We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was excellent”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Friendly comfortable and clean what more could you ask for.
Hot chocolate on arrival is a great welcome
Loved the special touch with the Tunnocks tea cakes
The breakfast portions were huge and very delicious.
All staff were very helpfull.
Would highly recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigmy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hi Bigmy60,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh, we really appreciate it!

It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed the rooms, breakfast, staff and, of course, our arrival hot chocolate :-)

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
There are newer reviews for Stay Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,254 - 1,260 of 1,537 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked this place on the basis that it looked like really good value. Our impressions from the website were good, but the website and reviews that we read really don't do this place justice. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We requested an early check in. When we arrived, freezing cold, we were offered a hot chocolate, given a map and shown to our room. The rooms are fantastic, quirky little touches like the ipod with speakers in both the bedroom and bathroom ceiling. The beds are super comfy, with crisp cotton linen, and the decor is funky and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay, and a birthday card and small box of chocolates appeared the first night of our stay as a small happy birthday gift to my partner from the staff.

We will definitely be returning, next time in the big dorm room with a bunch of friends and family. Cool, quirky, sophisticated but not smug. Probably has the potential to be busy and noisy at the weekends, which we wouldn't mind as we would likely be in the thick of it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katealldred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hi Kate,

Wow, thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay with us; we are flattered!

I am so pleased to hear that you and Hayley had a fantastic stay with us for her birthday, that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It’s great to hear such positive feedback about the recently refurbished rooms, and that you appreciate the wee touches throughout :-)

Please keep in touch, and let us know when you do return so we can ensure you receive the best returner rate!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel Duff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The staff was very kind and the room very nice. I really liked the decor and the iPod dock in the wall with which you could listen to music in the whole room! Everything was great and they even knew my name when I got to the reception! I definitely suggest it for everyone :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hi George,

Thanks for the fantastic review!

It’s so great to hear you enjoyed your time with us here in Edinburgh and that you found the staff to be kind and helpful :-)

Please come back again soon!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I booked the hotel on account of the reviews on trip advisor, so I hope this is equally helpful. I stayed with my best friend and this is definitely a hotel for groups, although I can only comment on our stay which was a Friday and Saturday evening. Although the hotel was obviously popular with hen and stag do's we hardly saw any other guests. The bedroom was large (Room 310), with two single beds and a day bed, plus a large bathroom with an amazing shower. Plentiful coffee, tea, milk and sugar in the room and a full size kettle rather than a travel one like you get in most hotels. The Three Sisters pub/club next door we thought was brilliant, and ended up in there on both evenings, dancing the night away, but you would not have known this was on the doorstep as our room was so peaceful! You can even buy hotel memorabilia to remember your stay. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are wanting a good nights sleep then ask for a quiet room. There is an extremely lively pub...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Hi MrsR252010,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh; we really appreciate it!

It sounds like you and your friend had a fantastic trip and I will pass on your superb feedback to The Three Sisters management team :-)

Please let us know when you are returning and we will ensure you receive a fantastic returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The staff are friendly , printed my boarding passes for me, put extra tea , milk ect in room , clean towels every day , shower gel , shampoo and soap on arrival , close to Edinburgh castle and princess street , Holyrood palace ect. Breakfast with great at only £5 per person in the three sisters pub next door , really polite staff, will be back with my family of six the next time I visit Edinburgh .

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Maria,

I am so pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us, and it is fantastic that you chose to leave such a positive review about your experience :-)

I do hope you will return to Edinburgh with your family; if you contact us directly we will be able to provide you with a great returner rate!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in stay central as my boyfriend had bought me tickets to see war horse. The receptionist was extremely friendly on arrival offering us a complimentary hot chocolate. I had asked for a quiet room due to some previous reviews which they had reserved for me. Room was modern, clean and full of all the mod cons you could ask for! We decided to book the breakfast for £5 each which was extremely reasonable. Location was great within walking distance of the castle and also the festival theatre. Would def recommend and book again if ever in edinburgh, fantastic hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steps84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Steps84,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh :-)

It's fantastic to hear such positive feedback about our brand new refurbished hotel; and I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit.

Please get in touch directly if you are looking to return and we will provide you with a great returner rate!

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here overnight for a recent business trip and thought it was great. Very clean, modern and quirky. Not much of a view, but the room was so nice it really didn't matter. Had a nice quiet room - think it probably gets quite lively with the pub next door, but for mid-week business it was great. Staff delightful. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: staff told me that I should ask for a quiet room if on business and not looking to party!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMD57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi KMD57,

Thank you so much for the fantastic review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh :-)

I'm so pleased you enjoyed you stay and found the staff to be delightful; we pride ourselves on our fantastic customer service!

Please keep in touch,

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
2,190 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
344 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 150 in Edinburgh
980 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#56 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing