 5 mins walk to the Royal Mile, 10 min walk to a Post office, over the Royal Mile, High street, but a good 30 min walk to the new area and shops, but very close 5 min walk to Edinburgh Waverly Station so a great location.

buffet breakfast excellent, wifi is chargeable but free for a certain time if you access in the bar after purchasing a drink.

Edinburgh is very much a tourist town, and very busy.

Room Tip: Maybe not facing the rail yard as it was a little noisy from the road ad yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neclyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I was here on work, and was pretty dissapointed when i got to my room - it was rather small and the view of a fire escape was pretty poor. It just felt like a cheap travellodge to be honest. Nonetheless the location was superb, with great access to the train, a car park (discounted be the hotel although not cheap) and a walkway straight onto the Royal Mile.

Breakfast was the traditional buffet - nothing special.

I'd probably stay elsewhere if i was asked to pay more than three figures for this place, even given it's great location.

Room Tip: ask for one with a view over the city/train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 773RBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your trip advisor comment about your recent stay in Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I am sorry to hear that you won't be returning to us. We are usually very competitively priced within the city. I apologies if you feel our rates were too high. During the summer months into September the cites rates do tend to be higher.
Please contact me again the next time you are travelling to Edinburgh I will ensure you get a competitive rate and allocated one of our superior rooms that have great views of Calton hill.

Thanks you again for your review.

Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012 via mobile

After a bad review last time , I have to say that this time it was as I would expect. . Staff friendly and always willing to assist . Room was clean .comfartable. And I have to say if you visit try get a room on street side . Quieter and nice view at night. . One downside no MUSHROOMS with breakfast and hash browns should be replaced with tattle scones .... ( my choice) but would give it a 8/10. .. Thanks for a enjoyable night

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

OK for what it is but there are better places to stay in Edinburgh. Good location for travel from station. Friendly welcome. Large room, reasonably comfortable. Wi Fi extortionate. Could not get TV to work. Lifts involved frequent waits. Bar was crowded and noisy but food seemed reasonably priced. Breakfast in morning a bit of a scrum and although reasonable quality was quite ordinary. I thought the price was expensive for what it was and have had much better value at other Jury's

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Campbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire L, General Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay in Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I am glad to see that you found our reception team helpful and friendly. I apologies for the issues you had during your stay, we check our rooms daily and the broken TV should have been spotted and fixed before someone checks in. I also apologies that you had long waits for our lifts, we don't normally have issues with our lifts so again I will investigate why there was an issue when you stayed.
If you could contact me on the details below with your booking details I can carry out these investigations.
Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards
Claire Livingston
General Manager

Jurys Inn
43 Jeffrey Street, Edinburgh EH1 1DH
DD: 0131 200 3301 Fax: 0131 200 0400

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,558 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,677 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#84 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing