We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful surprise ....”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise ....”
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

What a gem !! Amazing stay. Room is superb, attention to detail, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast and great location. Could not complain about anything other than the bar was very quiet in the middle of the week.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank darrenennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Hi Darren,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a wonderful review about your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It's fantastic to hear you appreciated the attention to detail throughout the hotel, the staff and the breakfast offered in The 3 Sisters :-)

I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    441
    107
    56
    28
See reviews for
276
548
83
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Well done Stay - a real find. Quirky, contemporary hotel with friendly staff. Gave me a great recommendation for a local curry house, you've got to try Mother India! Sorry...I digress. Room exactly what I was after. Comfy bed, flat screen with sky, shower that drenches you all for a very reasonable late booking price. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: I have heard that the hotel can be noisy at times what with the great big pub downstairs. Ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRP2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi BRP2020,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of your stay with us here in Edinburgh - it's great to hear such positive feedback about our wee place!

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed the room facilities and, of course, Mother India - I am still craving a visit for the Machi Massala Fish after discussing it with you in Reception!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon; please get in touch direct for the best returner rate :-)

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just an overall really cool, friendly place. The staff went over and beyond for us especially one member of staff ALI who was at the reception desk there was nothing she wouldnt do for us! The rooms were fab with huge showers, beds as comfortable as marshmallows and cutsey little icons on all doors and walls. It's was only 15 minutes walk to the city,I would highly recommended this to anybody! Well done stay central :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bexsdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi bexsdee,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review about your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh!

It’s great to hear you enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms, breakfast and our fantastic staff – Ally will be touched that you have mentioned her personally :-)

Please let us know if you will be returning and we will sort you out with a fantastic returners rate.

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I stayed here with my boyf for a birthday weekend in Edinburgh. The hotel is fantastic - rooms are clean, spacious and the facilities (tea and coffee, ipod dock that plays in the shower, tv and bathroom is lush) are excellent. Right next door to the Three Sisters pub which essentially turns into a club in the night - we heard no noise at all from our room but I cant speak for all the rooms. We ordered a bucket of beer to have on arrival and had breakfast both days. The second day we had it delivered to our bedroom! Everyone is very lovely and welcoming and I would 100% stay here again. Location fab too! Cant wait to go here again with a group of girls to try out the massive rooms!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRhiannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi DrRhiannon,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of your stay with us; we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests!

It’s great to hear your trip to Edinburgh was such a success and I hope you had a fantastic Birthday Weekend with us :-)

Please get in touch if you are coming back with the girls and we will sort you out with a fantastic rate - you should check out our Private Dorm page for a really special trip with them!

Hope to see you soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Thoroughly impressed with the Central. Great location, really cool room with loads of amenities. Staff was very welcoming and friendly. My only concern(and I didn't experience it) would be noise coming from Three Sisters Pub located in the courtyard. I stayed on Monday night and all was quiet.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hi Midriv,

Thanks for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of your stay with us; we really appreciate all the feedback we receive from our guests!

It’s great to hear your trip to Edinburgh was such a success and I hope you will be back to see us again soon :-)

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Myself & my boyfriend stayed here on the 1st&2nd Feb for my Birthday weekend. Got to say it was one of the best hotels I've stayed in! The most friendly and helpful concierges I've come across! It had really funky decor and I was told it had recently been decorated, our room itself was hugeeee they had upgraded our room to a family room! Loved our stay! To be honest I was a bit anxious on approach as it's next to (and attached) to a pub but it honestly didn't affect us. Thankyou! Will be back when we're next in Edinburgh! :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sll-jrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Morning sll-jrm,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and your lovely comments regarding your top notch stay with us. We are very proud of our new STAY central hotel and your kind comments mean a lot to us. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and your welcome back anytime. Come visit us again soon! Have a great weekend,

Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The stay central hotel have a good quality of room and service. Even the staffs are friendly :) If i go to Edinburgh next time, i will choose the stay central hotel again~ The location is good also, because is nearby the main street and hotspot.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank karin000423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central E, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Hi karin000423,

Many thanks for the wonderful review! It’s a pleasure to hear you had a fantastic experience in our STAY central hotel. Your welcome back anytime and please let us know directly when you wish to return, we will make a point of looking after you. Have a great weekend & best wishes,

Rachel Duff – General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#46 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing