We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Done Travelodge - What a turn around!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
TinnersRabbit
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well Done Travelodge - What a turn around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

A very pleasant surprise! After quite a few very bad experiences of Travelodge over the last 2 years I have been boycotting the chain, preferring to pay more for a decent night’s sleep in a comfortable bed and clean room. We booked into the Edinburgh central Travelodge with very low expectations purely because of it’s location and reasonable prices. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a completely refurbished hotel with new and comfortable beds (a first for Travelodge) and very helpful reception staff.
The reception staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful and a credit to the company. They are prepared to store baggage on check in and check out and this make a massive difference to your stay in a city centre hotel if you are travelling by public transport. I gather this is an unofficial arrangement and is not usually Travelodge policy.
Thank you Edinburgh Central Travelodge, you have restored my faith in a chain that was on a serious downhill slide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinnersRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    585
    546
    231
    48
    37
See reviews for
409
550
80
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Level Contributor
197 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Without doubt the best Travel lodge I have stayed in. Great location, lovely room, very clean, quiet, great staff cannot do enough for you. Breakfast decent apart from the Tasteless travel lodge bacon, shame that all the smokers congregate outside the main entrance. still and amazing travel lodge.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We visited Edinburgh to have a meal at The Kitchin, only 10 mins in a black cab and under £10 each way.

The standard of the Travelodge has improved greatly, the rooms look much better and more comfortable than i have experienced in the past. I travel a lot with work but this was a short trip to visit a great city and great restaurant. I can honestly say i was impressed with what the travelodge had to offer.

The location of the hotel is good for getting around the city and only a short distance to the Royal Mile, Princess Street and other attractions.

There was limited parking on site but managed to get a space and for 24hrs it costs £15 but the machine wasn't working so we went to reception, they took our details and told us we didn't have to pay with another couple who were also unable to pay for parking. Bit of a bonus.

The bar in the hotel while small is fit for purpose and the costs were reasonable. There was a good size room with tables to eat if you wanted to.

Overall great location but most of all the price was exceptionally cheap and i booked using my Defence Discount Service via the website which gave me an extra £10 off. Great to see a company like this offers this discount for servicing or ex forces personnel.

Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank ManchesterGaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

stayed last week in feb with our children the staff were very friendly and helpful the room was very very clean they supplied soap and tea coffee sugar and milk and it was nice to have mugs not cups the staff would go out of their way to help especially a young girl called Alesha but all the staff were professional and cheeful the food was very good so was the service the hotel is in an excellent location for the castle and shops we would highly recommend this hotel we will definatley book to go here again

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 12jackie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
483 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed here just before the New year, the weather on arrival was horrific, torrential rain and gale force winds, the journey up had been considerably longer due to speed restrictions, upon arrival at the hotel we approached reception like drowned rats and were politely informed that we couldn't check in before 3 but if we paid extra we could, not at all impressed with this approach, the guy on reception was helpful enough in allowing us to leave our bags until we had passed 3pm and would incur no additional charge. Upon check in we had to pay, believing we'd already paid (be careful with booking.com, it's a reservation site). Discussed wifi, which it states is available from the comfort of your room but only if you pay £10 per 24 hours for it, don't bother just jump onto wi-fi in the local pubs if you need to. We checked into room 204 which appeared decent enough, was at the rear overlooking the car park (no rooms have views, car park is expensive, book in advance and travel by train if its an option, can't recall if it was £15 or £18 per day) dropped our stuff then went out for food/drinks, in the cold light of day the following morning the room wasn't all it appeared to be, there was loads dust around the door stop, the bath was disgusting and embedded with brown stains, didn't even want to stand in it to shower, was filthy. Around the sink there was brown stains that appeared to have splattered the wall (possibly coca cola), was over the mirror and on the plinth to the top, to add insult to injury we couldn't even wash our hands after using the bathroom as they failed to provide even the basics i.e soap, there was no coffee sachets in the cups and plastic cups appeared on Sat that weren't there previously, there was even a nice piece of chewed gum left under the tv, was there Fri, Sat and Sun and even a mouldy hula hoop on the floor, the standards of cleanliness are really poor and need urgent attention with some close supervision. I know it's not the Hilton or the Radisson but I really do expect standards higher than this. Upon check out, I had a rather heated debate with the assistant manager (Polish guy) who insisted we'd not even stayed there despite me showing him the wrap around that our room keys were in, on the plus side, this hotel is well located for the Grassmarket and the various drinking and eating establishment, its a few minutes walk from Princes Street, the train station and the Castle, but the quality was really disappointing and I felt overpriced for what we got, you'd be better off in a hostel, won't be returning any time soon, a disgrace to the chain, avoid unless your have low standards and no expectations!

Room Tip: Check its been cleaned first!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SharonJT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are truly sorry to learn of your recent disappointment SharonJT67. Our rooms are expected to be clean and fresh so it is regrettable to learn of the lapse in service on this occasion. We can confirm that as a brand standard we do not provide toiletries, we do however provide a vending machine at reception where our guests can purchase any items. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very satisfied. Stayed a couple of nights to go to Musselburgh races. Excellent location. In good order. Soundproofing excellent. Couldn't hear any traffic. Bed comfy. Room clean and well maintained. Staff helpful and courteous. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jacrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Slightly nervous about hotel, given references to noise levels on tripadvisor and the travelodge website. However booked in early (was expecting to just leave cases) - put into large family room which was very comfortable and quiet. The stay completely surpassed my expectations.Would recommend and use again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#45 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing