We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy family room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed for 2 nights Feb 2014 in family room 138. Weather was cold outside but room was lovely & warm & very spacious. It was at the front of the hotel next to the road but we could hardly hear any noise from the busy street due to the secondary set of windows they'd put in. There was a new 'Dreamer' double bed & 2 single beds all with plenty of thick pillows. This is a great improvement on this time last year, when we stayed in room 134 and had to ask for extra pillows and make the bed/settee up ourselves for the 2 kids to sleep on!
We paid in advance online for 'all you can eat' breakfasts for 2 days, 2 adults £26.60 (kids eat free). Really good value & good variety so no-one was left hungry and we didn't really need anything else till teatime. The cafe/bar area has more tables & chairs & less comfy sofas than it did last year. I would've preferred more comfy seating when you're just having a drink in the evening, but I suppose they need the tables set up for people having meals.
If you come by train, a taxi from Waverley station to the hotel costs around £3. It's not very far but is uphill & as it was raining we treated ourselves. When we were leaving it was a 10 minute walk downhill to the station which wasn't so bad! We've stayed here a few times & always enjoyed it & is in a great location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank cazza770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,531 - 1,537 of 1,754 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

Better than any standard Travelodge we've stayed at this was in a really good location less than 5 minutes walk to the Royal Mile and all it's attractions. Clean rooms, a little noise from outside, but only what you would expect from a City Centre Location at the weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights here, all rooms refurbished, very comfortable and spotless. Fantastic location, pubs and restaurants nearby, train station 5 minutes walk. Literally round the corner from the royal mile. Very close to Holyrood Palace.

Room Tip: All are sound proofed that look onto the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Teresa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Excellent location and great value for money.
Nice friendly staff.
Good breakfast
We've stayed here before and the hotel continues to give great value for money
The position is just off the Royal Mile so everything that's happening on the Main Street is very close by
The staff were very helpful and nothing was any trouble.
There was a hen party and a stag party staying here but they weren't an issue

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank gchc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

I chose this hotel as it is very good if you need to be in the city apart from that not good at all. No breakfast choice and the service of staff was wasn't the best. I wouldn't choose a travelodge again



  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
2  Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We would expect our staff to be provide a great service so it is regrettable to learn you found this was not the case Danielle W. We can also confirm that this particular hotel does have a Bar Café therefore we do provide a buffet service for a cooked breakfast, toast, cereal, orange and grapefruit segments, yoghurt and hot drinks. We would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised , please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

The Travel Lodge offers a clean and tidy hotel with a courteous and efficient staff. It has a central location, good for the old town, Scottish Parliament and university. All this for a very competitive price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at the Travel Lodge Edinburgh Central on a recent trip to Edinburgh. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverley Station so perfect location for anyone travelling by train.
The room is basic but comfortable and very clean. Staff helpful and friendly. Breakfast is available at the hotel however suggest you get early as it proves popular with most guests. We ate in the Restaurant on one occasion and found the food to be of decent quality and reasonable price.
Would stay here again if he visited Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £34 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing