We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location, fantastic staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #81 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location, fantastic staff!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Can't really fault this place. It's a Travellodge so you know pretty much what to expect in the room when booking but this place still impressed.

Locatio is great - pretty much on the Royal Mile and super close to the station.

Parking was easy. The room was a good size. The bed was comfy and the sheets beautifully crisp and clean.

We were staying during one of the hottest weeks of the year and the room was pretty hot but staff on reception happily gave us a fan.

In fact it's the staff which really make this place excellent. Happy to help at any time of day. They sorted out a request to change a double to a twin in seconds. The rooms were cleaned brilliantly every day. They looked after us brilliantly!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kentishdorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    597
    253
    60
    44
See reviews for
456
597
87
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here over a weekend in a family room. Firstly, the location is perfect, its 50 yards from the Royal mile and about 5 minutes walk from Waverley station. We received a call from the hotel in the morning confirming our booking, they asked if we needed to leave our bags before the 3pm check in time. Having read somewhere that Travelodge don't offer this, this was a pleasant surprise as we were going to pay to leave our bag at Waverley station.
Check in was quick and easy despite it being very busy. Staff were friendly and polite, as they were throughout or stay.

Our room was on the first floor, it was modern and ample size with 4 beds, usual amenities (TV, Kettle, Tea, Coffee etc). The main thing though was that the room was spotlessly clean. The room was very warm, windows opened but the street outside was noisy. Realistically though, I don't expect to get air conditioning in a Travelodge and if you want a central location, you need to expect that if you open the window there is going to be some noise. The hotel appeared to be full of Hen parties on the Saturday night. We weren't affected by this and there was certainly no issue with noise from inside the hotel.

My only gripe would be the quality of the breakfast. In its defence though there was plenty of choice, with cereals, pastries, fruit and cooked breakfast on offer. The cooked breakfast was poor though, I wish I had kept my money and ate elsewhere.

I don't want the breakfast to affect my overall rating of this hotel. The location is fantastic and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Ultimately though, for what I paid for this hotel, which was pretty much half the price of most other hotels where I could find availability, it was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justjonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just returned from this hotel. Great location, rooms spotless and good value for money. Close to the Royal Mile. Would definitely go back. Breakfast was also good and staff were very friendly. Drink reasonable price. We had no problems at all.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just back from an overnight stay with family, 4 adults, 2 children. Reception staff were pleasant and we were able to leave our cases before check in time. Rooms were adequate, clean and bed was comfortable, although would have benefited from air conditioning. Due to the heat we left windows open through the night, which did help with the heat, but we had to endure the noise from late night revellers. Everything went downhill at the buffet breakfast....it was busy and there appeared only to be one member of staff dedicated to keeping the tables cleared, reception staff were helping when they could. They run out of plates and when my husband asked for one he was told "they didn't have any at the moment".......the orange juice was watery, scrambled eggs looked anaemic and were tasteless, as were bacon and beans, but these were not a patch on the "pink lint" that they tried to pass off as square slice sausage, not only did it look cheap, it was only cooked on one side.(they did remove this from hot plate, but brought no replacement). This certainly put a damper on an otherwise pleasant stay. We would stay there again, but would certainly NOT eat there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandysj4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night excellent location. Staff helpful. Room clean ,comfortable bed tea & coffee. Breakfast was fine plenty of choice. For a 2 star very good. Love Edinburgh loads to do plenty of pubs coffee shops restaurant's and attractions.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This is another great Travelodge hotel strategically located just off the famous Royal Mile. It is just a few minutes walk to reach the Waverly Station and the Waverly Bridge for the bus to get to the airport.

Front desk staff were really friendly, cheerful and helpful. We were given a room on the second floor facing the road but noise was not really a problem. We also borrowed a hair dryer and a table fan when we checked in.

Room is spacious and clean. Bed firm and comfortable with two pillows per person given. Electric kettle with tea and coffee facility provided. Bathroom and toilet very clean with shampoo and body gel combo provided. TV with English channels and wifi free for 30 minutes.

What we really like is the convenient location of this hotel where we could get to the Royal Mile within minutes with all the shops, cafes and restaurants and attractions. This hotel is indeed value for money. Will stay here again if we ever come back to visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJX05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland Islands, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Greeted by really friendly helpful staff and the room was great for coming back after a long day out sight seeing . I have stayed in Travelodge before and will again. Great value for money thank you very much

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 207Heather_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Rose Street
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Marys Street, Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing