We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just spent 3 nights here. I think you get what you pay for in a Travelodge but at least you know what it will be like. We booked 6 months in advance and paid £55 a night.
The location is perfect for the Royal Mile, Princes Street etc. and we found we could walk to anywhere. We had to pay for parking £15 per day but it was in the car-park behind the hotel so it felt quite safe.
Fortunately, we were at the back of the hotel and with the windows open there was only noise first thing, however, you expect noise in a city.
One of the highlights of our trip (surprisingly) was the free tour of the Scottish parliament. It lasted an hour and was really interesting and gave a good view of the inside of this iconic building, however go early as later on there were coaches and crowds.
We also went to The Georgian House in Charlotte Square, New Town, which gave a good overview of what it was like for the Lamont family to live there around 1820.
Edinburgh is a fantastic place to visit for a few days and we will definitely come back sometime.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denise l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    533
    222
    45
    32
See reviews for
393
536
78
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a recent trip to Edinburgh and got booked with the Travelodge. We initially were apprehensive as it is placed a bit far from the city centre. But, the stay was an enjoyable one, especially to our teenage daughters who loved the place. The breakfast spread was sumptuous and the reception people were courteous and helped us with our travels and sight seeing within the city. All in all a great experience to be cherished..

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SatishSvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Exterior, Harsh looking, looks like an old office block. Reception seems stark and is not welcoming. Staff were efficient but not particularly friendly (not rude as such) or interested. Room was far too hot. No aircon in the room Open the windows and you're met with a cacophony of street noise. I know the hotel stipulates that there is some noise but I feel that decent double/triple glazing would help here. Of course, close the windows and the room heats up. Can't win! For £80 a night I'd expect something other than something a couple of notches up from a hostel. Yes I know, town centre location etc etc but I expected slightly better value for monety

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Leodhasach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review Leodhasach. We are very sorry to learn that your room and your stay did not meet with your expectations. During warmer weather, we understand that some rooms may become warmer. Whilst not all our hotels have air conditioning, we do offer fans from reception on a first come first serve basis to help our guests out. Unfortunately, due to the hotel’s central location, it is not always possible to fully reduce the noise you might experience from outside the hotel, however we try to reduce the level of noise by providing double glazing and insulated walls. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution. In order for us to do this please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this very last minute as our original plan fell through!
We checked in just before mid night on a Friday night & had no problems doing so. The staff were very friendly & helpful.
We paid more than what we would have liked to for this room but needed somewhere to sleep.
The room was very basic but very clean, comfortable & quiet!
The bed was super comfy.
I would liked to have seen the wifi being free, everywhere you go now has free wifi. Here it is free for 30 minutes then you have to pay!
There were only 2 tea bags by the kettle, I really like my tea so even just 4 would be better!
No hair dryer or toiletries in the room
The room was roasting at night, there was no air con and even with the windows wide open it was uncomfortably hot!
Breakfast is too expensive at almost £8 each, fine if you haven't paid much for the room!!

Overall this hotel is in a great location right in the city centre. It's clean, comfortable & the staff are friendly but don't believe the super cheap prices you see on the tv unless you are booking ages in advance and for during the week.

Room Tip: We were at the back of the building on the 3rd floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Was very good for one night stay and we were pleased with cleanliness and decor of the room. Was a shame that it was more expensive than the last time we stayed here, although the rooms have been refurbished since then.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Could not find the hotel in the first place bad location, the room itself was bad I had to plug the TV back in the wall even when I done that I only had 20 channels which some did not work even though it was a Freeview TV, all four pillows were very uncomfortable, the door handle to the bathroom was loose and nearly came off, also the shower tub was too small so the water would flood onto the floor. Overall bad stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge Edinburgh Central, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback Joshua B, it is regrettable to learn you had a poor experience. We do expect all of our facilities to be in good working order. We can also confirm that we have recently put in brand new pillows in every room so we are sorry to learn you found the pillows provided were uncomfortable. We would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Arrived in edinbrugh at 12pm were allowed to leave out luggage with staff until our room was ready at 3pm. All staff were friendly and keen to help if you required help. Our room was clean and tidy and what we needed just to get our heads down. Did use the hotels iron which appeared to be leaking and used their hairdryer as i forgot mine which was fine.The location of this place is fantastic about a 5minute walk from the trainstation. Good value for money on a saver rate. Doors close from 11pm but you can use your card to get back in. Alcohol served till around 2am. Had breakfast one morning and it was around £7ish and was ok , eggs undercooked and scrambled. rest was fine. for what we paid id be a cheap scate to winge about this hotel but i actually couldnt fault the hotel or its staff and im a hard critic.

Room Tip: 5th floor was extremely quiet, i did email the hotel asking if we could have a room away from large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazykellygreer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing