We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #116 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tired and old”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I expected more from this hotel. Its clean and acceptable, but in desperate need of update. To give a benchmark for comparison the Premier Inn was way more modern. However it is in a good location, close to lots of ameneties and the beautiful city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jplw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Jplw,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. Jurys Inns are currently in the process of investing in all their current portfolio and Edinburgh is excited for when this reaches us at the end of the year.

Jplw, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    876
    1,433
    866
    348
    183
See reviews for
881
1,296
179
499
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (593)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
168 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here first time. The location is great in walking distance to all atractions.
But unfortunately you can hear all noise from the main road. As well the next room is Cleary heard - every sneeze of my naibor room. Doors are loud
Staff are ok not over friendly.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helmut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Helmut A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service.

Helmut A, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Probably one of the noisiest hotels i have staid in.

Pub revellers shouting in the streets till about 3am and then bin men dragging industrial size wheelie bins to and from the hotel from 5.30am.

Beggars and Homeless people in almost every doorway on the road leading up to the hotel.

My room was facing the back lane and stunk of sewers. I actually had a bed head off it in the morning.

Only good thing i can say about this hotel is the location and the breakfast.

I would not recommend this hotel and i will not be staying again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the back lane otherwise you will have an old stone building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank my_reviews_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear my_reviews_uk,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. I can assure you that I shall be looking into the points raised to ensure this does not happen again in the future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

On the plus side, Location is great for old town and convenient for Waverley train station and staff were polite and helpful. My biggest problem was that we were unable to sleep because of the oppressive heat in our room as there is no air conditioning units in any of the rooms. This might be ok in winter but definitely a must for summer in the south facing rooms which act like a greenhouse. Despite being given a portable fan which just blew the hot air around, I even ended up opening our bedroom door for an hour in the middle of the night as the corridor was cooler... Not very private! The rooms were also a bit tired and in need of refurb.

Room Tip: Get a room facing north in the summer!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Donny C,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. Unfortunately, being an old building we do not have the pleasure of A/C, however, this is something we are looking into when we receive our refurbishment later this year.

Donny C, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Well trained staff helped in anything I needed. This made up for the shabby look of the hotel. The rooms need a good dusting. Sheets were clean. Bed too small for a double but great as a single. Larger blackout curtains are needed. My room had a view but was noisy. (Staff warned me). Bathroom - broken shower head. Good hairdryer. Good location close to train station and national museum.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz-ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Liz-ellie,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. I

Liz-ellie, I do hope to hear from you in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Had an overnight stay in this hotel in June 2014. Facilities poor and I felt it was very over priced. Very noisy room, was awoken early hours of Sunday morning with workers emptying bins and pushing laundry carts around outside. Other wise was clean enough and breakfast acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank emclernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear emclernon,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. I can assure you I shall be investigating the points raised to ensure this does not occur again in the future.

emclernon, I do hope to hear from you in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed in Jury's for 9 nights in June. The location was good in terms of proximity to the Royal Mile. The location was bad in that there is noise all night. There is no air conditioning in the rooms, so on hot nights you have to choose - a suffocating room or noise from the bars and early morning commercial deliveries. The food was really, really good. We had dinner at the hotel one night and it was truly exceptional - seriously almost gourmet. Breakfast was good, but exactly the same every single day - beware if you purchase the breakfast plan and want variety. As far as cleanliness - I have no idea what standards other reviewers have for cleanliness, but our room was seriously not cleaned the entire time we were there. They made the beds and gave us towels, but it did not seem that anything else was done the entire time. By the end of our 9 nights it was seriously disgusting in there. Hair all over the bathroom, empty soap dispensers that were not refilled, dust on all the surfaces, used water glasses that were never taken and replaced, dirty carpet. I don't know if we got a bum housekeeper, but I am seriously disappointed in the entire experience because of the lack of cleaning. We spent a lot of money staying there and I feel we deserved better than that. I think shorter stays may be less obvious - the room is clean when you get there and if you are just there a night or two you wouldn't think much about it. I always clean the room before we leave - everything is picked up, surfaces are organized and straightened, etc. There is no excuse for them not cleaning because I made it easy, as I always try to do. On a more positive note, the public areas were very clean.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear gina k,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. I would greatly appreciate it if you could email me with more detail to allow me to investigate this further to ensure this does not occur again in the future.

gina k, I do hope to hear from you in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#104 of 150 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Property: Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing