We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night only” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One night only”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Reasonable and cheap accommodation in a great location - 5 minute walk to Waverley train station and 30-second walk to the Royal Mile.
Everything clean but basic as you'd expect.
Bed fine, pillows quite hard. The biggest drawback is the noise outside - even from a 5th floor room. No air conditioning means you have to open windows when it's warm and this means several noisy interruptions through the night.
Fine for a cheap one night (I paid £59) but any longer, consider paying a little more.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank D_i_W-8_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    533
    222
    45
    34
See reviews for
395
538
78
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

My wife and I always go for a short break in 2nd week in June every year to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary. We both love Edinburgh so though we would check out Tripadvisor, having submitted several reviews I thought I would see what is recommended. This budget hotel seemed to tick all the boxes, just off the Royal Mile all tourist attractions close at hand and loads of restaurants to choose from. I have to say it was a great choice and well recommended. However you must remember, this is a budget hotel so there's bells and whistles, but what you get is a room with comfortable bed, toilet and shower and I have to say one of the best best breakfasts i've ever had (bar orange juice which was a bit watery). Staff were very friendly and only too willing to help (more than can be said for some up market hotels). And to crown it all off , reduced parking fees in the near-by John Street multi-storey car park - 2 days for £20.00. All-in all a great place for a visit to the center of Edinburgh, Will we go back?? Most Certainly. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

Allan and Jane Forrest

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan_Forrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I visit Edinburgh a couple of times a year and usually stay in a 'nice' hotel, as I don't do 'cheap'. I was invited to a girls weekend and the hotel of choice was this Travelodge, mainly for the cost and location. I must confess I was not really looking forward to the weekend, not knowing what to expect. It was therefore a pleasant surprise to find a good budget place to stay in the city. The rooms were basic, no nice toiletries, but who cares I was in Edinburgh, in June, the sun was shining and I managed to get a great nights sleep due the the double glazed windows. All in all it was so successful that I've booked to return to this hotel at the end of this month. I wouldn't normally visit Edinburgh in the summer because of the high rates, but the Travelodge has made this possible. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doodle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Like all Travelodge hotels in UK, this hotel takes the cake for its location and price. The location is just superb..half a block away from Royal Mile on St. Mary's Street its one of the better places to explore Edinburgh. Name the places in Edinburgh be it Waverley Station, Canongate, Scottish Parliament, St. Giles Cathedral, Calton Hill Memorials or the Bus Stops..everything is within a walking mile radius from the hotel.
The check in was smooth, staff was very good, allocated room had nice views of the cathedral next door, room was very neat and clean and warm with nice bathroom with amenities.
Like all Travelodge hotels its budget hotel which gives you free wifi only for 30 minutes and no free breakfast but still at 60£ a day in a costly high season Edinburgh its worth every penny.
Edinburgh has enough places to keep you out entire day (and night if you want to :-)) so investing on a pricy hotels is not recommended.
The only thing that you dont have easy access to is Tram from this hotel, nearest Tram stop is St. Andrew's Square or Princess Street which are 15 mins walk from hotel but for rest of the attractions the location is just superb.
All in all a very nice experience of Travelodge hotels (again) and would advise others to stay at this particular property.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have view of the Roman Cathedral..can be spooky at night especially in a city like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddhesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothesay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Central location ideal for our visit . Easy check in by friendly receptionist , rooms clean and tidy
Hotel generally clean and tidy due to hard working domestic staff thank you . Rooms cleaned daily and tea/coffee/milk replenished . Breakfast was fine ,adequate choice again thanks to the staff who helped us with our requests always willing and with a smile .
Overall great stay again at this travelodge and will definitely be back again thank you .
ps easy to get about using public transport if you can't face the walk up from Princes street

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel for our 2 night stay, 2 hours early for check in. We were told that they could keep our bags aside for us, or we could pay £10 early check in fee. We decided to pay the fee as both needed to freshen up before heading out. We straight away noticed the heat in the room... It was so stuffy! We opened both windows as wide as possible, but it was warm outside so this didn't really help. We asked reception for a fan.. Which they gave us no problem. We ended up having to ask for a second fab as the temperature was sweltering, we were given one, but was told that it will only blow the hot air around even more....! Felt this was slightly rude. I then realised there was no hair dryer in the room..... I googled the hotel and read that you need to again ask reception for this if you want one.......! A bit odd, but again I got one no problem.
The hotel is in a great location, not far at all from waverly train station, princess straight, and just a few steps onto the Royal Mile. Would defiantly stay in this hotel again, but a little air con wouldn't go a miss.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clzkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grinnell, Iowa
Level Contributor
139 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great 3 night stay at the Travelodge Central in Edinburgh. Located just a half a block from the Royal Mile, and 3-4 blocks from the Waverly Train Station, (and if you are visiting Edinburgh before or after London, the train is a great way to go!), it is truly centrally located. Comfortable rooms, great staff, very good breakfast which you can include in your room rate for a reasonable amount. No room safes, but you can secure valuables at the front desk. Our only complaint was the room doors are a little noisy, (and we were there during the World Cup so their were some late nights for other guests!), but otherwise the rooms were fairly quiet, though we were not on the street side, which might have helped.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing