We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Excellent location and great value for money.
Nice friendly staff.
Good breakfast
We've stayed here before and the hotel continues to give great value for money
The position is just off the Royal Mile so everything that's happening on the Main Street is very close by
The staff were very helpful and nothing was any trouble.
There was a hen party and a stag party staying here but they weren't an issue

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank gchc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 1,654 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014

I chose this hotel as it is very good if you need to be in the city apart from that not good at all. No breakfast choice and the service of staff was wasn't the best. I wouldn't choose a travelodge again



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We would expect our staff to be provide a great service so it is regrettable to learn you found this was not the case Danielle W. We can also confirm that this particular hotel does have a Bar Café therefore we do provide a buffet service for a cooked breakfast, toast, cereal, orange and grapefruit segments, yoghurt and hot drinks. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised , please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Travel Lodge offers a clean and tidy hotel with a courteous and efficient staff. It has a central location, good for the old town, Scottish Parliament and university. All this for a very competitive price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at the Travel Lodge Edinburgh Central on a recent trip to Edinburgh. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverley Station so perfect location for anyone travelling by train.
The room is basic but comfortable and very clean. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast is available at the hotel however suggest you get early as it proves popular with most guests. We ate in the Restaurant on one occasion and found the food to be of decent quality and reasonable price.
Would stay here again if he visited Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent location just out of city centre. Nice & quiet but within 5 mins walk of Waverley station.Excellent staff & pre-paid breakfast excellent value. Free wi-fi in lounge area almost non-existent but didn't use wi-fi in rooms which you have to pay for! Would recommend to anyone wanting great value

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank checkoutthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We went here as a family booking three rooms which were clean and comfortable with new beds in all of our rooms we had problems with the toilet flush which was resolved but our room had an odour of drains in the toilet.
Our daughters rooms were both OK and the odour was not too much of a problem as we kept the door shut as much as possible.
The location is excellent being ver handy for the city and the High St.and being within a five minute walk from Waverly station is really good there is also an excellent Indian restaurant directly opposite the hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The breakfast was better than we have had at some much more expensive hotels.
We go to Edinburgh regularly and had not noticed this travelodge on previous visits but now we are aware of it we will visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OJB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is a perfect place to stay for a weekend in Edinburgh. The rooms are basic but very clean just like any hotel room. The staff are so friendly and helpful. The two guys on reception Martin and Sam were so helpful when we couldn't find a restuarant on Saturday night. Anything you needed they were very helpful. The hotel is near the royal mile and also close to the pubs, 3 sisters, espionage, ect. The hotel isn't noisy. It has a bar an all. I would get breakfast up the street and there is lovely cafes about.. Its perfect for a weekend stay with friends in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishchic06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £49 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing