We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #81 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Absolutely loved the location of this hotel. With it being just off the Royal Mile it was perfect for my boyfriend and myself as everything we planned to do was on on the Royal Mile. The hotel is also extremely reasonably priced for it's location. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to spend a lot of time on the Royal Mile. I will most definitely be going back and staying again.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazM87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    604
    575
    241
    53
    42
See reviews for
427
575
84
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This hotel is on St Mary's St, just off the Royal Mile (for some reason the map on Trip Advisor is currently showing the wrong position.) This makes it very convenient for all the sights of the Old Town and for Waverley station. I was a little worried that noise from hen and stag parties might be a problem. We were woken briefly in the early hours by a thoughtless female guest out in the corridor, but the noise was shortlived and apart from this the hotel was actually very peaceful (our room, no. 17, overlooked the car park at the back of the hotel. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable though the pillows were a little too firm for my liking. The buffet breakfast was adequate. For an inexpensive stay in the heart of Edinburgh I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaisy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

A lovely new hotel with friendly staff incredibly handy for the Old Town. Out the front door, turn right and two doors up is a Bagpipe makers, complete with man making the pipes on a lathe in the window. The next street is the Royal Mile, so turn left and work your way up the cobbled streets to the Castle, going past all the little shops and looking in the narrow closes and alleyways as you go. All the Old Town sights are there, and it's handy for the Vaults tours and The Real Mary King's Close. We would definitely stay here in Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My Mother and I stayed for 3 nights this week. Considering the proximity to the Royal Mile, you cannot beat the rate. We found the hotel to be very clean and all staff friendly and helpful. Each day the room was restocked with clean towels and coffee and tea. The hotel now offers 30 minutes of free Wi-Fi per day and if more is needed, almost every pub you enter offers free Wi-Fi. Lots of restaurants and stores nearby. Only complaint is that when I booked, the website stated you could reserve parking for two days but this was not the case. I see now they have corrected their web site. Luckily, we had no problem with parking at the hotel. Lots of spaces. Can be a bit noisy from the traffic but we had no problems sleeping. All in all, a great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

There are quite a number of Travelodge hotels in Edinburgh so I am pointing out (where) this one is situated, and it is very central right at the bottom of the Royal Mile and a short walk from the station (Waverly).
As it is this Central it is quite noisy, if you prefer a quieter location see my review of Travelodge Queen street Edinburgh.
This one does have a restaurant and bar facilities, we would use this hotel again if Queen st was not available .

Room Tip: I slept ok but my wife was disturbed with traffic noise, would suggest requesting a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stay in Travelodge's quite frequently and Edinbugh Central was outstanding compared to the others we've stayed in this year.
The bed linen was spotlessly clean and the family room was more spacious than in previous TL's.
The only criticism is the kettle wasn't really big enough for a family of 4 and there wasn't any spare sockets to charge phones, but putting this aside we had everything we needed.
The location is ideal for all attractions, is only a few seconds from the Royal Mile.
Next time we will stay longer as the weekend was too short.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here last month for 3 nights with my wife. Simple, clean, no frills, but fantastic value for a weekend away, and in a great location right on the Royal Mile and a 5 min walk from Waverley train station. Plenty of bars and places to eat nearby. We did not eat in the hotel so cannot comment.
Being out all day, it was nice to come back to the room to relax and I had no problem nodding off and getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing