We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Fantastic hotel with great facilities and friendly staff. The hotel was well equipped and in a prime central location with a youthful feel. The room we stayed in was clean, relaxing and equipped with all mod cons (Tv, ipod dock, hairdryer etc.) The bathroom was excellent with one of the best showers I have seen in a hotel. It was the little things in this hotel such as the toiletries, room technology and drinks facilities that made our stay enjoyable and comfortable. We both agreed that we'd recommend this hotel to friends and wouldn't hesitate to return!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_S1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Morning m_summs,

Wow… what a review! Thanks for taking the time to leave such feedback, it’s a pleasure to hear how you appreciated our new STAY central hotel. Next time you’re coming to Edinburgh please let us know directly, we would love to have you stay with us again.

Rachel Duff – Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    789
    435
    106
    54
    26
See reviews for
274
540
81
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Was blinded choice. I couldn't believe what I saw in there...it's worth more than we actually spent. The staff is great...especially Sarah is really cute, Maria was then very kind . the location made it easy to visit all the surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrinceDadey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi PrinceDadey,

Always great to hear you found our hotel ‘Fantabulous’! Next time you’re coming to Edinburgh please let us know directly, we would love to have you stay with us again. I’ll be sure to pass your comments on to the team.

Best wishes, Rachel Duff – Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly, central and very very stylish. Would recommend
to anyone looking for a high end hostel that's both affordable and centrally located. Great food in the pub next door too. Would love to stay again!



Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethSLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Hi ElizabethSLL,

Thanks you for taking the time to write this great review. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest & great to hear you would recommend our hotel. Come visit us again soon,

Rachel Duff – Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a night's stay when we went to see War Horse. Stayed in room 403. Room was lovely and clean, bed was lovely and comfy. If you want a quiet room just ask (which we did) It was no problem for them. Bathroom was amazing too. Will definitely use again. Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Breakfast at the 3 sisters next door was well worth the £5 we paid in advance with our booking. Thanks again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Yvonnel029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Yvonnel029,

It’s fantastic to read your expectations were totally surpassed with our new hotel and I will be sure to share this review with the team regarding there helpfulness. Our new private Dorm room really is something special and we are so glad you had a great stay.

Many thanks again. Come back and visit us soon…

Best wishes, Rachel Duff – Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

A friend and I stayed here for one night and we were thoroughly impressed with the location, decor and the entire experience. We loved our room, the staff were helpful and lovely, and it was very close to all major attractions. The beds were a bit small, but still comfortable and the shower was absolutely amazing! Decor in the room was very unique and quirky, made the stay a bit more cozy. Would reccommend to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MartaKKolodz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi MarKatRob,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us, your comments that you were thoroughly impressed with the location, decor and the entire experience could not mean more to us. I will be sure to share these kind words with the team at our next meeting. It was a pleasure having you both as our guest, come visit us again soon…

Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights mid January of this year, the rate was absolutely excellent and our expectations were totally surpassed. Stayed in 'The Dorm' which words really cannot do justice, would highly recommend for a few nights if you're looking to explore the city from a central location, but also experience the height of comfort at an incredibly reasonable price. The Dorm is brilliant for groups and the service provided by the staff is A1. The girls at reception were so friendly and totally helpful from check-in right through to booking our airport taxi. The little touches such as a hamper of toiletries waiting for us each evening outside the door just added a touch of class to what was already a super stay!!

Would highly recommend!!

Room Tip: From reading previous reviews if looking for a quiet room do request, however in The Dorm we couldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klandersss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Hi Klandersss,

Firstly, big thank you for taking the time to review our private Dorm. We really have tried to create something special with this one of a kind concept in our new hotel and the fact you commented that ‘no words really cannot do justice’ means a lot to us. Great to hear you had a super stay with us, your welcome back anytime.

Come visit us again soon, Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Myself and six others recently stayed in the Stay Central Hotel. We were extremely surprised upon arrival to our dorm as it was far better than expected (for the extremely reasonable price). We had a huge dorm which consisted of bunk beds (3 doubles, 3 singles), a ping pong table, play station, 7 flat screen televisions (one at the end of each bed), an espresso machine, and much more! We choose not to avail of the room cleaning service - however, each day a box was left outside our door with fresh towels, coffee refills, shampoos, etc (no shortage) ! The staff were very helpful and the location was extremely central. We will definitely be paying Stay Central another visit in the future - I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinC368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Good morning SinC368,

Thank you for this great review! Our private Dorm really is something special and it’s fantastic to hear about your stay with us and that you would highly recommend us. Come back and visit soon, let us know direct when you’re looking to visit Edinburgh again.

Best wishes, Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing