We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic...but is air-con a luxury too far??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic...but is air-con a luxury too far??”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

I booked here well in advance, so to pay only £64 for a family of 4, including all you can eat breakfast, on a Bank Holiday, during The Fringe still seemed a real bargain. The hotel is dead easy to find, only 10 minutes walk from Waverley Station (that's even with a suitcase and 2 kids in tow) and with an easy to spot 20ft Travelodge sign down the front.

It looks as if the hotel has had a recent spruce up, as the building looks far from new, but the interior was all new and clean. We were met by a friendly face at the reception, although the young man there explained we were too early for our 3pm check-in, we were more than welcome to leave our bags to go explore then return later when our room was ready. The same applied at checkout, we left at 10am, our train wasn't til 6pm but another lovely receptionist happily offered to look after our luggage.

Our room was decent sized, a king-size bed for the 2 big ones, and 2 proper sized temporary singles for our 2 children. I have stayed in other Travelodges, and their temporary beds have been rubbish, so Edinburgh Central gets plus points.

Usual budget hotel facilities are provided, and all very spotlessly clean.....also tea, coffee etc, and a kettle that actually fits under the tap to fill it!! Our room was on the 1st floor, and overlooked the very busy St. Mary's Street. The windows are a double skin arrangement, and I was pleasantly surprised when on closing both, ALL the traffic noise was gone. The downside to this however....no air-con in the room. So one can only imagine in warmer weather how frustratingly hot your room would become, or how noisy your night's sleep is going to get.

All you can eat breakfast buffet, usual hot drinks and juice offerings, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, and a small, but very tasty hot selection, really couldn't be faulted one bit.

This hotel's location is perfect, 2 minutes from the Royal Mile, 10 minutes from Princes Street shops and all main bus routes, and a Tesco Express and Sainsbury's Local around the corner for packed lunches.

Edinburgh Central Travelodge is perfect for a stop over, and the company should be proud of their staff too.....but a review star has to be lost due to no-air con in the rooms

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    584
    544
    230
    48
    36
See reviews for
408
548
79
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good central location. Tidy room. Staff helpful. Just too dear for what it was.

The cars rattling over the cobbles outside didn't help either.

Tip - Book flexible then cancel and re-book a week before your stay as the price could have dropped by £40

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BellowingFoghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel is perfect for the Royal Mile and all the tourist attractions that go with it. The hotel has now had an overdue refurb and the rooms are much improved. Very popular with stag and hen parties....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very central hotel, ideal for attending shows at the Edinburgh Festival - close to the Royal Mile and The Pleasance Courtyard.
Make sure you ask for a room 'not at the front' as even with the windows closed it is VERY noisy!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Carol_Manchester2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Having stated here in 2012 and found it to be quite a decent hotel, we decided to return for 4 days. The 'overhaul' of the hotel hasn't worked in its favour, sadly.

We had possibly the smallest room we have ever stayed in, the shower was so absurdly small that even as a petite lady,I struggled to have a comfortable shower that didn't flood the floor of the bathroom. It's all very cramped.

The maid service was absurd, for two days dirty mugs were left in our room until we had quite a collection taking over the desk. The hospitality tray was a tiny little plastic pot. We had to go and ask for clean towels as we had to use them to mop the flooded floor. Cleaning runs until 5:30pm so don't expect to be able to come back to the hotel to get ready for an evening out and have anything replenished or cleaned.

One member of reception staff was lovely and helpful, the rest we encountered were somewhat useless.

All in all, for the price we paid, we could've stayed at a far better hotel had we known just how far downhill this one has gone.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bekah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yokohama
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed overnight on a Friday in their Family Room to make an early connection on Saturday. The central location is perfect for the Royal Mile and Waverley Station. As it was festival time we were surprised to be able to book, and at 160 pounds for B&B for four the price was average (there is no such thing as 'good' in Rip-off Britain).

Check in was easy, the room was spacious and quiet, and we all got a good night's sleep. I was on one of the cot beds, which was adequate for one night but I would not like to entrust my back to it for longer. The shower worked well. Finding out that breakfast started at 8 AM was a bit of a blow, but softened by the fact that the offered us a continental breakfast from 7.15 AM. On this matter the staff were very helpful, and generally pleasant on the 1 or 2 occasions we had to deal with them.

For a one night stopover this hotel did the trick and I would stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tpdv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

In St Mary's Street just between Holyrood and the Royal mile, the location can't be faulted. The rooms are pretty basic but have tea making facilities and comfortable beds. The shower is fine although with a fixed head rather than a hand held spray. All in all not bad value normally, although (understandably) pricy during the festival.

The one gripe is the internet. Rubbish for anything other than email. Happy to pay for a decent service, and even happy to pay more that the £3 daily charge if a reasonable connection was on offer, although good broadband should be a standard in all decent hotels by now.

There will come a time when all hotels understand that the internet availability and speed is almost as essential as the provision of hot water, but for the budget range this will obviously take a few more years. In the meantime, hotel selections will be made in part at least on how reliable and quick the connection is.

The room wasn't cleaned for the three days we were there, but that wasn't the hotel's fault. And the sink in room 207 was blocked when we arrived though this was fixed within two hours of us reporting it.

I liked the hotel, but won't be back until high speed broadband is available.

Room Tip: Free but hopelessly slow wifi for 30 minutes, or £3 for 24 hours. Useless for anything other than e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinjcallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
280 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,407 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Edinburgh Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Edinburgh Central

Property: Travelodge Edinburgh Central
Address: 33 St. Mary's St., Edinburgh EH1 1TA, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Edinburgh Central 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Edinburgh Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Hotel Edinburgh
Travel Lodge Edinburgh
Edinburgh Travelodge
Edinburgh Travel Lodge
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing