We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Value”
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Really enjoyed my stay and was impressed by the room in comparison to how cheap it was. Room was clean and tidy - if a bit basic, but for the price that's not an issue.

My only two quibbles were the TV, it didn't have Freeview but some strange Travelodge decided pick of a handful of them, and my grand total of two tea bags. I rationed myself to one cup at night and one in the morning!

I confess to being a little jealous of when I saw a friend's room at another location compared to mine (a choice of teabags, Sky TV and Free Wifi!) and for less than I had paid - albeit at 2 sharing rather than a single room.

Very enjoyable stay and would come again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GammaMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    584
    245
    54
    42
See reviews for
434
583
86
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Our stay at this hotel was just about right for us. This was as much because we stayed there on the very cheap rate as anything else. However, that said, it made the hotel great value. The location was handy being just off Canongate which is a continuation of the Royal Mile. The rooms were comfortable and tidy with tea and coffee provided. The staff were pleasant and helpful. One minor complaint I had was a lack of means to mop up the shower water overflowing onto the bathroom floor. As the rooms were cleaned every day, it meant, unfortunately, the ladies who cleaned the rooms had to sort it out. I'm only guessing but I think they provided a spare towel in the end for this purpose. What more can I say except that I enjoyed my stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillK1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in jan 2014. This Travelodge is in a great location, offers excellent value for money, rooms basic but clean, beds comfy and most importantly it was quiet at night (unlike the travelodge just off princes st) - what more is there to say?!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank westcoaster11_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Travelodges are such fantastic value for money. This one is no exception. Great location, friendly approachable staff and all for roughly £50 a night inc a delicious breakfast You can't ask for more than that so we give it excellent for everything

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank shonaf186487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

I paid £25/day (prepaid non-refundable) hostel rate for a nice hotel room. 60m walk to Royal Mile. Friendly staff, quiet, modern and clean. Comfortable bed. On one night I slept 10hrs

I don't think they have twin rooms. Only double room or family rooms. I do believe their double bed is big enough to sleep 2 adults of average sizes.

Please do remember that this is a budget hotel. The room only had a heater. No air-conditioning. The air can get stuffy on a rainy night. There was only 1 tiny soap provided. You need your own hair wash and toothpaste. No free internet. No fridge, safe deposit box or iron.

Breakfast costs about £6/day and includes hot items (bacon, egg, sausage, baked beans and tomato), cereal, bread, jam, coffee and juice.

I'm a solo traveller. I saw they said under 16 y o can stay free with paying adults. Kids can eat breakfast free with paying adults.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank committedmacysfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
We are pleased to learn you found our staff to be friendly and our rooms to be clean committedmacysfan. We are however sorry to learn you were unhappy that the room did not provide you with the additional items you would have expected on this occasion. We do not offer things like irons and deposit boxes as a brand standard; however irons may be borrowed from reception on a first come first serve basis. We also do not provide toiletries, however we will have a vending machine at reception which will contain toiletries should you have forgotten any items. This is so we can continue to offer our competitive rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Stayed here for an overnight stay whilst meeting a friend. Situated just off the royal mile on a quiet little street filled with restaurants, boutiques shops and artisan shortbread shop.
Great welcome upon arrival and a speedy check in. We were issued a room at the end of the 2nd floor, which was lovely and quiet and a large corner room.
The new bed had a delightful mattress which was at least 13 inches deep and gorgeous fluffy pillows. There was also two additional beds in the room which had mattresses of a similar quality.
We didn't go down for breakfast as had a lazy morning but travelodge breakfasts tend to be the same wherever you stay.
All in all a great travelodge and I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank minxtress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blessington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel in Jan. My husband, me and our 5 yr old boy.Lovely spacious family room, clean bathroom, ultra comfy bed. The amenities are what you would expect from a budget hotel but the size of the room and the fantastic location more than made up for lack of 'smellies' in bathroom. Lots of fluffy towels, kettle, tv with lots of channels, fab bed, loads of room, friendly, helpful staff. in short can't praise highly enough. If Travelodge maintain these standards for these prices they'll take over the world!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneNolan101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing