We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, friendly staff”
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice rooms, friendly staff”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was just what I needed. Clean and practical. I traveled alone, but the hotel is even better for small groups/families since some of the rooms have many beds. Tuesday night is students night out and the noise from the next door bar was noticeable, but they left at a reasonable time and I could sleep with my window open.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Knut_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Knut,

Thank you so much for the lovely review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh :-)

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in our recently refurbished hotel and that you found the staff to be friendly!

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in the city.

Best Wishes,

Rachel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    442
    107
    56
    28
See reviews for
277
548
83
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in a twin room for a midweek minibreak in Edinburgh. great location-short walk from the station and to most of the Edinburgh sights.
Check in was quick and friendly, with free hot chocolate if you wanted it.
Our room was spotless- the beds were comfortable, and the little extras was great. Nespresso machine and Tunnocks tea cakes were very welcome.
The bathroom again was clean as a whistle, with a great waterfall shower. It is obviously aiming for a young clientele, in terms of decor and style, but as a not-so-young visitor I was still perfectly at home.
While we had a quiet midweek night, it is next to what I'm sure is a busy pub, with a huge outdoor drinking area- Im sure it is noisier and more raucous in high season and weekends!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Denise!

Thank you for leaving such a kind review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh; we really appreciate it.

It’s fantastic to hear such lovely things about the check-in process, our newly refurbished rooms, stylish bathrooms and superb location.

As you have noted, we are located next to The Three Sisters which can get busy on the weekends – however, we do have rooms that are not affected by noise and these can be requested at the time of booking :-)

Thank you again for your kind words, and I hope we will see you again!

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We recieved a warm welcome and had our bags stored as we were a little early for check in. Short walk to the royal mile and all it has to offer. We booked a medium room but our room was a large room. A surprise upgrade! The room was lovely and the shower was amazing.We requested a quiet room,recommended by trip advisor revievers, and thats what we got. There was a very happy and relaxed atmoshpere,which reminded us some of what of our days travelling. We stayed mid week, so it was quiet in house and in the bar. Probably wouldnt stay over the weekend, but cant expect anywhere in Edinburgh to be quiet. Overall lovely,modern place to stay, very centrally located, and very good value for money.

Room Tip: 309 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi luCE C,

Thanks for the great review of your recent stay with us :-)

It’s lovely to hear that you had such a great time with us, right from check in through to check out and that you appreciated your free upgrade!

Please let us know if you are returning, and we will ensure you will receive the best returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We loved the look and atmosphere and it came at the right price. It was also centrally located, hence the name. The only downfall was the huge hill to walk over from the train station but that's hard to avoid in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hi Kate,

Thanks for the lovely review – we really appreciate it!

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your time at STAY Central, and it sounds like you had a fantastic time in Edinburgh :-)

Hope to welcome you back again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Clean, modern and friendly. Stay was a fantastic base to visit the city from. We had a great-sized room with Sky TV, and all of the regular facilities.

Staff were friendly and being only a 10 minute walk to the castle was a huge benefit. We'd definitely stay here again and have recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: Ask for Sky! After a long day touring the city, an early night and a movie in bed is a brilliant rel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikerloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Hey pikerloo,

Thank you so much for leaving such a kind review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh :-)

It’s great to hear you enjoyed the room, our fantastic staff and our first class location right in the heart of the city!

It is also lovely to hear that you would recommend us to friends – we are flattered!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Friendly comfortable and clean what more could you ask for.
Hot chocolate on arrival is a great welcome
Loved the special touch with the Tunnocks tea cakes
The breakfast portions were huge and very delicious.
All staff were very helpfull.
Would highly recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi Bigmy60,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh, we really appreciate it!

It’s fantastic to hear you enjoyed the rooms, breakfast, staff and, of course, our arrival hot chocolate :-)

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked this place on the basis that it looked like really good value. Our impressions from the website were good, but the website and reviews that we read really don't do this place justice. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We requested an early check in. When we arrived, freezing cold, we were offered a hot chocolate, given a map and shown to our room. The rooms are fantastic, quirky little touches like the ipod with speakers in both the bedroom and bathroom ceiling. The beds are super comfy, with crisp cotton linen, and the decor is funky and fresh. Nothing was too much trouble throughout our stay, and a birthday card and small box of chocolates appeared the first night of our stay as a small happy birthday gift to my partner from the staff.

We will definitely be returning, next time in the big dorm room with a bunch of friends and family. Cool, quirky, sophisticated but not smug. Probably has the potential to be busy and noisy at the weekends, which we wouldn't mind as we would likely be in the thick of it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katealldred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi Kate,

Wow, thank you for the lovely review of your recent stay with us; we are flattered!

I am so pleased to hear that you and Hayley had a fantastic stay with us for her birthday, that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. It’s great to hear such positive feedback about the recently refurbished rooms, and that you appreciate the wee touches throughout :-)

Please keep in touch, and let us know when you do return so we can ensure you receive the best returner rate!

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing