We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot Chocolate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stay Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stay Central Hotel
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hot Chocolate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Overall great hotel, great location and great staff. The rooms were a reasonable size very clean and had a docking station and speakers built into the wall. Best shower i have ever had.

The very best thing to top it off were the staff, they were so friendly and helpful, always willing to help. The first thing a member of staff asked me when i arrived was "would you like some hot chocolate" :-)

loved it will defiantly go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert_uk420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Robert,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests :-)

It's great to hear you enjoyed the hotel, our fantastic showers (we love them!) and particularly our staff - they make us what we are!

Please keep in touch and we will ensure you receive a fantastic returner rate.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    429
    104
    53
    25
See reviews for
265
533
80
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Was at a friends wedding and Stay Central was 2 streets away from the ceremony and the reception so perfect location.
Excellent room with great facilities, immaculately clean, iPod Dock that played in the shower was a nice touch as were the Tunnocks tea cakes - very welcome at 3am after the wedding. Definitely use again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowWeddingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi David,

Thanks for the perfect review - we are flattered!

It sounds like you had a great trip to Edinburgh for the wedding; it's great that we could play a wee part in that for you and teacakes helped to round off the night!

Let us know if you do return and we will ensure you receive a great returners rate :-)

Hope to see you again soon,

Rachel & The STAY Central team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

The location is great! Small and nice hotel, very informal and good for groups of friends. The hotel is located right above a bar and that means a lot of noise during the night. Also the cleaning service is not the best one. The staff is very friendly and supportive. I would recommend this hotel for young couples or a group of friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mariainesdinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 6 April 2014
Hi Mariainesdinis,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh - it sounds like you had a great trip!

I hope we can welcome you back next time you are in Edinburgh.

Best Wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked 2 of the 6 bedded rooms for my friend's hen party and we loved it. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are wonderful ( although I agree with some reviews about no privacy with the bathroom door).
It was well placed for plenty of bars and I found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It was noisy at night due to the busy bar and bottles being tipped into the bins at 2-3 am but I don't see how that can be avoided.
We did have an issue with the room being hot but I turned the heating unit off for the second night and it wasn't as bad.
All in all for what we paid we loved it, but it is for the younger crowd!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chalky_balls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi chalky_balls,

Thank you for the great review!!

It sounds like you had a wonderful trip to Edinburgh for the Hen Party - I am so glad that you loved it and we could play a small part in that :-)

It's great to hear such positive feedback about your stay - the staff will be delighted to hear your kind comments about them. Thank you for bringing the issue with your air conditioning to my attention - I will ensure the maintenance team look into this.

Hope to see you again soon!

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Only a one night stop over but would definitely come back.

Really stylish and modern room. Presume it was newly renovated. Bathroom was very slick, great rainfall shower and high end wash basin and toilet. Bed was very comfortable 2 singles instead of a double but didn't bother us.

At the price I doubt you'd find a better place in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisesmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Hi Wisesmurf,

Thank you so much for the lovely review - it's fantastic to hear such positive feedback about your time with us :-)

Please let us know if you are planning on returning and we will sort you out with a great returners rate!

Best wishes,

Rachel & The STAY Central Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just had to stay one night whilst my daughter was visiting the Uni. It's within easy reach of both the Uni and Edinburgh Castle and the tourist sites. It was excellent value for money and has been recently refurbished so the room, carpets and bed linen etc. were very fresh. It has very simple decor but with a wide screen TV in the bedroom and plenty of tea making/coffee facilities in the bedroom plus a small safe it was all we could have wished for. Also the excellent walk-in roomy shower was extremely satisfactory too! For breakfast on the following morning we had the pre-paid optional cooked breakfast in the adjacent pub and whilst this was not exceptional is was certainly satisfactory.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jasprhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Jasper,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here in Edinburgh :-)

It's great to hear such fantastic feedback about our recently refurbished hotel and our superb location; we really are right in the heart of the city!

I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Best Wishes,

Rachel Duff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Me and my friends went here for my 21st birthday and it was absolutely perfect.

We did have problems with the TV and one of the sinks but we weren't too concerned about this and reported it at the end of our stay. The staff were all absolutely lovely and always called a taxi for us if we requested one and did their best to answer our questions (like when we were looking for a good pub that did all day breakfasts (biddy mulligan's did a pretty great one)).

We were in room 202 and couldn't hear much noise from below but we were out a lot of the night. stay central added a nice touch by placing a mini box of chocolates and a card in my room for it being my birthday and even blew up all the balloons and hung the banners my friends had sent in advance. it was really perfect.

The room did have a funky design and the wardrobe space gave us plenty of room to tuck away our things and the hairdryer that came with the room was actually pretty good rather than the sorry excuses you normally get in hotels.The shower in the room is by far the best I've ever used and the Ipod docking station plays in both the room and bathroom on a total of 4 speakers which was pretty cool. the beds were pretty comfy though the pillows were duck feathers I believe which may not be to everyone's taste but it was still a good nights sleep and quite generous in the quality of bedding. the tea and coffee making facilities were also cute but very functional and plentiful and there was even bottled still and sparkling water which not every hotel offers. Despite it being an old building the room was also rather warm always. there were plenty of little extras like the "Take a selfie here" sign on the elevator mirror or the messages on the doors "hello is it me you're looking for" or "enter to the land of nod." or even the tunnocks tea cakes in the mugs for the tea.

Dinner at the three sisters was rather nice as well, not too varied a choice but what's there is good and they have some of the best chips and BBQ sauce I've ever tasted.

They were even very reasonable whenever me and my friends were late checking out and offered to put our bags to the side for us to collect later.

All in all, one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in and a good location too. I will definitely look into staying with them again if I ever spend another night in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shezo_1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VenueGeneralManager, General Manager at Stay Central Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi shezo_1993,

Wow, thanks for the fantastic review!

It sounds like you had a great birthday trip to Edinburgh with your friends, and it was our pleasure to be a small part of it :-)

It's great to hear such fantastic feedback about your stay, our newly refurbished rooms and our great staff - thank you for bringing the issues in your room to my attention, I will ensure that our maintenance team looks into this straight away.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Rachel & The STAY Central Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#47 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#54 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stay Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Central Hotel

Property: Stay Central Hotel
Address: 139 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JS, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At STAY central we aim a little bit higher than just providing you with a good night's sleep. We have 37 fresh and refurbished bedrooms perfect for 2 to share or bedrooms for up to 6 guests. We like to look after you and free Wi-Fi is a must for our guests. Each of our lovely bedrooms have large flat screen TV's, iPod docks, rain fall style showers to get lathered up in and lots of little extras you won't expect. Located in the heart of Edinburgh's eclectic Cowgate surrounding the famous lively Three Sisters bar, STAY Central is a short stroll from everywhere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Stay Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tailors Hall
Tailors Hall Hotel Edinburgh
Stay Central Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing