We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Close to the Shops!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Ranked #115 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel with a friend - we just fancied a few days in Edinburgh after Christmas. The bed was very comfortable, although the shower was very weak. It was very close to the shops and only down the road from the Old Town. A good hotel to use if you just need a shower and a bed.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the top floors - absolutely fine as you can't hear anything, but a bit scary...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Charlotte G,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was pleased to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located for all your needs whilst in Edinburgh.

Charlotte G, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,979)
There are newer reviews for Jurys Inn Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 3,980 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

This property is in the middle of everything. Near restaurants, shops, Edinburgh Castle, Holyrood Palace, the Royal Mile, the train station, etc. It is quite possibly the noisiest place I have ever stayed.

The property has no air conditioning, which means that when it gets warm (like it was the week we were there) the windows have to be open or the room is unbearably hot. With the windows open, and the train station across the street and a bus stop in front of the hotel, there is an unbelievable amount of noise outside the hotel. The hotel does have fans they will loan you if it gets hot, and it drowns out some of the noise - but not all of it.

The bar/restaurant area is nice. Our bartender was great and we had a very nice afternoon hanging out in the bar before dinner. Breakfast was also served in the restaurant area, and it was very good.

The rooms are larger than average hotels in this area. They are, however, very outdated and worn. Bedspreads, curtains, furniture, etc., all seem very worn and old - and even if they are clean they don't look it anymore. The bathroom was okay. Full tub with a shower curtain. But again, old and in need of an update. It looks dirty even though it isn't. And the shower is just confusing!

It wouldn't be my first choice if I was staying in Edinburgh again. It was sufficient but that was about it.

Room Tip: Stay in a room that doesn't overlook the street, and is on a higher floor.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StChasPartyOf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear StChasPartyOf4,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I was delighted to read that you found our Hotel conveniently located for your needs whilst in Edinburgh. Our team are always endeavour to provide a warm and friendly welcome and I am pleased this was reflected on your stay. Jurys Inns are the midst of investing in all the current portfolio and Edinburgh is excited for when this reaches us towards the end of the year.

StChasPartyOf4, if you do find yourself returning to Edinburgh then please do contact me and I would be happy to assist with any arrangements.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I stayed at this hotel on a works trip. The location was fantastic, right in the centre of things.

Unfortunately the room had seen better days. It was very dated, 80's style bathroom. Just a shower, not bath.

No climate control, as a result my room was boiling and it kept me awake.

Several tv channels didn't work.

There was no complimentary water in room, had to buy for £1 a bottle at reception.

On the plus side my room was quiet, it was very roomy and the staff were friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank couchguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear couchguru,

Thank you for taking the time to share you experiences of your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

I am please that the location of the Hotel was convenient and the team were there usual friendly and welcoming selves. Jurys Inns are in the process of investing in all the current portfolio and Edinburgh is excited for when this reaches us towards the end of the year.

couchguru, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@jurysinns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Hotel is just a lane way from High St/The Royal Mile, Old Town, Edinburgh, half way between The Castle and Holyrood Palace. It is also only a short walk from Waverly Station and the bridge across to the New Town. The room is adequate, with a small bathroom, no bath and very small cubicle for shower. There is no safe. The beds are very comfortable, but only a double bed. The meals were good, as part of a tour. There are plenty of cafés and eateries close by with a Chinese eat all you can around the corner near Waverly Station. A reasonable price but just so-so in the eating. The Redemptorist Catholic Church is just a 5 min walk up the alley way at the back of the hotel, over High St and down the opposite alley way. 5pm Vigil Mass and Sunday morning Masses.

Room Tip: Back ones overlooking alley way could be quieter that the ones overlooking the Street.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Maureen W,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service.

Maureen W, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Always a pleasure to stay here, smiling friendly staff make you welcome. The hotel and rooms are clean but tired, but don't let that put you off, it's close to Waverley Station, and 10 mins from The Royal Mile & Princes Street.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DickyCCrewe_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear DickyCCrewe_Cheshire,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. I was delighted also to read that this was not your first stay, which is just wonderful.

DickyCCrewe_Cheshire, I do hope to hear from you in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I expected more from this hotel. Its clean and acceptable, but in desperate need of update. To give a benchmark for comparison the Premier Inn was way more modern. However it is in a good location, close to lots of ameneties and the beautiful city.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jplw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Jplw,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh.

We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service. Jurys Inns are currently in the process of investing in all their current portfolio and Edinburgh is excited for when this reaches us at the end of the year.

Jplw, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here first time. The location is great in walking distance to all atractions.
But unfortunately you can hear all noise from the main road. As well the next room is Cleary heard - every sneeze of my naibor room. Doors are loud
Staff are ok not over friendly.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Helmut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeputyGM_JurysInn, Manager at Jurys Inn Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Helmut A,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Jurys Inn Edinburgh. We appreciate all feedback to allow us to continuously improve both our product and service.

Helmut A, I do hope we can welcome you back to Jurys Inn Edinburgh in the near future.

With Kind Regards

Richard Pearson
Deputy General Manager

Richard_Pearson@juryisnns.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,657 reviews
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Edinburgh

Address: 43 Jeffrey St., Edinburgh EH1 1DH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £65 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Edinburgh is located in the heart of Edinburgh's beautiful Old Town next to the famous Royal Mile and a 2 minute walk from Waverly Train Station. Prince's Street and Edinburgh Castle are a pleasant 10-15 minute walk away. Whether visiting for sight-seeing, shopping or business at the International Conference Centre, choosing Jurys Inn Edinburgh guarantees all your destinations are within easy reach. The hotel features an all day Costa Coffee bar and a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. Enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10:00am for breakfast and 6:00pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If arriving by car, public car parking is available nearby at Waverley Station car park. The hotel has 186 comfortable bedrooms that can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All bedrooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, a hair dryer, flat screen TV with Freeview and Free WiFi. Guests who book directly with us can enjoy Free Premium WiFi, our best price guarantee and can earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme Jurys Rewards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jurys Inn Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Jurys Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Jurys Hotel
Jurys Inn Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing