We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a great stay at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and surprisingly quiet.
All the staff were lovely, helpful, polite and very cheerful. Our stay was excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Jane0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,790)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,486 - 1,492 of 1,790 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

They have refurbished the rooms so much better than previous stay. You need to keep windows closed at night as traffic , drunks and sirens will keep you awake. The breakfast room is too small and can be chaotic and after all that the breakfast is awful, tasteless bacon, sausages that taste like cardboard , orange juice that is like water, scrambled egg that must be made from reconstituted egg, utterly tasteless. I can vote this breakfast as global winner. of The Worst Breakfast Award!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VES11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed here 1 night due to the location of the event we were at that took place in the Grassmarket.

Got a room at the back of the hotel which was very quite and an exceptionally large room with basic en-suite which was more than adequate plus the shower was excellent.

The staff at check in and out were very pleasant and helpful, did not have any meals in hotel so cannot comment on them.

Overall a great night stay

Merc

Room Tip: try and get room at rear as front of hotel faces onto a cobbled road and tyre noise is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merc43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had booked in Travelodge at Musselburgh for 2 nights, We had spent most of the day exploring Edinburgh in poor weather, we reached the hotel, hungry, wet, tired and a very irritable 3 year old with the younger couple. Upon reaching the hotel, we were informed the place was full and one of our rooms had been wrecked by a previous guest. The manager and reception kept the 3 yr old entertained whilst finding us alternative accommodation which they did at Travel lodge Edinburgh central. For our troubles we were given free car parking which normally costs £15 per day, and free buffet breakfasts for us all.

Now if the musselburgh travel lodge staff were good, the staff at Central matched them to perfection. Rooms were great as per usual, but we were staying over the bank holiday weekend so hotel was packed, but staff especially Tom who single handedly with the receptionist ran around at super speed to seat people and get tables ready for ppl to be seated. They moved at a blur with one man down they never lost they cool and kept all guests happy where most ppl would have lost they minds these two raised their game.

Travel lodge from Edinburgh to Carlisle to Southampton have some pretty amazing customer focused staff who really do go that extra mile to keep the customer happy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mistrymania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed as a couple for two nights in the last week of May .Its central location is excellent only a couple of minutes’ walk from Waverly station and only five to thirty minutes’ walk from most attractions rooms are typical travel lodge fair clean and functional breakfast was good and service reception staff very helpful .There can be an issue with road noise but the secondary double glazing all but eliminates this .Room tip ask for one that overlooks the car park and around the third to fourth floor .Top tip DON’T’T DRIVE TO OR AROUND EDINBURGH the cost of parking is obscene and traffic is gridlocked book advanced tickets and use the train bus fares seem ok saw advertised £3.50 all day ticket all in all we had a good time also when coming home we were allowed to leave our luggage behind reception after check out . Another tip gets the free street map from the post office across the road as the slot machine kiosks charge £ 2 for the same thing

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timeoffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We had a great stay here, the staff are really friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. The hotel is situated in a perfect location close to all amenities. The room was really clean and spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendyh71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights recently, not having stayed at this particular one, was a bit apprehensive. However it has been recently refurbish so the decor was pretty good. No hairdryer in the room as is sometimes the case, however we easily got one from reception.the room was spacious. As for location, just off the royal mile so ideal. Obviously some traffic noise, but overall good.

Overall a pleaseant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pugsley467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £43 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, Stayforlong S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing