We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A VERY GOOD PLACE TO STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #80 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 January 2014

this Travelodge is a very good place to stay its in the heart of the city ideal for the st. James centre @ the playhouse only a few mins away. the car park is not free but it is for blue badge holders.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank raymorGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,623)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Edinburgh Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,439 - 1,445 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

One of the bigger travelodges I have stayed in. Great location with a great Indians across the road, it's worth a visit. I noticed travelodge were updating its beds and pillows in a number of its hotels and this must have been one of them as both my partner and I said its one of the best beds we have stayed in. Would have no hesitation coming back here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beechboy_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

when we arrived, the receptionist was very helpful, polite and happy and also gave advice on where we could go for drinks.
the bar wasnt anything special but as expected from a travelodge was clean, relaxed and reasonably priced.
the room was clean, well kept and came with a small flat screen tv and a sign for the door which was optional incase you didnt want to be disturbed.
with around a 10 minute walk from the city center it wasnt the best location but there were plenty of bars and restaurants near the hotel as this was just off the royal mile.
nothing was too much trouble for the staff and towels were changed daily.
with regards to just being a travelodge this hotel delivered higher standards than the name would suggest.
I would reccommend this hotel again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dat94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

its travel lodge so you know what to expect

very clean and comfortable for £35 a night in central edinburgh.

location could not have been better. this was in the older part of the city just off the Royal Mile so was surrounded by history and cobbled streets. fabulous

Room Tip: the lift does not go all the way to the top so rooms on the 5th floor are located up a flight of sta...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roamingjode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Had a great stay here between Christmas and new year,check in was quick and easy.Room was warm ,clean and was well decorated,bathroom was of a decent size and the bed was large and comfortable.Room was on the road at the front of hotel but the double glazing meant that there was no noise to disturb our sleep.Breakfast was spot-on, all you can eat buffet service with plenty of choice of hot and cold food.As we were not travelling home till 8 pm on the evening we asked at reception if it was possible to leave our bag till later,absolutely no problem,just pick it up when you are ready.This saved me £9 ,the cost of leaving an item at the left luggage place on the station, and let us walk about unhindered for the rest of the day.Many thanks will certainly use again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exsedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Just returned from a great stay in the Travelodge Central in Edinburgh. We had booked to see The Lion King on Friday night and decided to stay here. The staff at reception were very helpful when the electronic check-in machine failed. The staff were very friendly and informative. Our Room was lovely and warm when we arrived which was very welcoming. The room was very clean and tidy with a big comfy bed. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room also.We found this hotel a great base for our Edinburgh stay as its less than a minutes walk to the Royal Mile and less than a ten minute stroll to the Parliament, Hollyrood Palace or Edinburgh Castle. Princess St, Waverley Station,St James Shopping Center, the bus station and the Playhouse and Omni Center are all within very easy walking distance too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have used this hotel a number of times as its location just off the Royal Mile, is excellent for a short trip to Edinburgh. Book a little in advance room prices can be very cheap.

The place had looked a bit run down the last visit I made but pleased to report the place has been given a little face lift and back to its best.

Self check in at this hotel is very easy using the terminals in reception area, desk check in tends to be a little slow here.

Room noise, generally speaking I have found the cheapest room rates on offer here, see you placed in rooms near street level which can be very noisey, more expensive rooms tend to be higher up the building and less noisy, not an extract science though.

Over all this is a good place to stay for a few days in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omega65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £51 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing