We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, good breakfast but a little tired” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location, good breakfast but a little tired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights whilst on business in the area. Location is fantastic overlooking Waverley Central railway station and yards away from the royal mile with a great selection of bars and restaurants on the doorstep. Parking not ideal as expensive meters on road outside of hotel but no charge from 6pm to 8.30am. Alternatively, parking at Waverley station which is around £13 per night and a 10 minute walk back up to the hotel. Not ideal but you are in the centre of the Scottish capital after all.. Room was a little tired but had a great view across to the famous Balmoral Hotel on princes street.... Breakfast was buffet style with a good choice of fruits, bread and/or quality cooked breakfast... For the price and location this was good value...

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you found the location of our Hotel well suited for your needs. Our Head Chef understands the importance of a hearty breakfast to prepare our guests for the day ahead.

Mark S, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    1,401
    855
    342
    179
See reviews for
862
1,275
173
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

If you re looking for a reasonaly priced hotel, you will be hard pushed to find one that is better than this one. I stayed in one of their standard rooms, - I have stayed in more expensive hotels, and they don't come anywhere near the standard offered at this one. I have already recommended this hotel to 3 of my friends, and would say to anyone, Yes read all the bumpf on their site, but don't forget to book your room/rooms. You will not be disappointed. I'm already looking to book again later inthe year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GVL901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear GVL901,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

The team always endeavour to go above and beyond for our guests to ensure they do receive the absolute best service possible. I was also delighted to read that you have already recommended our Hotel to 3 of your friends, which is just amazing. You mentioned in your review that you were looking to book again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly to assist with any of your arrangements.

GVL901, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Have now stayed here several times on business , room are basic but comfortable , I am never disappointed , breakfast is basic but the location is good for a walk up the golden mile , don't expect a glamour hotel , but you get a standard room

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepcargreeks55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Dear Deepcargreeks55,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I am glad that you have decided on a number of occasions to choose our Hotel when you are visiting Edinburgh and that we consistently deliver to your expectations.

Deepcargreeks55, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed here recently with a few friends. Great location for train. Only problems were beds were quite hard and the noise levels from outside were bad. Out room faced station and was so loud. You could here traffic . People talking and even the noise in station. And dont use irons as they are useless. On other hand meals were lovely. Staff were lovely. Hotel is clean and well presented

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jiclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear jiclare,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I am delighted to read that you found our team lovely, they always endeavour to provide a friendly and welcoming service and always appreciate it when this is reflected on our guests stay. We have just completed checks this week on all our windows and this should now prevent any external noise disturbing our guests.

jiclare, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy Genral Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Came to Edinburgh for an evening as my partner had an interview at the university the following day. Staff were very friendly and helpful and recommended some sights for the afternoon as well as helping us locate the university on the map. Hotel was very clean and the breakfast had a lot of choice and was of an excellent quality. Conveniently located next to train station if taking rail.

Only complaint is from my rather sore bottom with regards to the toilet paper quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Phillip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear Phillip L,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our breakfast offering of high quality. We understand the importance of providing a hearty breakfast to our guests.

I do apologise for your rather sore bottom - I shall pass your feedback onto our Accommodation Manager and she can look at softer options.

Phillip L, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly welcome, clean & tidy, nice location. Breakfast was excellent. Just off the main drag of the Royal Mail within walking distance of castle, princes street, nice array of cafe and shops. Car parking is restricted on a first come first serve. So could be costly if you have to park on the street or local car parks.

Room Tip: Again limited parking spaces at hotel, so is first come first serve. Excellent location near to all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celtic2inter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear celtic2inter1,

Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words regarding your stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

Our team endeavour to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable while staying with us and are always delighted to read when this is reflected on our guests stay.

celtic2inter1, this was your first time to Jurys Inn Edinburgh and I do hope it is not your last. I hope we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

My husband won a B&B stay at a Jurys Inn on Twitter and we picked this hotel to stay at. The location was really handy just off the Royal Mile. Not having parking is a bit of a problem in Edinburgh although there is limited pay parking on the street and the Omni parking not far away. Knowing Edinburgh we left the car on the outskirts and took the bus in.
We had to wait a few minutes to check in but although we were a bit early our room was ready. The receptionist was friendly and efficient. We had problems with the lift as you need to use your keycard and one of ours wouldn't work it although it worked the room lock fine. Our room was fine with lovely views of the city. The bathroom wasn't very big and the shower not very powerful but acceptable. We found the bedroom a bit noisy with outside noise from traffic and from Waverley Station but we did sleep OK. There is no free WIFI which is annoying. It was £5 for an hour or £10 for 24 hours.
We were pleased with our breakfast which had a huge selection of fruit, cereals etc and the cooked breakfast was nice. Everything was self service. The only criticism I had was the coffee machine which only seemed to have black coffee and I like a nice milky latte.
We found all the staff to be helpful and friendly. If you don't book B&B, breakfast was £10 per person while we were there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sheils6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Dear sheils6,

Thank you for taking the time o share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh and a huge CONGRATULATIONS on winning our Twitter competition.

We understand the importance of providing a hearty breakfast to prepare our guests for a day of exploring Edinburgh and our Head Chef is always delighted when this is reflected on our guests stay. As you stated we do not have a car park at the Hotel, but we do offer 25% discount at the car park across the road at Waverly Station.

With regards to Wi-Fi, we at Jurys Inn are endeavouring to remove all our guests annoyances, Wi-Fi charges being one of them and so, by the end of March 2014 we shall offer complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the Hotel.

sheils6, I do hope that we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager


Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#101 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, HotelsClick, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing