We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here for four nights from 28/12/13 to 1/1/14. The hotel was in an excellent location just off the royal mile, less than a 10minute walk from Waverly station and surrounded by a number of cafes and restaurants, and also close to Princes Street which was great for our Hogmanay stay. Staff were friendly and helpful.

The double room was spacious and had secondary glazing, plenty of plug sockets to charge cameras + phones and the bed was comfortable, if slightly firm. Curtains blocked out light well but slid off the rail easily.

The shower was a slight issue; the floor of it was so shallow that the whole bathroom floor ended up soaking more than once. Once past the reception area, the hotel was very warm, a little too warm for me but I don't like my room too hot. Walls seemed pretty soundproof but noise in corridor travelled into the room easily.

The staff allowed us to leave our bags at the front desk after we checked out at no extra charge, which was a great advantage as our train was not due to leave for another two hours.

Would definitely stay here again as the location is excellent and hotel is comfortable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,543 - 1,549 of 1,719 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed at this travelodge before on quite a few occasions and although it is in a great central location, we found it was getting very run down and started staying elsewhere. When I needed two rooms recently for a family visit, I was delighted to discover it had been refurbished so decided to give it another try.
Both rooms were very nicely decorated with new comfortable beds and chairs and super secondary glazing which gave us a lovely peaceful nights stay.
The weather in Edinburgh was terrible the weekend we stayed and our rooms were really warm and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
We didn't use the bar/restaurant area at all but it was very popular and busy both evening and morning.
I would happily use this travelodge again in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScfamilyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel is ideally situated for exploring edinburgh,everything is within walking distance.lots of good hotels and pubs about.hotel its self is clean and modern and everything you need with helpful staff

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stacego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed in the Travelodge for a 4 day break after xmas, would recommend a stay here, the staff were very efficient and friendly, the breakfast was excellent value for money. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable. Could not fault anything during our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here between the 27.12.13 and the 30.12.13. Staff were friendly and helpful, particularly with the option to leave bags at the hotel before official check in and after check out - and at no extra charge. Great location, just off the Royal Mile, and within walking distance of all the main sites and attractions, with many good restaurants also in the close vicinity. Rooms were clean, warm, and nicely furnished - simple, but all you need! Perfect for a stay in Edinburgh, saving money, yet getting everything you need!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at Travelodge central from 22/12/13 to 24/12/13, room was spacious and comfy, Staff on reception pleasant and booking in process was over in seconds. Bar area was well laid out meals were ok and good value for money,
Breakfast was also good although items on the hot plate were limited,
Hotel was at the end of the Royal mile so was in a good spot to walk to all areas on interest. would definately recommend this Travelodge to others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank collyboyFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We booked in advance and got a room for £72 which seemed expensive for a Travelodge but reasonable for Edinburgh.

Then it was an extra £15 to park for 24 hours.

Then if we wanted to check in before 3pm, an extra £10

Then if you want wi-fi, an extra £10 for 24 hours.

Breakfast is not included in all tariffs either , so all in all the hotel is not as cheap as it first may appear at £97 per night.

The room was small with a fixed head shower with shallow tray as opposed to a shower over a bath. The bed was very comfy tho.

The location is pretty good with bars and restaurants on the doorstep.

The knock on effect of the 'check in is 3pm' policy was a half hour wait in a queue to get to the reception desk. The early check in charge is a money making racket, nothing less.

For a hotel of this size, many rooms would be cleaned and prepared before 3pm,so why not simply allow people in them ? Oh yeah, why should we if we can squeeze an extra tenner out of people.

Stay here by all means but check before you book on exactly what you are getting for your money.

Better deals are probably available.

Room Tip: Car park is small. You may not be able to park if you arrive at a busy time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuroTraveller43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Care at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Thank you for your review PatrickStephen. We are sorry to learn you are unhappy with our early check in service, our check in time is 3pm across all of our hotels however we will ensure that a number of rooms are ready from 12 noon for our customers who may wish to check in early. There is a £10.00 charge for this service and it is subject to availability. It is regrettable to learn however that there was a delay in check in; we do hope our guests have a speedy check in service and that our staff provide a warm and friendly welcome to all our guests. Our car park for this hotel is provided by a 3rd party company called APCOA and we will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the parking charges. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing