We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, knowledgeable staff in a clean, comfortable hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
“Friendly, knowledgeable staff in a clean, comfortable hotel.”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Came to Edinburgh for an evening as my partner had an interview at the university the following day. Staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended some sights for the afternoon as well as helping us locate the university on the map. Hotel was very clean and the breakfast had a lot of choice and was of an excellent quality. Conveniently located next to train station if taking rail.

Only complaint is from my rather sore bottom with regards to the toilet paper quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Phillip L,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our breakfast offering of high quality. We understand the importance of providing a hearty breakfast to our guests.

I do apologise for your rather sore bottom - I shall pass your feedback onto our Accommodation Manager and she can look at softer options.

Phillip L, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    1,446
    882
    359
    186
See reviews for
899
1,316
179
509
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly welcome, clean & tidy, nice location. Breakfast was excellent. Just off the main drag of the Royal Mail within walking distance of castle, princes street, nice array of cafe and shops. Car parking is restricted on a first come first serve. So could be costly if you have to park on the street or local car parks.

Room Tip: Again limited parking spaces at hotel, so is first come first serve. Excellent location near to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celtic2inter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear celtic2inter1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our team endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and are always delighted to read when this is reflected on our guests stay.

celtic2inter1, this was your first time to Jurys Inn Edinburgh and I do hope it is not your last. I hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
275 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband won a B&B stay at a Jurys Inn on Twitter and we picked this hotel to stay at. The location was really handy just off the Royal Mile. Not having parking is a bit of a problem in Edinburgh although there is limited pay parking on the street and the Omni parking not far away. Knowing Edinburgh we left the car on the outskirts and took the bus in.
We had to wait a few minutes to check in but although we were a bit early our room was ready. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. We had problems with the lift as you need to use your keycard and one of ours wouldn't work it although it worked the room lock fine. Our room was fine with lovely views of the city. The bathroom wasn't very big and the shower not very powerful but acceptable. We found the bedroom a bit noisy with outside noise from traffic and from Waverley Station but we did sleep OK. There is no free WIFI which is annoying. It was £5 for an hour or £10 for 24 hours.
We were pleased with our breakfast which had a huge selection of fruit, cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was nice. Everything was self service. The only criticism I had was the coffee machine which only seemed to have black coffee and I like a nice milky latte.
We found all the staff to be helpful and friendly. If you don't book B&B, breakfast was £10 per person while we were there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear sheils6,

Thank you for taking the time o share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh and a huge CONGRATULATIONS on winning our Twitter competition.

We understand the importance of providing a hearty breakfast to prepare our guests for a day of exploring Edinburgh and our Head Chef is always delighted when this is reflected on our guests stay. As you stated we do not have a car park at the Hotel, but we do offer 25% discount at the car park across the road at Waverly Station.

With regards to Wi-Fi, we at Jurys Inn are endeavouring to remove all our guests annoyances, Wi-Fi charges being one of them and so, by the end of March 2014 we shall offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel.

sheils6, I do hope that we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This hotel is in a perfect location for sightseeing in Edinburgh but you expect that the least the hotel could manage is to have your room cleaned for you when you get back after a long day of walking. The hotel is a bit dated anyways but you could get over that as long as the place was clean and provided good service.No towels were changed for us even though we put them on the floor like they advised us to if we wanted them to be changed. My friends pillow had a blood stain on it on arrival and that was also left on the florr but the "cleaning staff" just put it back on the bed again. We had to call reception and ask for clean towels. The room wasn't once hoovered, the blood stained pillow case kept making an appearance even when it was taken off the pillow an left again on the floor. From the first day there was seriously long personal hair on the floor of the bathroom and they were still there when we left. The morning we were checking out a maintenance man walked into the bedroom at 8.30am....he said he was told that we had checked out, check out was at 12pm! We put a do not disturb sign on the door after that but again at 9.30 the maintenance man walked into the room! We went for a walk before we checked out and all out cards wouldn't work for the elevator nor the room. The receptionist said that we had been checked out when we asked for access to our room. It was 11.30am! Very bad customer care and service. And as for the Costa Cafe downstairs, terrible! The people working in this hotel act as if they have never worked in a hotel before. No clue in customer service nor hospitality. The only person who deserves a bonus is Tomasz, I hope I have spelt the name right, he checked us in the night we arrived. He was very pleasant and helpful and any time we saw him he was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cailleachain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Cailleachain,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to enable us to continuously improve both our product and service. I can assure you that I will be investigating each and every point you raised in your feedback as I can promise you that this is not the norm for us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. I would extremely appreciate it if you could contact me directly and provide me with your room number so I can identify the correct team members.

Cailleachain, I would like to welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh as my guest to allow you to experience our Hotel as our guests have come to expect. I can assure you that our Hotel is known for its excellent customer service, which is so evident in all of other guests feedback and I am hugely disappointed that this was not reflected on your stay for which I am truly sorry.

I do hope to speak with you soon.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip to edinburgh.

Brilliant location less then 5 minutes walk from the Waverley bridge airport bus stop and very close to railway station.

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and check in was quick and efficient.

Our room was fairly large and very clean, had a kettle, tea and coffee (replenished daily) a hairdryer and a bath with overhead shower. Toiletries provided were basic but of good quality.

We ate and drunk in the bar and prices were reasonable and the food was very nice.

We had the breakfast buffet one day (as had paid for room only) and there was a great selection of hot and cold options and it set us up for the day.

The hotel felt safe and was relatively quiet (although we stayed during the week it might be noisier at weekends or in peak season. )

We got a very good price per night as booked as part of a package with our flights through BA.

Overall we were very pleased with the hotel and the location was perfect - close enough to walk to the majority of sights and near bus links for attractions further away (such as the zoo.)

Next time I go back to edinburgh I'd definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loulou123666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear loulou123666,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our team always endeavour to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and I was delighted to read that this was reflected on your stay.

Our Head Chef also prides himself on the quality of his food and understands the importance of a hearty breakfast to ensure that our guests are fully prepared for a day of exploring Edinburgh,

loulou123666, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh and should you find yourself needing accommodation please be sure to contact me directly and I would be happy to assist with any arrangements.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Excellent location from the City and Train Station, was a little dated inside though and room could of done with a complete makeover! room wasn't very clean or modern it really wasn't up the scratch from what i have experienced in other Jurys Inn's. Breakfast was good though

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank li8m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear li8m,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Firstly, it was great to read that our location was well suited for your needs. Our Head Chef also understands the importance of providing a hearty breakfast to prepare our guests for a day of exploring Edinburgh,

Jurys Inns Hotels is currently in the process of investing in its currently portfolio to ensure the high standards our guest have come to expect in a Jurys Inns is consistent throughout all our Hotels.

li8m, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This was my second time staying at the Edinburgh jurys inn, I got a great deal on expedia. It is in a very central location, it is literally only a 30 second walk from Waverley station I travelled into Edinburgh by bus but it was very easy to find our way to the hotel and took about 15-20 minutes to walk. Decor wise it is basic, the room and bathroom were clean and tidy but there are no decorative touches. Personally I am not bothered by this at all, I didn't come to Edinburgh to spend all day in a hotel! The bed may be a bit too firm for some, but I like a firm mattress so it suited me fine.

I arrived at the hotel at about 2:30pm, check-in was very easy and straightforward and the receptionist was very friendly and even asked if we wanted a room that faced the front and had views of Calton hill but also the station so was a bit noisy, or a quieter room at the back but with no view. I went for a front facing room which had a lovely view, I wouldn't say it was too noisy, I wasn't able to sleep with the window open but it was ok to have them open while watching tv.

I only have one complaint about my stay, on the second and last night the radiators were very noisy, it sounded like the water was going into the pipes. I need total silence in order to fall asleep and the noise from the radiator did stop me from falling asleep. I didn't notice any noise on the first night though, so hopefully it was just a one off.

Overall if you don't care about staying in luxury hotels and just want a clean room in a central location of Edinburgh I don't think you can go wrong with staying here as it is in a great location!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittenMittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear KittenMittens,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experience of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our Accommodation Manager prides herself on the cleanliness of the rooms and always appreciates it when this is reflected on our guests stay. We have actually just completed this week a full maintenance check on all the radiators, which has now resolved the issues with water in an evening. Please do accept my apologies for this disturbing you as we understand the importance of a good night sleep, especially after a day of exploring Edinburgh.

KittenMittens, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 147 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing