We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended. Central location, fresh funky rooms and friendly staff!”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #47 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Highly recommended. Central location, fresh funky rooms and friendly staff!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed one night in an XXL room, booked at the last minute for £60 and were really impressed! The hotel staff were great. Maria particularly was energetic, friendly, informative and happily answered any questions we had.

Our room was situated at the back of the hotel on the second floor and we were delighted with the fresh modern and funky design of the interior. Our room was clean, spacious and there were some really nice touches such as a walk-in shower, ipod dock, List magazine, and a selection of refreshments; fresh bean coffee, assortment of tea’s and Tunnocks tea cakes.

For a sightseeing weekend in Edinburgh the hotel’s location, in the Cowgate area of the city, was excellent- very accessible to all the tourist spots and less than a 5 minute walk to the Royal Mile. A really cool place to stay.

Room Tip: The XXL room had two double beds and bunkbeds which each had their own wall mounted TVs - a great ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Fiona,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review about your recent stay with us here at STAY Central Hotel :-)

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms, quirky room amenities and our fantastic staff - I will personally pass on your kind words to Maria, she will really appreciate them!

We hope to welcome you back again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    459
    115
    59
    30
See reviews for
292
572
85
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here, beds were comfy and there were lots of nice complimentary touches like Tunnock's teacakes, toiletries and decent coffee. The decor of the hotel was fresh and modern and the staff were friendly and helpful, even booking a cab for us at reception. Only downsides were lack of phone signal and WiFi in our room (105) and the fact that the hotel caters for a younger crowd (I am an ancient 35 year old) so got woken up several times on the first night by the room above partying until 4am (but can't blame the hotel for that). Hotel is also in an excellent location...a short trot to the Royal Mile and all the sights. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spoony14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Spoony,

Thanks for the great review!

I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed the newly refurbished rooms and the amenities we offer, as well as our fantastic location right in the heart of Edinburgh :-)

We hope to welcome you back again in the future; please get in touch for the best rate if you are returning to Edinburgh.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Fantastic service and staff. Ally and Maria exceptional with assistance and local knowledge. Hotel in the perfect spot in the city, making all destinations easily accessible. The rooms were very clean, cleaned regularly and the staff could help out with anything you needed or wanted. Rooms furnished and decorated in modern and classy fashion!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi Nick,

Wow, what a great review!! Thank you for taking the time to share it with others.

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, our great location and of course our fantastic staff - Maria and Ally will both be touched to be mentioned by name and it's great that you found them so helpful.

Please let us know next time you are returning to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with the best returner rate :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is just perfect, I can't say enough good things about it! The location is within 5 minutes walking to the Royal Mile which is full of shops and restaurants. The room itself is remodeled and is young and fresh; the hotel definitely caters towards the younger generation, which we loved! I have to say, the shower is probably the best shower I've ever had in a hotel - it's a rainfall shower that won't disappoint. They really did a great job on the little details and made it very comfortable. The staff was fantastic - everyone was very helpful and kind. Right next door, actually attached is the Three Sisters Pub which is a good place for drinks and a good atmosphere if you aren't looking to venture too far from the hotel. Also, that's where breakfast is in the morning and for €5 per people per day you get a great full scottish breakfast there, definitely worth it! Overall, my husband and I enjoyed our stay and can't wait to visit again!

Oh yeah, one last thing, make sure to put your name up on the world map they have in their front lobby - what a cool idea!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVEME702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Hi NVEME,

What a great review – it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our new hotel :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again – please get in touch if you are returning to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with the best returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Stay Central hotel has been amazing. amazing location right in the middle of everything, one block back from Edinburgh castle and the royal mile. Reception staff have been amazing, thanks heaps to Ally for all your help with the Tv, and room and general directions about the place, most appreciated. Best breakie served by Matty, amazingly large portions and friendly manner. Thanks guys for making it a great stay. Also massive Tv and built in iPod speakers to the bedroom and bathroom where awesome :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jono F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Jono F,

What a great review – it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our new hotel :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again – please get in touch if you are returning to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with the best returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I have stayed twice and also recommended my staff and friends the hotel, first stay on the third floor. However on our second stay (a 6 night stay in December) we were situated on the first floor, room 103 or 105 from memory.

We asked to be put in a room with good phone reception, and this claimed to be the best in the hotel (I couldn't even get one bar of signal without opening the window and leaning out.)

In addition the room was very noisy, there are several wooden doors between the lifts, rooms and a function suite which is used for events with DJ's/music every week. Every time a door was opened, it slammed loudly, this could be heard in the room clearly. In addition footsteps and noise from the rooms above went straight through the ceilings and wooden floors.

The rooms are decorated beautifully and the staff are very helpful and friendly, plus the location and price are fantastic. Just try and avoid a room on the first floor and be prepared to take a walk outside if you need to use your phone. There are no phones in the rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor, ensure you are happy without phone signal as most rooms seem to stru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniellay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Good afternoon Daniellay,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our new STAY central hotel. It’s great to hear you thought our new rooms were beautifully decorated & you found our staff helpful, I’ll be sure to pass these comments along to the team.

I can only apologies about the mobile phone reception during your stay, some networks seem to be stronger than other within the rooms and we are looking in to this, thanks for the update along with your feedback regarding the doors.

Come visit us again soon, let us know direct and we will be happy to assist.

Best wishes, Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

we have had a wonderful 4 nights in Stay Central hotel. It is really central in old town, we liked the room, especially the compl nespresso coffee. very friendly and helpfull staff. just 1 reminder, in weekends ask for a quiet room due to the Three Sisters nearby. We had booked a quiet room, and did not have any issues at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Frank,

What a great review – it’s fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our new hotel :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again – please get in touch if you are returning to Edinburgh and we will sort you out with the best returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#49 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,139 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
941 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing